electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Notify ALL voices of new note?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
torsig1967



Joined: Mar 29, 2006
Posts: 162
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 1:10 am    Post subject: Notify ALL voices of new note? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is it possible to somehow send a trig signal to all active voices whenever a new note is triggered?

Example. Holding a chord of a few notes I press a new key. Now I want all the G2-voices already sounding (active) in the chord to "know" a new note has been pressed. A trig pulse would be the best notification.

I can't use Monokey-gate since it's already on because I'm holding a chord. I could use Monokey-last and see if it changes (= new note) but that won't work if I press the same key repeatedly. Then I will get a notification only for the first note. I really need this to work for all cases everytime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3619
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 254
G2 patch files: 95

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Put a keyboard input in the FX area. Send the gate to a bus, and listen on that bus in the voice area. You might be able to use a pair of MIDI control send/recieve modules as well.

Edit: Sorry, put the keyboard input in the voice area, and route the gate through a logic pulse module.

/Stefan

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tim Kleinert



Joined: Mar 12, 2004
Posts: 1017
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Audio files: 6
G2 patch files: 211

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have an idea that might work, but unfortunately would use up 2 slots.

In the first slot, set the voice count to 1 voice mono mode (NOT legato). Contrary to the legato mode, this monophonic mode retriggers the envelopes at every new key stroke, even if many keys are already depressed. It does this by creating a positive going logic flank (trigger) at every new keystroke. (Meaning: If some keys are already depressed, the already-positive gate signal will be interrupted just for a few samples in order to create a new trigger flank.)

Patch the gate output from the regular keyboard module into a logic pulse module (with the shortest possible time setting) and patch its output into a bus channel.

In the second slot, patch whatever you intend and get the trigger signal from that bus channel.

My G2Xs aren't set up right now so I can't test this myself and post a patch (would be a performance, rather). But my mind tells me this should work as you wish.

_________________
beer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
torsig1967



Joined: Mar 29, 2006
Posts: 162
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Antimon wrote:
Put a keyboard input in the FX area. Send the gate to a bus, and listen on that bus in the voice area. You might be able to use a pair of MIDI control send/recieve modules as well.

Edit: Sorry, put the keyboard input in the voice area, and route the gate through a logic pulse module.

/Stefan

Yes, both these methods work and I don't need to go through the FX. Just put the send and recieve modules besides each other. The MIDI-control methods is slower but on the other hand I might need the bus for other purposes so it's good to know about both.

I won't post the patch now. I'm working on a special master keyboardpatch for Akai MPC1000 (which has a very strange midi implementation) and I'll post it when it's complete.

tim, I'm sure your method works too but there's really no need to use a second slot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
emSynth

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use