electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
<on air> Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Cubase
Tempo management in Cubase
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:37 pm    Post subject: Tempo management in Cubase
Subject description: timing
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Another newbie here. I've been going thru the manual to learn cubase but here is a problem I can't seem to find.

Let's say I have a drum sample composed of a single beat. I want to loop this sample so that it plays in 4/4 time at let's say a tempo of 80 beats per minute.

How do I do that? Is there a "snap to beats' command?

Or let's say I want to move soundclips around manually so that they fit in with other events.. Is there a way I can set up a grid composed of the abovementioned 4/4 time /80 bpm so I know where to move my soundclips?

Electronic music is highly rhythmic and never out of time, and I'm wondering how the heck they do it. My stuff in cubase is NEVER in time! Evil or Very Mad

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Wayne Higgins



Joined: Aug 16, 2007
Posts: 270
Location: Greenville, FL
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for getting me motivated. I've had this problem myself with Cubase, just never worried about it. I do ambient, and base my timings on the loops and echos (and vice-versa). I'll figure this one out soon.

BTW, I checked out your music. Excellent work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Oenyaw wrote:
Thanks for getting me motivated. I've had this problem myself with Cubase, just never worried about it. I do ambient, and base my timings on the loops and echos (and vice-versa). I'll figure this one out soon.

BTW, I checked out your music. Excellent work!


THANKS. Nice words for a NEWby. Laughing

I'm beginning to wonder if the rigid timing and super-fast beats in trance music are a function of MIDI.

Is it possible to play a chord that is looped to 160 bpm? Perhaps you can set that up in MIDI. Listening to how fast & precise the synth chords are, I don't see how else to do it. I don't know much about MIDI, hoping to learn someday.

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Wayne Higgins



Joined: Aug 16, 2007
Posts: 270
Location: Greenville, FL
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have a Yamaha keyboard which is MIDI combat-ible at home that I bought for my son for Xmas a long time ago and he never learned or took an interest (but he's really starting to get into guitar now (got him an Epiphone SG for his Bday (25, I should stop huh? (naw)))). I bought a cable for it a year ago. I haven't unwrapped it yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wayne Higgins



Joined: Aug 16, 2007
Posts: 270
Location: Greenville, FL
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I think this is what you need.

Opeations manual, page 438. Beat Calulator.

Under projec, slect beat calculator.

A window appears with the beat calulator.
Select Tap Tempo, and hit the space bar upon star and finish. It will set up the beat for you. I haven't figures out how to enter a specific number.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Oenyaw wrote:
I think this is what you need.

Opeations manual, page 438. Beat Calulator.

Under projec, slect beat calculator.

A window appears with the beat calulator.
Select Tap Tempo, and hit the space bar upon star and finish. It will set up the beat for you. I haven't figures out how to enter a specific number.


Thanks. I'm still clueless... I'm thinking maybe it's easier to just practice hitting a coffee can in perfect timing than to do all that math. Laughing

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Wayne Higgins



Joined: Aug 16, 2007
Posts: 270
Location: Greenville, FL
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

no math involved. insted of hitting the coffee can, hit the space bar

ie: space bar -2-3-4-space bar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gravehill



Joined: Apr 12, 2005
Posts: 49
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hmm, you don't mention which version of Cubase you're using but if you're on 4.1 (the latest), the new audio editor will do what you need very easily.

Beat calculator would do the trick (albeit differently) as well.

_________________
For mind-boggling experimental music:

http://www.chaosresearch.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
laura woodswalker



Joined: Oct 06, 2007
Posts: 419
Location: valley forge pa
Audio files: 10

PostPosted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 7:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

gravehill wrote:
Hmm, you don't mention which version of Cubase you're using but if you're on 4.1 (the latest), the new audio editor will do what you need very easily.

Beat calculator would do the trick (albeit differently) as well.


I'm using Cubase LE. I'm not sure what I'm missing by not having the "full" version.

_________________
The most important music equipment is what's in front of the instrument.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Cubase
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use