electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Waldorf
BLOFELD(DESKTOP) v1.13 + SAMPLE CONTENT V1.00
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [25 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
gomidas



Joined: Jul 09, 2004
Posts: 359
Location: La Ciotat, France
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 1:32 am    Post subject:  BLOFELD(DESKTOP) v1.13 + SAMPLE CONTENT V1.00
Subject description: License SL needed to play sound.
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

>>UPDATE TO v1.13 FIRST<< http://www.waldorfmusic.de/assets/files/products/blofeld/system/blofeld_v1_13.zip

then... Very Happy Blofeld Samples http://www.waldorfmusic.de/en/archive?relPath=/blofeld/tools

[EDIT]:License SL required to play samples

Last edited by gomidas on Fri Apr 24, 2009 1:25 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ooh nice!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Any idea how to get our own samples onto it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Looks like this http://www.waldorfmusic.de/assets/files/products/blofeld/tools/Spectre.zip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok samples loaded, new os. Can select samples as waveform but no output. Have you had any luck?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gomidas



Joined: Jul 09, 2004
Posts: 359
Location: La Ciotat, France
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

BobTheDog wrote:
Ok samples loaded, new os. Can select samples as waveform but no output. Have you had any luck?


NO, I did try a few thing but...it's not clear... Crying or Very sad

I guess we have to buy this: license SL sample upgrade -> available on thomann! http://www.thomann.de/de/waldorf_blofeld_license_sl_sample_upg.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Tue Apr 21, 2009 1:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The bit we are missing is probably the bit that you have to pay for!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
crofter



Joined: Apr 27, 2009
Posts: 10
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I did the firmware update, nice to see the wavetable names in the display, all I had before was "wavetable" and the number, I can't make head nor tail of the spectre application though I just get a dos window and then an error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ark



Joined: Mar 06, 2008
Posts: 676
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 31

PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you look here, you will see that Blofeld desktop modules from NovaMusik are now shipping with the sample memory expansion license at no extra charge.

I do not know what this says about the options available for people who bought the desktop version earlier. It may be that we've just effectively seen a significant price drop for new purchasers without a corresponding rebate for previous ones--which grates a bit even though I don't have one Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ark



Joined: Mar 06, 2008
Posts: 676
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 31

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ark wrote:
If you look here, you will see that Blofeld desktop modules from NovaMusik are now shipping with the sample memory expansion license at no extra charge.

It turns out that this is a NovaMusik promotional deal, not a Waldorf pricing decision. They claim it is made possible by favorable exchange rates at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DrJustice



Joined: Sep 13, 2004
Posts: 2048
Location: Morokulien
Audio files: 3

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

What is this business with the "License SL" option? I know that it's about enabling 60MB of sample memory, but a quick search didn't bring up any more real info. What exactly is it that needs a license, and what do you get for your EUR 100 (a dongle, a code or...)?

DJ
--
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ark



Joined: Mar 06, 2008
Posts: 676
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 31

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

DrJustice wrote:
What is this business with the "License SL" option? I know that it's about enabling 60MB of sample memory, but a quick search didn't bring up any more real info. What exactly is it that needs a license, and what do you get for your EUR 100 (a dongle, a code or...)?

I don't know, but it would be logical to have a code that you give to a server somewhere along with the serial number of your Blofeld, and it gives you back a magical unlock code that works only for that Blofeld (and thn disables the original code so you can't use it for different hardware).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well its here and yours for €95:

http://www.thomann.de/gb/waldorf_blofeld_license_sl_sample_upg.htm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zoomtheline



Joined: Oct 18, 2006
Posts: 19
Location: midlands

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Its just been delivered to work along with a new MFBstep64... hooray!
although i'm pretty annoyed as I'm at work and I thought that it wouldn't come today so left the blofeld at home.

means either going home to get it so I can try it out tonight or waiting till tomorrow and not having a chance to try it out till friday, damn!

It is a disc with an activation code which when put into a waldorf web address sends you out a licence key midi file which is loaded in the same way OS upgrades are... I assume.

Fuck it I'm going home to get old baldy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 2:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Keep us updated. Very interested in the ability to put your own samples on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zoomtheline



Joined: Oct 18, 2006
Posts: 19
Location: midlands

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

All installed ok and had a mess around last night.

Its fun! most of the samples are pretty good only problem is to get to get them sounding realistic when playing (if thats what you after) but thats more down to me not knowing good techniques to do so.

Its really good to be able to have a really messed up soundscape with a real piano sat in the middle which obviously can be messed up as any osc can be. although I was hoping that It would treat the sample more like a wavetable than an osc so you can scroll through the wave but no luck... oh well thats not the end of the world.

Loading own samples is not really clear to me yet as I didn't look at the manual or anything, but will look into that.

Piano does not seem amazing but I think a bit of tweaking and layering could make it sound more realistic.

Its definatley worth it to pay for the add on, I hope the loading own samples part is not to complex and software orientated as that is what will make this option completely amazing and worth it.

anyone got any tips or tecniques to make sampled strings/piano sound more realistic when playing on keys? (without getting a V synth)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GaryRea



Joined: Feb 22, 2009
Posts: 242
Location: Oklahoma City
Audio files: 3

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ernst Stavro Blofeld?! Wink

(gotta be a Bond fan to get this reference)

Gary

_________________
http://cdbaby.com/cd/garyrea
http://www.artistserver.com/gary_rea
http://mixcraftlive.com/members/385/
http://amiestreet.com/music/gary-rea/reinvention/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2240
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

BobTheDog wrote:
Any idea how to get our own samples onto it?


Bob do you know about the Waldorf Yahoo Groups list?
It's all blofeld now (has been since the last OS and sample capabilities came out) - especially

It's a great resource- even for the older Waldorf gear

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
egw



Joined: Feb 01, 2003
Posts: 1511
Location: Asheville NC
G2 patch files: 8

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

cappy2112 wrote:

Bob do you know about the Waldorf Yahoo Groups list?
It's all blofeld now (has been since the last OS and sample capabilities came out) - especially

It's a great resource- even for the older Waldorf gear


Can you post a link for the Waldorf group? Searching on "waldorf" just gives hundreds of groups about the Waldorf education system.

_________________
www.gregwaltzer.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2240
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

egw wrote:
cappy2112 wrote:

Bob do you know about the Waldorf Yahoo Groups list?
It's all blofeld now (has been since the last OS and sample capabilities came out) - especially

It's a great resource- even for the older Waldorf gear


Can you post a link for the Waldorf group? Searching on "waldorf" just gives hundreds of groups about the Waldorf education system.


That's odd-I didn't get notifiaction about your post, but I did about another message I posted yesterday. This happens a lot.

The Mail List mentioned in my post is a Yahoo Group. You''ll have to have a Yahoo mail account to join. If you really want to join that one, go to Yahoo Groups and search for Waldorf XT (I think). Yahoo's search engine is horrible.

However, it's not that active compaired to this list, which is also for waldorf gear.

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oldmanfury



Joined: Oct 20, 2006
Posts: 53
Location: CA

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

crofter wrote:
I did the firmware update, nice to see the wavetable names in the display, all I had before was "wavetable" and the number, I can't make head nor tail of the spectre application though I just get a dos window and then an error message.


I get the same behavior in windows vista 64. Have you figured out how to get spectre working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2240
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

oldmanfury wrote:
crofter wrote:
I did the firmware update, nice to see the wavetable names in the display, all I had before was "wavetable" and the number, I can't make head nor tail of the spectre application though I just get a dos window and then an error message.


I get the same behavior in windows vista 64. Have you figured out how to get spectre working?


Many people on the Waldorf List have had problems using Spectre, not to mention updating to OS1.13- you may want to subscribe to the list I posted in the previous message for help.

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oldmanfury



Joined: Oct 20, 2006
Posts: 53
Location: CA

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Many people on the Waldorf List have had problems using Spectre, not to mention updating to OS1.13- you may want to subscribe to the list I posted in the previous message for help.[/quote]

Yeah - I resubscribed to that list... problem is, it doesn't have a lovely searchable archive like e-m.com. I hate to ask questions that have been covered extensively.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2240
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2009 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

oldmanfury wrote:
problem is, it doesn't have a lovely searchable archive like e-m.com. I hate to ask questions that have been covered extensively.


Sure it does.

The link to the archives is on the same page as where you sign up Wink
http://www.waldorf-forum.com/pipermail/user-forum/

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oldmanfury



Joined: Oct 20, 2006
Posts: 53
Location: CA

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks! This was quite helpful. First, it helped me realize that the Spectre executable requires an input text file, and that the batch file covers this. I also figured out why the zip file didn't unzip everything right - there are a couple of "files" with names the same as the sample folders. Maybe a mac can handle this, but not a PC. Once I got the sample files (marimba and steel drum) unzipped into their respective directories, the batch file managed to create a .mid file... I suppose the bugger is working!

cappy2112 wrote:
oldmanfury wrote:
problem is, it doesn't have a lovely searchable archive like e-m.com. I hate to ask questions that have been covered extensively.


Sure it does.

The link to the archives is on the same page as where you sign up Wink
http://www.waldorf-forum.com/pipermail/user-forum/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [25 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Waldorf
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use