electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
weird micromodular step sequencer memory problem
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Top Top



Joined: Feb 02, 2010
Posts: 198
Location: California

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:30 am    Post subject:  weird micromodular step sequencer memory problem
Subject description: sequencer sends memory over the edge when there is 20% left
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi
I have been building some big patches with a bunch of step sequencers. Today I was working on this patch and the memory meter said there was around 20% left. I added an event sequencer, and suddenly the memory went over the edge.

At first I thought maybe the memory was just not showing accurately, and that I had actually reached the limit, but I deleted the sequencer and put in a larger module (formant osc), and the memory count went up appropriately to about 90% and the synth continued to produce sound (unlike when you run it over).

I tried dropping in a couple different step sequencers - both note and control, and both send it over the edge, but other modules to not.

Any reason why? This makes not sense to me. Question

Oh, and OS 3.03 on windows vista.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20480
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There are some different types of memory, like X memory, Y etc. one of these may reach 100% before the main memory usage runs out and this will result in an out of memory message. There is a dialog available in the editor in which you can see the allocations for the different memory types - dont know where tho from the top of my head, probably patch settings ...

Anyway, this can happen easily when a lot of sequencers are being used.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Top Top



Joined: Feb 02, 2010
Posts: 198
Location: California

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for the response. I have been making patches on NM for over 10 years now (wow that makes me feel old), and never run into this before... Didn't know about the different types of memory.

I'll check out the dialog window. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use