electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Rob Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Musical Interfaces
Monome / Arduinome Build Log
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
gurutzeta



Joined: Dec 16, 2007
Posts: 15
Location: spain
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 9:45 am    Post subject: Monome / Arduinome Build Log Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi everyone,

I am in the process of building an arduinome, an arduino based monome.

I am writting a build log as I go along, in case someone is interested:

http://blog-desorden.blogspot.com/search/label/Arduinome

As you can see, it is pretty much in a stage in which I got all the parts and I am ready to start soldering, so it should not take too long to see something working. Only thing that worries me at the moment is how to do the faceplate, but I will think about that whenever I get to that point
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3730
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 275
G2 patch files: 96

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Cool - good pictures!

I've read so much about arduinomes on the monome forum - it's nice to see something concrete (I could probably have found out more but I'm lazy). Gives you an idea what it's about.

Did Sparkfun supply the buttons for the 40hs?

/Stefan

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gurutzeta



Joined: Dec 16, 2007
Posts: 15
Location: spain
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

These are the buttons:

http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=7835

They are out of stock at the moment, unfortunately.

They are slightly bigger than the ones used by the "real" monomes and they might feel different, I am not sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gurutzeta



Joined: Dec 16, 2007
Posts: 15
Location: spain
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Also, if you feel like trying the Monome Apps, but don't want to spend the money/time in buying/making one, check out how to fake monome with your PC keyboard:

http://blog-desorden.blogspot.com/2008/11/faking-monome.html

Not the same thing, but gives you an idea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3730
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 275
G2 patch files: 96

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Actually, I have a 256. Smile I was asking about Sparkfun since I know that the 40h has bigger buttons, and I was wondering if there is a big market for these kinds of silicon thingies for other things.

/Stefan

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gurutzeta



Joined: Dec 16, 2007
Posts: 15
Location: spain
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Stefan, as an owner of a 256, what do you think, is the 40h too small? will I be expanding my 40h after a few months of using it because it is too small???

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3730
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 275
G2 patch files: 96

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I don't think the 40h is too small. I often experience difficulty operating my 256 because it's hard too intuitively find the right button in the middle of the "sea of buttons". OTOH, I don't consider myself to be particuarly good at playing the monome - others may have other opinions.

A perfectly good alternative could be to make or build another 40h or 64 if you feel the need. I often find that 8 steps in the sequencers is sufficient.

/Stefan

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gurutzeta



Joined: Dec 16, 2007
Posts: 15
Location: spain
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

My arduinome is finally working (after some trouble with my arduino board, which was too old for the arduinome firmware).

I made a video using polygome which can be found here:
http://blog-desorden.blogspot.com/2009/02/arduinomemonome-polygome-ableton-live.html

If interested, you may find the whole arduinome build log here:
http://blog-desorden.blogspot.com/search/label/Arduinome
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chroos



Joined: Feb 23, 2009
Posts: 5
Location: germany

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

nice

check myspace.com/chroos to see my homebuilt 256..

or googlevideo for crs.mono

greets chroos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gurutzeta



Joined: Dec 16, 2007
Posts: 15
Location: spain
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi Chroos,

That is HUGE!!!

Great videos, by the way. Which application are you using in this one?:
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=5870487601630699036
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chroos



Joined: Feb 23, 2009
Posts: 5
Location: germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

its monochrome and the other vid is pages.. you should definite look into pages !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gurutzeta



Joined: Dec 16, 2007
Posts: 15
Location: spain
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

chroos wrote:
you should definite look into pages !!


I know, I know... I have not yet tried pages, I have not really used my monome much yet... I am working on the faceplate/enclosure at the moment and that is not giving me much time to play, but pages lookes like a must.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chroos



Joined: Feb 23, 2009
Posts: 5
Location: germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i got my frontplate today.. now i only need some wooden box around..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gurutzeta



Joined: Dec 16, 2007
Posts: 15
Location: spain
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I tried Monochrome yesterday... that is great app... one of the coolest I have tried so far. Thanks for the tip.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chroos



Joined: Feb 23, 2009
Posts: 5
Location: germany

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 7:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

there is molar, too which i a kind of monochrome for samples... like a mix between monochrome and mlr...

i think you can set it up like monochrome, to play midi...and audio!

but i think the most potential is in pages... ( i devolpe some pages apps at the moment, to get them acting more like monochrome and others..
also pages is using the liveAPI, like that nw midiboxes.. its really great..
i will also do some videos of it next days..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Musical Interfaces
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use