electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
New sequencer project - Documentation on First Page
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 2 of 32 [797 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 30, 31, 32 Next
Author Message
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 196
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello Ringer

Well it's simpler than that, as it's all done in software on the PIC.

What might be an option, is to have 4modes.

Forward, Ping-pong, Random, & CV Select

The IO pin for the "stages" pot, which normally controls the
maximum stage number, could be overridden with an external CV
input, and used to control the stage number when in CV mode, and the
max stage when in the other modes.

Obviously each stage still repeats with the settings from the count
switches.

phew !


-ryktnk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ringer



Joined: Feb 20, 2007
Posts: 49
Location: montreal

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello Ryktnk,

Fantastic news, especially that the number of repetitions will be saved per step is brilliant.KUDOS!!!

Please make sure to have the option to use 0 to 5 volts and 0 to 10 volts for the range on the cv input, this way people from both camps can use it.

Please keep us posted as you progress with the project. Many thanks.

Regards,
Ringer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 196
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello

Ringer:-

Sorry, I only said in theory it's possible . . . Embarassed

There is one snag:- the PIC is 5V powered, so cannot accept
CV's higher than that.
In theory you could build a little circuit with an op-amp, but there
is not enough space left on the board, so you would have to be
very careful with the CV range on this input.

-ryktnk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fluxmonkey



Joined: Jun 24, 2005
Posts: 696
Location: cleve

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ringer wrote:
Please make sure to have the option to use 0 to 5 volts and 0 to 10 volts for the range on the cv input, this way people from both camps can use it.


easy enuf w/ an dedicated outboard voltage scaler/shifter on the input for folks that need it. probably want zener protection on that input, too.

ryktnk, glad yr listening to suggestions, BUT don't get bogged down trying to accommodate all requests and make everyone happy. i've seen too many projects die from scope creep... which isn't to say any of these suggestions aren't worthy of consideration, but in the end it's your project.

many thanks for your hard work and generosity in sharing. i'd definitely be interested in a couple of board/PIC combos if they materialize. don't underestimate the effort involved, and charge accordingly.

bbob

_________________
www.fluxmonkey.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ringer



Joined: Feb 20, 2007
Posts: 49
Location: montreal

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello Ryktnk & bbob,

I hope it is possible. I know about feature creep and the single most lacking feature on most analogue style sequencers is voltage controlled stage selection. Most of the sequencers that have it are prohibitively expensive ie Buchla 246 and the Serge TKB etc. I made the suggestion because it became a new way of control for me that is now indispensable,

I mentioned the two voltage ranges to satisfy both camps and had you had enough room on the board it would have been an easy fix.

I will sort it out myself with a small press 'n peel pcb a la MOTM chicklet board hanging off the pot with the zener for protection.

Thanks for sharing your project with us, I can't wait to build it.

Regards,
Ringer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Funky40



Joined: Sep 24, 2005
Posts: 875
Location: Swiss
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

bbob wrote:
ryktnk, glad yr listening to suggestions, BUT don't get bogged down trying to accommodate all requests and make everyone happy.
bbob

I double this

Me too was dissussing wishes with Ryk per PM. so i must think:
with how many more people he does too ? ( in my case it was just about connectors. )

Yeah, just bring it up as it is !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ilanode



Joined: Sep 14, 2007
Posts: 80
Location: Berlin/FRG

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ringer wrote:
the single most lacking feature on most analogue style sequencers is voltage controlled stage selection. Most of the sequencers that have it are prohibitively expensive ie Buchla 246 and the Serge TKB etc.
Unless I got you wrong the Anlogue Solutions Oberkorn[1] can do this as well as the A154 (needs at least one A155).

My back log has gotten quite out of hand by now otherwise I'd say release it as it is and count me in.

[1]This one might have other drawbacks.

Last edited by Ilanode on Tue Jun 24, 2008 11:09 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 196
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello

I will have a look and tweak the code for this "new mode", as I have
also fallen for new features.
But I can't really change the circuit to much for voltage scaling etc, so that
will have to be done at "owners risk", in theory a 5.1v zener to grnd might
work . . .

I am also adding a step division for the repeat mode, so you get Divide by 1,2,3, or 4.
So when a stage is set to repeat mode [plays multiple clock pulses] then it
will play all [div 1] every 2nd [div 2] every 3rd [div3] or every 4th [div 4]
without altering the duration set by the count switch for that stage.

-ryktnk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
klo



Joined: Feb 09, 2008
Posts: 9
Location: Darmstadt

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

my idear for this spezial perfect sequencer is singel gate o.trigger out for step and for the two gate times (short and long) cv modulation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master of Circles



Joined: Jun 27, 2007
Posts: 14
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi there,

i could imagine taking one or two boards, depending one the price.

the video is very nice, looks like a very usefull sequencer module

Good Night from Hamburg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xpmtl



Joined: Aug 10, 2007
Posts: 158
Location: Brussels, Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

would take one (or two) depending on the price. Looks nice Very Happy
_________________
http://sdiy.xpmtl.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dez



Joined: May 05, 2008
Posts: 8
Location: Brooklyn

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I would take 2 in a second
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 196
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello

klo:-
Quote:
my idear for this spezial perfect sequencer is singel gate o.trigger out for step and for the two gate times (short and long) cv modulation.


It only has one gate output, but, the gate length can be varied
by the gate-length control, which is actually just a voltage control
source from the pot, so with some careful wiring and voltage protection
[0-5v] this could also be achievable, at owners risk !

It is worth mentioning that most of the controls on this are CV sources
from the switches or pots, as there are less wires needed to the PIC, this
includes the mode switch, range switch, stage length, stage mode.
But the PCB will be set up for use with the 0-5v range, so be warned
if you want to modify it for CV control about the voltage range as discussed
previously.

Pricing Confused

I have been pricing the project, and have decided on a sliding scale
depending on number of board+pic ordered, it is not so cheap, sorry.

1 - £25
2 - £47
3 - £67
4 - £85

Price includes PCB+ preprogrammed PIC, shipping extra.

Anybody still interested let me know.

Thanks

-ryk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
neandrewthal



Joined: May 11, 2007
Posts: 672
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I am very interested depending on whether I can find a way to make rectangular holes for those switches or cram a bunch of rotaries on a panel. How long do I have to decide?
_________________
" I went through quite a few trannies til I found one I liked" - Wild Zebra
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 196
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello

Quote:
... whether I can find a way to make rectangular holes for those switches or cram a bunch of rotaries on a panel. How long do I have to decide?


No, hurry.

If you don't fancy the switches, you could use a bunch of 50k linear
pots instead, but you only get 180 degrees usage [see panel pic on flickr of
the "stages" control] due to dead space on the pot, so you have to
work out the dial markings carefully, and no detents for the selection Sad

-ryktnk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ilanode



Joined: Sep 14, 2007
Posts: 80
Location: Berlin/FRG

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ryktnk wrote:
I have been pricing the project, and have decided on a sliding scale
depending on number of board+pic ordered, it is not so cheap, sorry.

1 - £25
2 - £47
3 - £67
4 - £85

Price includes PCB+ preprogrammed PIC, shipping extra.

That sounds *very* reasonable to me despite my backlog I'm tempted to take 1 or 2. I'm still under the impression of your great video. Any idea wether the sequencer will fit behind a standard MOTM-panel if all pots are pcb-mounted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 196
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello

Quote:
That sounds *very* reasonable to me despite my backlog I'm tempted to take 1 or 2. I'm still under the impression of your great video. Any idea wether the sequencer will fit behind a standard MOTM-panel if all pots are pcb-mounted?


Oh dear I should put up the price Very Happy

The panel I used is 110mm x 230mm , but the slide switches take
up less space, so with rotary switches probably a bit bigger.

-ryktnk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ilanode



Joined: Sep 14, 2007
Posts: 80
Location: Berlin/FRG

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ryktnk wrote:
Oh dear I should put up the price Very Happy

Don't waste your precious time on boring things like recalculation. Wink

ryktnk wrote:
The panel I used is 110mm x 230mm , but the slide switches take up less space, so with rotary switches probably a bit bigger.

That's bigger then the 5U modulars. scratch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bubblechamber



Joined: Nov 04, 2006
Posts: 276
Location: NYC
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

'm in for 2, thanks.
d
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Peake



Joined: Jun 29, 2007
Posts: 1109
Location: Loss Angeles
Audio files: 3

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah, I'll take two. You've done something new, as well as an amazing module for the 100m.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 196
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello


Quote:
That's bigger then the 5U modulars. scratch


Well the component space on the panel is about 195mm x 95
so might squeeze in [8 pots vertically stacked with 24mm spacing].

-ryktnk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ilanode



Joined: Sep 14, 2007
Posts: 80
Location: Berlin/FRG

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks! That might be doable. It should even work to mount it horizontally into a 3U FracRak which is my prefered standard anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asafnetzer



Joined: Jun 16, 2007
Posts: 112
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ryktnk, I'm in for one set, wise I had the spare money for more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Luka



Joined: Jun 29, 2007
Posts: 1002
Location: Melb.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

since i sold my second klee im looking for another sequencer
count me in for 1

so is there any chance of finding those switches you have or should i settle for rotaries instead.

_________________
problemchild
melbourne australia
http://cycleofproblems.blogspot.com/
http://www.last.fm/user/prblmchild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryktnk



Joined: Apr 24, 2008
Posts: 196
Location: london
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jun 29, 2008 1:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello
Quote:

so is there any chance of finding those switches you have or should i settle for rotaries instead.


If possible I am trying to get some more of the switches, but
they are quite tricky for panel mounting [only 4way has screw holes]

-ryktnk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 2 of 32 [797 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 30, 31, 32 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use