electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nomad - NM1 Open Source Editor
2008/03/11 Nomad 0.3 pre-release Update 2 available for DL
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 2 [27 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
chresan



Joined: Jul 11, 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:30 am    Post subject: 2008/03/11 Nomad 0.3 pre-release Update 2 available for DL Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

we published an update of the Nomad 0.3 release right now .

Fixes
- module pane does not show modules
- module/connector popup not shown
- Invalid plug exception -> no connection possible
Code:

net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.SynthException: Invalid plug MidiPlug[name=MIDI HUBBLE MIDI 2,vendor=Unknown vendor,description=No details available] for net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.midi.MidiPort[name='pc-out',type=TRANSMITTER,plug=MidiPlug[name=Microsoft MIDI-Mapper,vendor=Unknown vendor,description=Windows MIDI_MAPPER]].
at net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.midi.MidiPort.setPlug(MidiPort.java:110)


Please download the updated release from http://nmedit.sourceforge.net/

I am very sorry this happened. Embarassed


Cheers

Christian

_________________
----------------------
http://nmedit.sf.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nathan



Joined: Jan 07, 2008
Posts: 59
Location: amsterdam

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

very nice guys!
we'll get at the perfect editor, step by step, altogether hand in hand.
Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nathan



Joined: Jan 07, 2008
Posts: 59
Location: amsterdam

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

only weird thing now is that the knobs dont turn visually correct.
but only visually. weird..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gomidas



Joined: Jul 09, 2004
Posts: 359
Location: La Ciotat, France
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

MACROS RULES, THAAAAANKS..

1.I'm using Mac(intel) OSX 10.5.2

2.ONLY Mandolane can give me MIDI, plumstone is PPC ONLY(freeware), osxmidispi and mmj DON'T WORK for me.
http://www.mandolane.co.uk/

3.IT WORKS with http://www.mandolane.co.uk/swMandoMidi.html and the platform independent http://downloads.sourceforge.net/nmedit/nomad-0-3_2.zip?use_mirror=osdn.

Great Work thumleft

Last edited by gomidas on Sat Mar 22, 2008 5:50 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m:o



Joined: Dec 20, 2006
Posts: 51
Location: Freiburg

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Big thanks to you !! Works like geschnitten brot here ! Smile

You have really made a lovely work on this - the only thing to make me perfect happy is to find the switch between horizontal and vertical mouse control.......am i blind?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gomidas



Joined: Jul 09, 2004
Posts: 359
Location: La Ciotat, France
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

mSurprised wrote:
Big thanks to you !! Works like geschnitten brot here ! Smile

You have really made a lovely work on this - the only thing to make me perfect happy is to find the switch between horizontal and vertical mouse control.......am i blind?


Hello mSurprised, do you use mac or win? ppc ,intel? osxmidispi or other? Sorry to bother my friend it's just to know...

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m:o



Joined: Dec 20, 2006
Posts: 51
Location: Freiburg

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey gomidas!

im on a windows desktop with XP Sp3 and a Terratec MidiHubble as Midi i/o.
I guess you're on a mac, so i can't help - sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gomidas



Joined: Jul 09, 2004
Posts: 359
Location: La Ciotat, France
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok!!!!! cool!!!!

Have fun mSurprised
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wesen



Joined: May 05, 2007
Posts: 30
Location: germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey gomidas,

I have the exact same config as you, but mmj and osxmidispi work for me. What is the problem when you use those? Is the EDIROL not recognized?

Regards, manuel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chresan



Joined: Jul 11, 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi gomidas,

when you tried our osxmidispi, did you remove the other SPIs (mmj,mandalone) ? It could be that they interfere with each other.

Christian

P.S.: Java 1.5 = Java 5, Java 1.6 = Java 6

_________________
----------------------
http://nmedit.sf.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gomidas



Joined: Jul 09, 2004
Posts: 359
Location: La Ciotat, France
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I will try this as soon as I get back home...thanks for the tip Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gomidas



Joined: Jul 09, 2004
Posts: 359
Location: La Ciotat, France
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

AND AGAIN.. MACROS RUUUUUULES!!!!!!!!!!!! Twisted Evil
Last edited by gomidas on Sat Mar 22, 2008 5:52 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gomidas



Joined: Jul 09, 2004
Posts: 359
Location: La Ciotat, France
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

EDIT: IT WORKS with http://www.mandolane.co.uk/swMandoMidi.html and the platform independent http://downloads.sourceforge.net/nmedit/nomad-0-3_2.zip?use_mirror=osdn.

Mac intel OSX 10.5.2

Last edited by gomidas on Sat Mar 22, 2008 5:53 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cebec



Joined: Apr 19, 2004
Posts: 1064
Location: Virginia
Audio files: 3
G2 patch files: 31

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

mSurprised wrote:
Big thanks to you !! Works like geschnitten brot here ! Smile

You have really made a lovely work on this - the only thing to make me perfect happy is to find the switch between horizontal and vertical mouse control.......am i blind?


Anyone find a way to switch between horizontal and vertical mouse control of knobs in the editor?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chresan



Joined: Jul 11, 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

cebec wrote:
Anyone find a way to switch between horizontal and vertical mouse control of knobs in the editor?


Currently there is no way to change the behaviour. But in one of the next releases there will be such an option.

_________________
----------------------
http://nmedit.sf.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cebec



Joined: Apr 19, 2004
Posts: 1064
Location: Virginia
Audio files: 3
G2 patch files: 31

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Cool. Just checking. Keep up the great work!
Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
starpause



Joined: Feb 26, 2008
Posts: 6
Location: san francisco

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 9:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

when i start nomad-0-3_2 with "java- jar nomad.jar" on my ubuntu desktop nomad launches fine.

however, i can not connect to my micromodular. in fact, i can't even go to edit->preferences or file->preferences (both options are grayed out).

i was able to connect with the previous version of the editor.

any advice? thanks in advance and glad to see a new version!

edit:

after watching the screencasts i tried to connect to my micromod but got this error:

Code:

net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.SynthException: net.sf.nmedit.jnmprotocol2.MidiException: timeout: 10000ms (net.sf.nmedit.jnmprotocol2.SynthSettingsMessage) [error=-1001]
   at net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.clavia.nordmodular.NordModular.connect(NordModular.java:411)
   at net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.clavia.nordmodular.NordModular.setConnected(NordModular.java:881)
   at net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.nomad.forms.SynthObjectForm.trySetConnectedState(SynthObjectForm.java:958)
   at net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.nomad.forms.SynthObjectForm$1$1.run(SynthObjectForm.java:599)
   at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(InvocationEvent.java:209)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(EventQueue.java:597)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(EventDispatchThread.java:273)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(EventDispatchThread.java:183)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(EventDispatchThread.java:173)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:168)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(EventDispatchThread.java:160)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(EventDispatchThread.java:121)
Caused by: net.sf.nmedit.jnmprotocol2.MidiException: timeout: 10000ms (net.sf.nmedit.jnmprotocol2.SynthSettingsMessage) [error=-1001]
   at net.sf.nmedit.jnmprotocol2.NmMessageAcceptor.waitForReply(NmMessageAcceptor.java:111)
   at net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.clavia.nordmodular.NordModular.connect(NordModular.java:400)
   ... 11 more


wanted to add that i'm using the midisport uno 1x1 ...

is there a tool like midiox for linux or mac osx? i think it's working though because the last version of nomad could connect.

Last edited by starpause on Fri Apr 04, 2008 8:09 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20622
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Just tried Nomad 0-3_2 on Vista with Java 1.6 with and Edirol UM-3ex, no good, no connection Crying or Very sad

It looks like a timeout on the heart beat ... would that be the real problem or could it be that MIDI is not neatly grouped into completed messages (an issue I've ran into at times with MIDI on windows)?

The Clavia editor seems to work on this config, although I didn't really test it yet.

Edit : I Do have the synth set for internal clock.

Anyway, here is my dump :

Code:

net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.SynthException: net.sf.nmedit.jnmprotocol2.MidiException: Communication timed out: 1207345072963 [error=-1001]
   at net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.clavia.nordmodular.NordModular.connect(NordModular.java:411)
   at net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.clavia.nordmodular.NordModular.setConnected(NordModular.java:881)
   at net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.nomad.forms.SynthObjectForm.trySetConnectedState(SynthObjectForm.java:958)
   at net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.nomad.forms.SynthObjectForm$1$1.run(SynthObjectForm.java:599)
   at java.awt.event.InvocationEvent.dispatch(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
   at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: net.sf.nmedit.jnmprotocol2.MidiException: Communication timed out: 1207345072963 [error=-1001]
   at net.sf.nmedit.jnmprotocol2.NmProtocol.heartbeatImpl(NmProtocol.java:58)
   at net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.clavia.nordmodular.NordModular$SchedulingProtocol.heartbeatImpl(NordModular.java:252)
   at net.sf.nmedit.jnmprotocol2.AbstractNmProtocol.heartbeat(AbstractNmProtocol.java:154)
   at net.sf.nmedit.jnmprotocol2.NmMessageAcceptor.waitForReply(NmMessageAcceptor.java:114)
   at net.sf.nmedit.jsynth.clavia.nordmodular.NordModular.connect(NordModular.java:358)
   ... 11 more

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chresan



Joined: Jul 11, 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

BlueHell:

We did not test Nomad on Vista because none of us has this OS. Nomad contains some code which tries to "correct" invalid sysex messages and I believe this causes some of the timeout problems. At the moment I can't say more than I will look into this.

Christian

_________________
----------------------
http://nmedit.sf.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chresan



Joined: Jul 11, 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

starpause:

The current release contains a bug which causes this exception. You have to set the synth midi clock to "internal" as workaround.

midisport + ubuntu should not cause any problems.

Christian

_________________
----------------------
http://nmedit.sf.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chresan



Joined: Jul 11, 2006
Posts: 150
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Bon appetite! Very Happy
_________________
----------------------
http://nmedit.sf.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20622
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I split off a couple of debug setup related posts to : http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-25377.html
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20622
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2008 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

chresan wrote:
Bon appetite! Very Happy


Danke schön Very Happy

edit: oh this got a bit weird due to the split off, ah well, "dinner time" was what I said in the other thread.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
starpause



Joined: Feb 26, 2008
Posts: 6
Location: san francisco

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

chresan, thank you! i will try that out.

any1 know if it's possible to set the midi clock to internal from the micro modular front panel? i don't see how and it's not mentioned in the manual. if not i will take my micro to work and use the windows editor

_________________
myspace
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
starpause



Joined: Feb 26, 2008
Posts: 6
Location: san francisco

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

update: i just checked my nord micromodular with "Nord modular editor v3.03" under windows, looks like i already had MIDI clock to internal. i tried toggling it back and forth just for good measure and starting nomad with the MIDI clock to both internal and external but "Preferences" was still grayed out in nomad's Edit menu, even under winXP

is this something that might be fixed in the head CVS build?

thanks!

_________________
myspace
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 2 [27 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nomad - NM1 Open Source Editor
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use