electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
How to use the Glide module?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
gusjdt



Joined: Apr 12, 2006
Posts: 55
Location: San Juan
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2006 9:08 pm    Post subject: How to use the Glide module? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi guys, first of all I'm new to this forum and I want to say how awesome this place is. Very Happy

I don't own a G2 (I wish, I own a K2600XS) but I do use the G2 editor a lot. I'm trying to find out how to use the glide module. I downloaded (of the ones that would run on the demo) some lead sounds to see how the glide module is set up, and I saw the keyboard module and the logic delay being used as well in this manner:

from Keyboard module:
Note to glide input
Gate to delay1 input

From logic delay module:
delay1 output to glide on

from Glide module:
Glide output to OSC pitch

I found that the delay module is not necessary (I think) so I deleted it and did this:

from Keyboard module:
Note to glide input
Gate to glide on

from Glide module:
Glide output to OSC pitch


However, when I connect note to glide input, the actual notes are extremely weird. Theres portamento, but a C4 doesnt play a C4, and when I try to play something, it sounds all messed up. I disconnected note to glide input and now the notes sounded ok, but now there was no portamento. Could anyone tell me what to do, or make a simple patch in order for me to see how the connections are set up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3739
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 277
G2 patch files: 96

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi and welcome

You can attach patches to entries here at the forum. If you did that, or pasted a screenshot in your entry, it would be a little bit easier to help. Smile

Here's a tip anyway: it sounds like you have left the "KB" button on. KB lets the oscillator track the keyboard automatically, without having to connect the note output fro the keyboard to the oscillator pitch input (blue). If you want to control the oscillator pitch via the blue input anyway, you should turn KB off.

Hope that helps!

Cheers!

/Stefan

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Axiom



Joined: Feb 19, 2005
Posts: 288
Location: Italy
Audio files: 4
G2 patch files: 28

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ehi gustav, nice to see you here Very Happy

Luca

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen. Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gusjdt



Joined: Apr 12, 2006
Posts: 55
Location: San Juan
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2006 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Antimon wrote:
Hi and welcome

You can attach patches to entries here at the forum. If you did that, or pasted a screenshot in your entry, it would be a little bit easier to help. Smile

Here's a tip anyway: it sounds like you have left the "KB" button on. KB lets the oscillator track the keyboard automatically, without having to connect the note output fro the keyboard to the oscillator pitch input (blue). If you want to control the oscillator pitch via the blue input anyway, you should turn KB off.

Hope that helps!

Cheers!

/Stefan


Ah, woops. Very Happy Thanks Stefan! It's working perfectly now.

Axiom wrote:
ehi gustav, nice to see you here

Luca


Hehe, its a really cool forum, tons of information.

_________________
A new disturbing study has been found that proves that studies are disturbing...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use