electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  mosc Back on the air tonight - Twyndyllyngs
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Nord Lead 1 PCMCIA slot missing
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
benjamin783



Joined: Dec 27, 2010
Posts: 1
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Dec 27, 2010 9:00 pm    Post subject: Nord Lead 1 PCMCIA slot missing
Subject description: How to load patches saved onto PCMCIA card without a PCMCIA slot
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello everyone-

I just bought a Nord Lead 1 over ebay, but before I could afford it I had to sell my Nord Lead 1 Rack. Before I sold my old one though, I dished out for a PCMCIA card so I could transfer my patches over to the new synth. All that went very smoothly and I saved my patches to a card and sold my rack.

I just got the new synth in the mail today, and the PCMCIA slot is MISSING! There's nothing there but a hole. The ebay seller didn't mention this of course and it's possible he never even noticed. So here's my question, is there any way to transfer the patches I have saved on the PCMCIA card to my new slot-less Nord? Perhaps through Midi and computer software somehow? Am I better off giving the seller hell and sending the synth back to him?

I'm not very Midi or computer savvy I should mention. Please please please help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4517
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Not a nice situation...

Beside no card reader you only have 4 voices, instead of 12, because the voice expansion is on the card reader too!
Well, actually only 2 when using Unison...

Try to find an expansion board as soon as possible!

About a solution to get your sound into the synth.
Also troublesome...
As long you don't have a card reader you only can use a computer sending SysEx to the synth to upload the data, but not the data on your card! You have to use a reader implemented IN the synth.

To get the data from your card you have to ask for help from someone who has a NordLead. BTW the Lead2 isn't able to perform the job, because probably the synth wants to format the card first!

I'm willing to help, but I need the card on my desk. I can read the SysEx and send it by e-mail to you. You can use a tool like NordGen to upload the data. I will send the card back to you.

Beware: You can only save 40 Programs on the synth, nothing more.
You can't use the Performances, because you'll need a card to perform this. Each Performance has to be an upload from the computer.

And yell all day: "A card reader, a card reader! My kingdom for a card!"

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
midicontrol



Joined: Aug 21, 2009
Posts: 5
Location: switzerland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello


Here is one from Germany

http://cgi.ebay.ch/Clavia-NordRack-Nord-Rack-Nordlead-1-Expansion-Board-/280618515409?pt=Studioequipment&hash=item41562abbd1


This one is really expensive. The last one on ebay was over 6 month ago.


Best regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4517
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2011 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well, it's from Switzerland, actually.

AFAIK the topic starter has bought one already, but maybe someone else?

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use