electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Rob Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » YuSynth
ADSR schematics do not match the PCB ??
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
vcfool



Joined: Jun 19, 2008
Posts: 23
Location: Barcelona

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 7:56 am    Post subject: ADSR schematics do not match the PCB ?? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

I've been protoboarding the YuSynth ADSR this morning, following the schematics. When finished, I found it was not working: it didn't got any respone when gate in was applied. After checking all the connections twice and making sure it was all ok, I began checking the 3 transitor connections on the PCB tracks and I noticed it is different from the schematics:

On the schematics the Base of Q3 is connected to the Collector of Q1 through a 10N cap.
On the PCB the Base of Q3 is connected to the Collector of Q2 through a 15N cap.

So I changed that connection following the PCB and everything seems to work as expected now...

This is confusing me. Has anyone experienced this?
Am I doing something wrong? Maybe I am just misreading something...

By the way, I am using a normal NE555, by looking at the Datasheets I guess it will work the same as a CMOS 7555. Or shall I better look for a 7555?

Thanks everyone in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi

Yes you're right I made a mistake when I redrew the new version of the schematic. I am fixing this ASAP. The old version of the schematics was correct and I introduced the mistake when I wanted to improve the drawing... In French we have a saying : "betterness is the foe of rightness" ...

By the way you'd better use the CMOS version. The NE555 is known to have dramatic issues concerning the current it draws from the power line during the astable switching stage. The power draw goes up to 100mA during this transient. The CMOS version does not exhibit such issues.

_________________
Yves

Last edited by yusynth on Tue Oct 28, 2008 5:00 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vcfool



Joined: Jun 19, 2008
Posts: 23
Location: Barcelona

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

Thanks for your answer.
After spending some time playing with the ADSR, I have another question reganding the way it acts:

Let's say you trigger the ADSR, let it reach the Sustain state and hold it there. Now the Sustain will work as a kind if Manual CV in all the envelopes I have tried so far. But in this one, you can only lower it, and it follows correctly, but it won't go up again.

So when in the Sustain state, (while holding the key and sound is on) you can only change the Sustain to lower voltages, not to higher ones. Once it reaches a Min. V it will not raise above this level again without re-triggering the ADSR again.
Is this normal operation on this design or shall I check connections again?

Not being native english speaking, I don't know if I am making myself clear.

BTW, I'll look for a CMOS 7555.
Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

vcfool wrote:

So when in the Sustain state, (while holding the key and sound is on) you can only change the Sustain to lower voltages, not to higher ones. Once it reaches a Min. V it will not raise above this level again without re-triggering the ADSR again.
Is this normal operation on this design or shall I check connections again?

Not being native english speaking, I don't know if I am making myself clear.

BTW, I'll look for a CMOS 7555.
Thanks again.


Yes this is the normal operating mode for this circuit because of the diode D4 which only allows discharging. To obtain the kind of behaviour you mention it would require a different circuit architecture based on analogue switches.

Don't worry, I am no native english speaker either, and you made yourself clear.

_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vcfool



Joined: Jun 19, 2008
Posts: 23
Location: Barcelona

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

So I found a Motorola MC1455. By looking at the datasheet I can't make clear if this is a good replacement for the 7555...
Can somebody tell if it is a CMOS version or a normal 555?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EdisonRex
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 07, 2007
Posts: 4529
Location: London, UK
Audio files: 169

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

vcfool wrote:
Hi,

So I found a Motorola MC1455. By looking at the datasheet I can't make clear if this is a good replacement for the 7555...
Can somebody tell if it is a CMOS version or a normal 555?

Thanks!


It is a CMOS version.

_________________
Garret: It's so retro.
EGM: What does retro mean to you?
Parker: Like, old and outdated.


Home,My Studio,and another view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vcfool



Joined: Jun 19, 2008
Posts: 23
Location: Barcelona

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LetterBeacon



Joined: Mar 18, 2008
Posts: 454
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Should I use a 10n or 15n polyester cap between Q3 and Q2?

The schematic and the BOM say 10n, but the PCB layout says 15n...

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 2:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

10n or 15n doesn't make a significant difference in this case, use the value you have at hand. Wink
_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LetterBeacon



Joined: Mar 18, 2008
Posts: 454
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for that.

Also, the schematic says C6 is 10nf but the BOM and PCB say it's 100nf. I've assumed it's supposed to be 100nf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

correct I'll fix that
_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Page fixed
_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
softfin



Joined: Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 264
Location: Far in the north
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I stripboarded one of these ADSRs from the schematic more than a year ago and couldn't get it to work.
After spotting this topic, I repaired it and managed to get it working straight away.Thanks for the correction !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scriptstyle



Joined: Jan 22, 2008
Posts: 250
Location: nj

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

just noticed r18 on the schematic is listed as r10 on the bom. not sure if its already been mentioned?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'll check that and fix it, thanks for mentionning.
_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites
Page 1 of 1 [15 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » YuSynth
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use