electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
PCBs for a Sequential Analogue Switch
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 6 of 7 [170 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
Funky40



Joined: Sep 24, 2005
Posts: 875
Location: Swiss
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2009 8:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sine wrote:


Being a 4 bit counter this can be easily expanded to eight or even sixteen steps.

If anyone is interested in the details I'll draw out the schematic.


very interested !
very interested to have schematics for a 16step version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Sun Jun 07, 2009 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sine wrote:
If anyone is interested in the details I'll draw out the schematic.

sure! Very Happy

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

adambee7 wrote:
Yeah that was what i was thinking when looking at the schematic as we are only using half the chips outs. In fact i'm having an idea of making a 8x8 matrix or 4x4 matrix switch. What do you think matthias. Cool



hmm,cool idea!

fonik wrote:
now that you mentioned it: i could do a 2nd run for an 8 step switch.

BTW i am currently prototyping an 8-step VCF. in fact a 8-step switch and 8(!) SEM based multimode filters.
for each filter you can set ext. CV amount, freq, Q, mode (LP/BP/HP) and pan.
the filter boards are already in, i am currently stuffing them. the main board prototype (in/out/switch) has to be ordered still.


ah!,thats the secret u din't want to tell me Smile


sine -> sounds good,nice module btw 6.3 jacks on 3u panel,i did also a system like that in thepast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sine



Joined: Sep 10, 2007
Posts: 111
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sorry guys ... I haven't found the time yet to put the schematic in a readable format.

That's going to be something for the weekend.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i wonder if it wouldn't be more appropriate to start a new threat then. so this one could be reserved for the actual fonitronik SeqSwitch. what do you think?
_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
adambee7



Joined: Apr 04, 2009
Posts: 420
Location: united kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yep sounds good. Lets get some ideas going. Good idea Fonik. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Funky40



Joined: Sep 24, 2005
Posts: 875
Location: Swiss
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

my first one is running, debuged it today.
A pad of a Resistor was not soldered, so Out 1 was not doing.
must change my frontpanellayout as i must demount the switch that i can use the dotcom powerconnector.
Watch this if building in euroformat and using the dotcom connector = don't place any switches on the bottom beside out4


on the docs you have differnet letterring for the2/4/3 switch ( Frontpanel vs. wiringdiagramm )
edit: ahh well, i got my Boards btw. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Funky40 wrote:
on the docs you have differnet letterring for the2/4/3 switch ( Frontpanel vs. wiringdiagramm )

thanks for the pointer. 2 & 4 are obviously interchanged on the wiring diagram. should read

3
4 steps
2

i tested three different kinds of switches for the manual step. which one you are using?

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Funky40



Joined: Sep 24, 2005
Posts: 875
Location: Swiss
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:
i tested three different kinds of switches for the manual step. which one you are using?


fonik wrote:
toggle (miniature)
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.


I have not made the manual switches as i had no Momentary Switches.
I use the above pictured style. My ones are APEM. those have an axle and are in my Opinion the best bang for buck, and i get them locally.
A STSP cost me 3$, dual pole 4.50$.


they would be _really_ worth a Groupbuy. Those APEM come from France.
the feel on mom and on-off switches is of the very best too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
synthnut



Joined: Aug 15, 2007
Posts: 9
Location: San Jose California

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:23 pm    Post subject: PCBs for a Sequential Analogue Switch Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

You can put me down for 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

thank you so much for your efforts and ongoing support, mr funky!


maybe it would be good to start a new thread for the groupbuy to keep things in order? just my 2 pence

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
diablojoy



Joined: Sep 07, 2008
Posts: 795
Location: melbourne australia
Audio files: 11

PostPosted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

put me down for 2 of these as well thankyou fonik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kitsch-bent



Joined: Aug 03, 2008
Posts: 15
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i'm in for 4, thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Funky40



Joined: Sep 24, 2005
Posts: 875
Location: Swiss
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

sorry for delay with payment, i forget to send the letter to the bank,
shoud have e-banking up this week
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:41 pm    Post subject:
Subject description: SOLD OUT!
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

SOLD OUT!
_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Aha! Found it (I was expecting to see it in the Fonik sub-forum). I've been searching all over for this thread, so I thought I'd bump it.. Just in the process of wiring a couple of these babies up..
_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Has anyone done this in 5U? I'd be interested to see how others have laid out their panels?
_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20620
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

LektroiD wrote:
Aha! Found it (I was expecting to see it in the Fonik sub-forum).


Makes sense .. some stuff was forgotten I see ... moved it there.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

LektroiD wrote:
Has anyone done this in 5U? I'd be interested to see how others have laid out their panels?



seqsw.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  127.16 KB
 Viewed:  109 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

seqsw.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wmonk



Joined: Sep 15, 2008
Posts: 489
Location: Enschede, the Netherlands
Audio files: 13

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Funny! Mine is the other way around:
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.

Edit: smaller!

_________________
Weblog!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Having never owned or used a sequential switch before, I am not entirely sure how these work. My understanding is that they switch sequentially 1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4,1 etc etc.. However, mine is making completely random patterns (using manual trigger - I haven't yet triggered externally). Eg; 1,4,1,2,1,3,1,2,1,4,1,4,1,2 etc etc.. Is this how they should work?
_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Luka



Joined: Jun 29, 2007
Posts: 1002
Location: Melb.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i have found that if you send anything other than triggers & gates for clock signals that it will skip steps and act in a semi-random way.
_________________
problemchild
melbourne australia
http://cycleofproblems.blogspot.com/
http://www.last.fm/user/prblmchild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

LektroiD wrote:
Having never owned or used a sequential switch before, I am not entirely sure how these work. My understanding is that they switch sequentially 1,2,3,4,1,2,3,4,1 etc etc.. However, mine is making completely random patterns (using manual trigger - I haven't yet triggered externally). Eg; 1,4,1,2,1,3,1,2,1,4,1,4,1,2 etc etc.. Is this how they should work?

i would think the debouncing of the switch is not working. check your ground wiring, and/or try another switch. BTW i tried three different types of momentaries and the debouncing circuit worked for all three types.
anyways, to narrow it down, try clocking it with an external trigger to test it. and yes, it should switch sequential: 123412341234...

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
XCenter



Joined: Oct 01, 2005
Posts: 108
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

*TekniK
Those panels look fantastic. Shocked
I like the way you visually divided the sections with the lines. Reminds me to the TRON light cycle race Wink
Nice LED caps too and the logic pikto rounds up the overall professional look. Are they silkscreened?

_________________
--
How may I be of disservice?
---
Music for conscious listening @ http://www.frankmakowski.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks,no they are laser engraved,the logic pikto is a plain copy that matt drawed and is in his built notes of this module,a perfect xtra touch to fill up the space gap on that panel indeed.

The led caps are from 'Banzai effects' electronic parts online store
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 6 of 7 [170 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use