electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » ChucK programming language
use ramp for crossfade?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Kassen
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
fraukefroehlich



Joined: May 11, 2007
Posts: 22
Location: home
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 1:57 am    Post subject: use ramp for crossfade? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

meow - me again!

as far as i've understood the docs, a ramp is like a volume control with params 1 = loudest and 0 = muted...

so i wondered if ramp is a good choice for programming crossfades between samples (or grains of samples Smile??

thx4help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kassen
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Jul 06, 2004
Posts: 7678
Location: The Hague, NL
G2 patch files: 3

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ah, wise choice :¬)

Yes, indeed, that's what a "ramp" does, and yes, that would be a good plan.

On to crossfades. If on my DJ mixer here I only have one turntable going then the crossfader (asuming all the other faders are up) will fade that one record between zero and unity gain. That means that there sliding over the the crossfader acts as one of those ramps for the one channel, right?

Ok. now, because on my crossfader there are two inputs using one side like a "ramp" will also inherently define what the second turntable's volume will do if that is running as well.

So, there's your hint.

_________________
Kassen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Kassen
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » ChucK programming language
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use