electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » General Discussion
Triton Extreme sampling
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [18 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:02 pm    Post subject: Triton Extreme sampling
Subject description: Extreme issues. Extreme fun.
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I can't quite seem to get sampling working on my Triton Extreme. I know I'm getting a signal into it, because I can trigger the ADC overload warning, but the record level meters show nothing.

My setup: Mic plugged into Mackie Onyx 1640. Aux send 1 goes to Triton in 1. Master gain is turned up, master send 1 knob up, send 1 knob on mic channel is up. Whether I have the Triton set to line or mic doesn't change anything.

Perusing the manual, but it looks like I shouldn't need to do anything more to get the signal to show up in the meters on the Triton's screen in sampling mode.

Question Question Question

Last edited by nobody on Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:12 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Aha. I used the auto setup and then you have to *drum roll* press the record button before a level will appear in the meter.

Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EdisonRex
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 07, 2007
Posts: 4500
Location: London, UK
Audio files: 169

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That's sorted then. cheers
_________________
Garret: It's so retro.
EGM: What does retro mean to you?
Parker: Like, old and outdated.


Home,My Studio,and another view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah. Cool

But! Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

What's the deal with saving samples? I don't see a way to save samples except to external media (I say this keeping in mind the manual is not an easy read). Convert MS to program doesn't save the actual sound data. I don't have a flash card, and I'm NOT going to load sample data every time I want a patch I created from a sample.

I HAVE to be missing something. There HAS to be a way to save my sample on-board, just like any modern, competent sampler does. No way is Korg THAT retarded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Off the point of my own topic, but holy hell! Google picked this up FAST! This thread was the fourth link down.

http://www.google.com/search?q=triton+extreme+saving+samples&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.gentoo:en-US:official&client=firefox-a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muied Lumens
Stream Operator


Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Posts: 1553
Location: Bristol UK
Audio files: 239

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Did you check if the answer is there? Wink


Doh! I posted in that thread, not this one!

_________________
robsol
Muied Lumens Base Star
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2261
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 177
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

From the Korg product page for the Triton extreme it looks like the internal RAM is not battery backed up and that all samples have to be save to external CF or microdrive

Hopefully you will be able to play them direct from this drive, rather than have to load them into the internal memory first

_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 7:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah. I caved on my threat against never loading samples. Razz

So I'm looking for a micro-drive. According to the manual, I can do the most with a MD (more than a CF or HD). Any recommendations on a brand/model? The manual says max=1GB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2261
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 177
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'd be surprised if the manual doesn't offer suggestions, most stuff I have that uses SD or CF cards has a list of cards that are known to work
_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Not that I could see. They left it very general. I'll email my contact at my local supplier. He's pretty knowledgeable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2261
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 177
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Try here: Triton Extreme Drive Compatibility

The Sandisk Ultra II CF 1Gb card is fairly inexpensive & should be pretty easy to find

Never used a Micro-drive so can't help you there I'm afraid

_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks! I see that the Triton takes 2 GB cards with OS 1.05, which I have installed.

I want to buy from Amazon through the affiliate link and thus support electro-music, but I'm confused about the price.

http://www.amazon.com/Sandisk-Compactflash-SDCFB-2048-A10-Retail-Package/dp/B0000DD7PE/ref=sr_1_21?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1253305862&sr=8-21

This is $40.

http://www.overstock.com/Electronics/Sandisk-SDCFB-2048-2GB-Compact-Flash-Card/2549159/product.html

This is $16.

Unless the one from Amazon is a pack (and I only want ONE, anyway), WTF?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2261
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 177
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Amazon isn't always cheaper

If you get the other you could always make a donation to electro-music.com via Paypal Smile

_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

modulator_esp wrote:
Amazon isn't always cheaper


Holy crap, you don't say! Razz

modulator_esp wrote:
If you get the other you could always make a donation to electro-music.com via Paypal Smile


I might do that. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2261
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 177
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There's always the Ultra II
_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Does the Ultra II work with the Extreme? I didn't see it in the list Korg put out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
modulator_esp
Stream Operator


Joined: Feb 04, 2005
Posts: 2261
Location: Nottingham, UK
Audio files: 177
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The 1Gb Ultra II is listed, can't say for sure if the 2Gb one will also work

but then the list only includes cards up to 1Gb so may be out of date if a later update allows the use of 2Gb cards

_________________
Jez
music | adventures in sound
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
nobody



Joined: Mar 09, 2008
Posts: 1687
Location: Not here

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks. I appreciate your chiming in. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [18 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » General Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
AmbiphonicDSP

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use