electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Has anyone tried MidiLan with a Nord Modular?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2430
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 9:58 pm    Post subject: Has anyone tried MidiLan with a Nord Modular? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Has anyone tried MidiLan with the Nord Modular?
http://www.musiclab.com/products/rpl_info.htm
I'm wodnering if it can handle the Nord's control port
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22809
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 231
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Don't know, but out of curiousity I did try it long ago with my own net MIDI thingy. It was unusable, but sometimes the editor would see the synth for a while.
_________________
Jan
also .. please don't march .. we are on a bridge right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2430
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:
Don't know, but out of curiousity I did try it long ago with my own net MIDI thingy. It was unusable, but sometimes the editor would see the synth for a while.


Do you remember how long ago- roughly?
I'm wondering if the version you tried was buggy and if it's been improved since then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22809
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 231
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

cappy2112 wrote:

Do you remember how long ago- roughly?


I tried to explain that I was not using MidiLan but my own thingy (net MIDI). And that one was not buggy, its the NM stuff being picky on timing, so probably remoting the editor from the synth is not going to work for any MIDI over ethernet product.

_________________
Jan
also .. please don't march .. we are on a bridge right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kassen
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004
Posts: 7678
Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

likely, yes. In the bad old days some MIDI products couldn't even take it. It would have been nicer if the nord would have tried giving up on some luxuries like those leds before quitting outright. It's not rocket sience and the editor doesn't realy urgently need to be that fast. as far as I'm concerned most of the time it could be half a second late and it'd still be fine.

Hmmm, now that I think of it; disabeling those leds in the editor might aleviate some of the tention? Or is that just a matter of how it's displayed and not something that affects the actual communication? Realy fast MIDI ports and lots of priority for the tcpip stuff? Avoiding any product/protocol that involves (larger) buffers?

All other solutions I can think of fit in the "if you are going to do that you might as well spend your time on a entirely new system" category.

_________________
Kassen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22809
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 231
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Kassen, right now there is some fine jazz on radio.electro-music.com , that distracts me Very Happy
_________________
Jan
also .. please don't march .. we are on a bridge right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2430
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:

All other solutions I can think of fit in the "if you are going to do that you might as well spend your time on a entirely new system" category.


It's not a speed issue at all. It's a computer vs gear location issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22809
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 231
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, to come back on this, with less distraction going on.

The Clavia protocol just seems to be not very robust. When some data is lost it can't be recovered. Whatever will make it loose data will give that result.

This can be MIDI drivers that can't handle the amount of data, but it can also be time. I didn't go into the details of this particular protocol very much, but from experience I know that thing s that seem reasonable on a link without delays may completely fail when some delay is introduced.

It is not easy to make communications protocols, and every naive implementation of flow control will make the prortocol perform wose, not better. The Clavia protocol has every sign of naively implemented flow control. But again, I didn't go into the details so I can't be sure.

_________________
Jan
also .. please don't march .. we are on a bridge right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Kassen
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004
Posts: 7678
Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

cappy2112 wrote:
Quote:

All other solutions I can think of fit in the "if you are going to do that you might as well spend your time on a entirely new system" category.


It's not a speed issue at all. It's a computer vs gear location issue.


He he he, yeah, that's true too, but I think I get a point as well.

I asumed it worked like this; the PC sends something to the NM then the NM has to do something with that, then reply. If there is no reply the PC may try again or start complaining it can't feel the NM anymore.

Clearly a extra LAN cable won't speed the process up and it may slow it down. I figured that it might have slowed it down over the "complain" treshold wich I asumed to be a bit on the low side.

Lan cables tend to believe that what we want is getting data from here to there as fast as possible without bothering possible other uses of the cable and without caring how steady this stream is. If this data has to be a steady steam people use buffers (like in Winamp to listen to internet radio) To me that kinda means the "gear location" issue and the speed one are the same at their core here.

Makes sense? I think this would be a nice moment to start wondering how large the "gear /computer distance" is. Are we talking meters or continents here? For meters I'd start thinking about longer MIDI cables instead...

_________________
Kassen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2430
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jun 04, 2006 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Kassen wrote:
cappy2112 wrote:
Quote:

All other solutions I can think of fit in the "if you are going to do that you might as well spend your time on a entirely new system" category.


It's not a speed issue at all. It's a computer vs gear location issue.




The computer I want to use is on the other side of the room from the gear. But there is a computer on that side of the room, it's just very slow, and there's no room for me to put two computers there. Eventually that one will get replaced. Midi is extremly slow compaired to etherenet speeds, so there shouldn't be any delays thru the ethernet cable or using that midilan driver.

I can run one ethernet cable from computer to computer and send midi over it to my midi patc bay, which can then send it to all the synths, instead of having to run four 15 foot midi cables connected to 4 more 15 foot midi cables to talk to the NM (2 for control, to for Midi).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jason



Joined: Aug 12, 2004
Posts: 466
Location: Los Angeles, CA. USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 8:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

How are you planning on routing the midi from LAN out the midi patchbay? How is this done? What midi patchbay cappy? Or is it simply that the MIDIoverLAN app routes the LAN out to the patchbay and vice versa?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2430
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Jason wrote:
How are you planning on routing the midi from LAN out the midi patchbay? How is this done? What midi patchbay cappy? Or is it simply that the MIDIoverLAN app routes the LAN out to the patchbay and vice versa?


with MidiYokewww.midiox.com

I have a Digital Music MX8- the antichrist of all midi patch bays.
I'm looking for another patchbay, which doesnt require being connected to a comptuer to function.

I didn't like the Edirol series because some of the cables are on the front, and it only has like 10 presets. There used to be bigger selections of patchbays many years ago, now there are so many of the computer-connected ones.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jason



Joined: Aug 12, 2004
Posts: 466
Location: Los Angeles, CA. USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

that is so freaking funny cappy , I as well have a eyesore of a MX8....
Yes better than nothing , but sounds like we both need to be updated with a real patchbay... Thanks for info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2430
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Jason wrote:
that is so freaking funny cappy , I as well have a eyesore of a MX8....
Yes better than nothing , but sounds like we both need to be updated with a real patchbay... Thanks for info.


You gotta try out the demo for Timewarp2600
I finally have a machine powrfull enough to play it now.
Tt sounds so friggin good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [14 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use