electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
OS X Lion - editor?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
sunra



Joined: Sep 21, 2009
Posts: 2
Location: space

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:25 am    Post subject: OS X Lion - editor?
Subject description: Compatible editor for Lion
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

On OS X Lion Rosetta will no longer work, Universal Binary or Intel apps only. What does that means for us micro modular-users.
Is the nord editor [beta] for OSX Universal?
Will the Nomad editor work?

sincerly
sunny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20266
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Nomad is Java, so that could still work I guess (although its a bit of a hairy thing, Nomad that is) - as for the Clavia editor I don't know.

Was just reading the feature list for Lion, 'no rosetta; was not mentioned there :P

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21969
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Jan, Rosetta is no longer supported in OS X 10.7. So that means the Clavia Editor will not work.

Nomad is Java and "should" work, but I reckon Nomad possibly needs an updated and modern Java take on in midi in 10.7? I´ll test Nomad soon. I really need Nomad to work. Shocked

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20266
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Cool
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21969
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Lion is very cool, but IMO I think there is little point in updating at this stage if you have a config that is working well for you.
_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nomay



Joined: Nov 27, 2009
Posts: 8
Location: us

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Does Nomad do everything the OS x beta does? If it was possible to use Nomad in Lion, would we be missing anything?

I've never been able to get Nomad to work, so I have no idea!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2191
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:31 pm    Post subject: Re: OS X Lion - editor?
Subject description: Compatible editor for Lion
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

sunra wrote:
On OS X Lion Rosetta will no longer work, Universal Binary or Intel apps only. What does that means for us micro modular-users.
Is the nord editor [beta] for OSX Universal?
Will the Nomad editor work?

sincerly
sunny


Use Parallels, it works great.
Then just run the Windows version of the Clavia Editor in the VM.

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nomay



Joined: Nov 27, 2009
Posts: 8
Location: us

PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Has anyone tried Sheep Shaver?

Sounds like we could run the OS 9 version on intel?

I'm curious about the NM editor as well as sounddiver for this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thefsb



Joined: Aug 08, 2011
Posts: 2
Location: Home

PostPosted: Mon Aug 08, 2011 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

VirtualBox is free.

If you have a Windows to run in VirtualBox then you can run the Modular Editor on that. If not, and you don't want to pay $100 for Windows, then you can load Max OS X 10.6 (or whatever version you have on DVD) in VirtualBox and run the OS X Modular Editor in that.

Running a 10.6 virtual machine on 10.7 is odd but it should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oortone



Joined: Mar 07, 2011
Posts: 14
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

thefsb wrote:
VirtualBox is free.

If you have a Windows to run in VirtualBox then you can run the Modular Editor on that. If not, and you don't want to pay $100 for Windows, then you can load Max OS X 10.6 (or whatever version you have on DVD) in VirtualBox and run the OS X Modular Editor in that.

Running a 10.6 virtual machine on 10.7 is odd but it should work.


Does it support USB communication?
Why would this be better than Bootcamp? I'm asking because I've never tried Windows an my Mac before but now it seems I have to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thefsb



Joined: Aug 08, 2011
Posts: 2
Location: Home

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2011 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Oortone wrote:
thefsb wrote:
VirtualBox is free.

If you have a Windows to run in VirtualBox then you can run the Modular Editor on that. If not, and you don't want to pay $100 for Windows, then you can load Max OS X 10.6 (or whatever version you have on DVD) in VirtualBox and run the OS X Modular Editor in that.

Running a 10.6 virtual machine on 10.7 is odd but it should work.


Does it support USB communication?

yes.

Quote:
Why would this be better than Bootcamp? I'm asking because I've never tried Windows an my Mac before but now it seems I have to.

it's not better than bootcamp. it is entirely different. but it has the advantage of running within OSX: you don't need to reboot into windows, you just boot up a windows virtual machine that runs in an OSX window.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v-un-v
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: May 16, 2005
Posts: 8930
Location: Birmingham, England, UK
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

To be honest, if you've got something as beautiful as a Nord G2, you really want to show it off with a beautiful computer front end IMHO. I'd be inclined to get a secondhand G5 iMac with a 20" screen and dedicate that to the Nord alone. G5's cost next to nothing these days. Idea Cool
_________________
ACHTUNG!
ALLES TURISTEN UND NONTEKNISCHEN LOOKENPEEPERS!
DAS KOMPUTERMASCHINE IST NICHT FÜR DER GEFINGERPOKEN UND MITTENGRABEN! ODERWISE IST EASY TO SCHNAPPEN DER SPRINGENWERK, BLOWENFUSEN UND POPPENCORKEN MIT SPITZENSPARKSEN.
IST NICHT FÜR GEWERKEN BEI DUMMKOPFEN. DER RUBBERNECKEN SIGHTSEEREN KEEPEN DAS COTTONPICKEN HÄNDER IN DAS POCKETS MUSS.
ZO RELAXEN UND WATSCHEN DER BLINKENLICHTEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Oortone



Joined: Mar 07, 2011
Posts: 14
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Nov 13, 2011 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

v-un-v wrote:
To be honest, if you've got something as beautiful as a Nord G2, you really want to show it off with a beautiful computer front end IMHO. I'd be inclined to get a secondhand G5 iMac with a 20" screen and dedicate that to the Nord alone. G5's cost next to nothing these days. Idea Cool


Well that would be nice if I had the space for more computers. Wink

Anyway, VirtualBox seems like a better solution for me. Will i need to install the extensionpack to make USB work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
emSynth

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use