electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Rob Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » G2 FAQ
G2X as a VSTi Controller...but HOW?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [18 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
schrecks



Joined: May 27, 2009
Posts: 43
Location: berlin

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 11:12 am    Post subject: G2X as a VSTi Controller...but HOW? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello, Everybody!!! Very cool Forum for NordModular Lovers...and more!!

I hope that my 'simple' question has a 'simple' solution:

HOW can i control VSTi's, like REAKTOR, with the G2X knobs?..I've tried it out with the MIDI-Learn function from Reaktor, but nothing... Is there a simple way (i hope without connecting modules etc...unfortunally i'm not an expert..far away.. Sad ) to assign VSTi parameters to the Nord?..

A link to a Thread would be also fine!!

THANKS, for helping!!!


schrecks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schrecks



Joined: May 27, 2009
Posts: 43
Location: berlin

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

upssss...and maybe it's important to say, that i'm using Cubase SX3..(?)..

thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20615
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

welcome

You should set up the G2 to transmit MIDI from it's knobs, it doesn't do that by itself.

For this you'd insert a couple of constant modules into a patch, then right click on that constant module's knob and assign it to a physical front panel knob and to a MIDI controller. When you did that and you turn the physical knob the one in the patch will move and it will send out MIDI CC messages as well.

Next thing would be to make sure that you transmit and receive MIDI on the same MIDI channel.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
schrecks



Joined: May 27, 2009
Posts: 43
Location: berlin

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 3:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

WOOWWWWW!!!!!

THAT'S IT!!!!

THAT SIMPLE!!!

PERFECT!!!


IK DANK JE, BLUE HELL!!!!!!!! Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seraph
Editor
Editor


Joined: Jun 21, 2003
Posts: 12096
Location: Firenze, Italy
Audio files: 33
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 5:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.

Nosferatu

Quote:
Directed by F. W. Murnau
Produced by Enrico Dieckmann and Albin Grau
Written by Bram Stoker and Henrik Galeen
Starring Max Schreck

_________________
homepage - blog - forum - youtube

Quote:
Politics is the entertainment division of the military industrial complex - Frank Zappa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
schrecks



Joined: May 27, 2009
Posts: 43
Location: berlin

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 5:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

THE BIG ONE!!!

Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

schrecks wrote:
WOOWWWWW!!!!!

THAT'S IT!!!!

THAT SIMPLE!!!

PERFECT!!!


IK DANK JE, BLUE HELL!!!!!!!! Laughing


One thing to keep an eye outs is that you can overload the G2s midi sending if you use CC Send.

See http://electro-music.com/forum/topic-11943.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20615
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

schrecks wrote:
IK DANK JE, BLUE HELL!!!!!!!! Laughing


no problem Laughing

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
schrecks



Joined: May 27, 2009
Posts: 43
Location: berlin

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi, BobTheDog!

Thanks for the warning and for the Thread-link.
But one question:

If i only have a few 'Constant Modules' created in a new G2 Patch, and assign VSTi parameters to the unused CC#, is there also a risk to overwrite, (invisible??) CC#?

...sorry...but it's not really clear for me...your other thread is a little complex for me to understand, because i'm not an expert...just a curious and proud, G2X owner ready to learn the inside world of this fantastic, but complex world...


Edit: and my english is also not the best... sorry...Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20615
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

As long as you turn them knobs manually there should not be any overload.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
schrecks



Joined: May 27, 2009
Posts: 43
Location: berlin

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If this is the only precaution, that's Ok for me!

Thanks for helping!!! Wink




schrecks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:
As long as you turn them knobs manually there should not be any overload.


Hi Jan, do you remember it was a G2 bug with the number of linked CC Send modules in the patch rather than amount of midi messages sent.

If your using constant modules I suppose it isn't there anyway.

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20615
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 148
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes there was a max on the number of chained CC modules ... not sure if that is still valid for current OS versions. Anyway, I don't think this was related to MIDI overload.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BobTheDog



Joined: Feb 28, 2005
Posts: 3861
Location: England
Audio files: 32
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Maybe I used the wrong words Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2237
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu May 28, 2009 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

seraph wrote:


MY former-manager's last name is Schreck (not Max)......

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
schrecks



Joined: May 27, 2009
Posts: 43
Location: berlin

PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i'm matze schrecks...and big fan of max s.


maybe i'll post some question in the future!..i've been trying to understand sequencers modules(and..ufffff....you`re all crazy..!!! how could you understand the G2, more than your own existence??????!!!!), but for now, i will investigat the manual and the noodles-sequencers forums..



edit: i've been drinking more than i can...sorry for some orthographic errors...but maybe i can compose some surrealistic stuff...or maybe not--let see...


thanks all--!!


schrecks...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tabarn@kdeca.lis



Joined: Nov 23, 2009
Posts: 10
Location: Québec
G2 patch files: 4

PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Can anyone explain or post a link to a tutorial about setting up Ableton Live 8 to control the G2 four voices using automations.

Am I right I can have 4 instruments at once with the Nord Modular G2 keyboard 3 octave model?

Is it possible to control the 4 of them using Ableton Live with automated parameters in real time?

Ableton will receive midi signal as I can see yellow lights when I turn knobs. But I don`t know how to record them. A friend of mine told me Nuendo will automatically detect the related CC# when turning the knob of a Virus, but it does not seem to be the same with my G2.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tabarn@kdeca.lis



Joined: Nov 23, 2009
Posts: 10
Location: Québec
G2 patch files: 4

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There I go :

Hi Laurent,

you can send MIDI CCs from clip envelopes. Just open the envelope editor of a MIDI clip (by enabling the small round "E" button underneath the "CLIP" box) and select "MIDI CTRL" in the first chooser. Then select the desired CC number in the 2nd chooser underneath. If you send the MIDI data of that clip to your G2 and assign a CC number in the G2's patch editor, it should automate the assigned parameter.

You can also record the knob movements into the MIDI clip. The recorded CC data will appear in the aforementioned envelope editor.

Let me know if you have any further questions.

Best regards,

Nico Starke
Ableton Technical Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [18 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » G2 FAQ
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use