electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music

Front Page  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
go to the radio page Live at electro-music.com radio 1 Please visit the chat
poster
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Musical Interfaces
Help! Keyboard springs required!
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
bunker

PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:12 pm    Post subject: Help! Keyboard springs required! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi. Newbie here and I'm not sure if this is the correct section of the forum but here goes....

I am in desperate need of some replacement springs for a keyboard mechanism. The Keyboard is of the 70's Italian flavour whereby one end of the spring is soldered onto the circuit board and the spring itself makes/breaks with a bussbar. The springs are about 1mm in diameter and are roughly 45mm long and look like phosphor/bronze. I can take some pics if anyone needs to see exactly what they look like but I'm sure anyone who has seen the insides of a "cheap" old synth/organ you'll know what I'm talking about....

I would imagine these aren't readily available as 'keyboard springs' but I'm sure something similar would be available from a hardware/hobby supplier somewhere, I just don't know where. Strictly speaking I only need the one for a repair to my beloved Godwin String Concert (THE greatest String Machine imho!!!) I don't mind buying a bulk amount to keep for spares and I'll happily buy from anywhere and have them sent to the UK.