electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time

poster

Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » General Discussion
info needed about Alesis QS4
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
patrickvf1976



Joined: Aug 08, 2011
Posts: 192
Location: Gig Harbor

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2016 3:53 pm    Post subject: info needed about Alesis QS4
Subject description: about sound/synthesis structure and comparison to Kawai K4
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

So I went to this music place in my town last week, and there are an Alesis QS4 and a Kawai K4 that the manager doesn't care much about, and offered the K4 for $100 and tha QS4 for $150. I was under time constraints, so I didn't bother much about trying them, and I'd have to wait for my next paycheck anyhow to pick them up. My problem is that I can't find very much info about it the QS4 other than a few bits and bobs on the web along with the usual factory demo pieces on Youtube. Afaik they both are essentially 4 part multitimbral romplers with some filters and dsp effects thrown in, and that's about it. My question is: Is that all there is or is there more? There were some "interesting modulation features" mentioned somewhere (Vintagesynth?), what does that mean? Is the QS capable of cross modulating between the dcos (ring/AM, sync) like the K4 and ESQ1? How many LFOs does the QS have compared to the K4 (which I know has only one)? Speaking of which, how does the QS4 compare to the K4? By the way, I did search high and low for a manual but the only sites that had them require me to subscribe to an account just to view them, which I refuse to do because I have grown wary about giving out my personal info these days. So I would appreciate it very much if someone could give me more details about the QS4 and it's capabilities. Thanks ahead, and have a happy new year, folks!

PS: Are the prices for the synths offered a good deal, and which would you recommend over the other?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patrickvf1976



Joined: Aug 08, 2011
Posts: 192
Location: Gig Harbor

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sooo... any info? Details? Anything? Nothing? I'm waiting....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Airlock



Joined: Apr 06, 2007
Posts: 103
Location: Harleysville PA
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2016 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The Kawai K4 is worth having for $100 for sure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patrickvf1976



Joined: Aug 08, 2011
Posts: 192
Location: Gig Harbor

PostPosted: Fri Jan 15, 2016 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah, the K4 seems to be a pretty cool synth. There is a guy on youtube named Ignacio Marty, and he has some pretty cool demos of the K4r (rack version) out there. Anyways, I went back to that store today to try out both (the Alesis is a QS6, not 4) myself. I didn''t like the QS very much although it seems to be a decent synth, but I have an EMU Morpheus, and the QS seems like a knock off of that to me. The seller didn't have a power supply for the Kawai and offered to sell it for $50. So I took a chance and bought it. When will I learn NOT to do that?? doh Well the problem is that it does power on but it doesn't power up. Instead, it shows a line of blocks across the display and there's a muted, repeating glitch sound coming from it. Any ideas how to fix this? Do I need to do some kind of soft or hard reset like I have to do on my Ensoniq ESQ1 sometimes? I hope it's nothing too difficult to fix, but man, I don't think I will ever learn angry At least I can sell it for parts if I can't fix it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » General Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use