electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Windows as a music workstation
Operating System Not Found
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Blue Hell
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2191
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 10:37 pm    Post subject: Operating System Not Found Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Does anyone know (without speculating) where the infamous
"Operating System Not Found" message comes from?

Is it coming from the BIOS or the early stages of loading the OS (before the splash screen is visible?

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4748
Location: Nambucca Heads, Australia
Audio files: 51
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

It comes from the BIOS, when the BIOS can't find an operating system on any of the assigned boot devices.
Check the boot priority in the BIOS and make sure the drive you want to boot from is recognised and in the queue.

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2191
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Uncle Krunkus wrote:
It comes from the BIOS, when the BIOS can't find an operating system on any of the assigned boot devices.
Check the boot priority in the BIOS and make sure the drive you want to boot from is recognised and in the queue.


Thanks.

This is an intermittent problem. W are trying to understand what the host is doing when it reports that it can't find the OS.


I've also seen "Bootable device not found" on the same machine, but don't understand what makes one message appear over the other.
I've got a bus analyzer connected to the boot drive trying to view the command sequence, but the anaylzer's buffer is being overwritten by low-level signalling information (which we do need to some extent), before we can see the command sequence.

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jksuperstar



Joined: Aug 20, 2004
Posts: 2478
Location: Denver
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 18

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Bootable device not found is usually a problem with the chipset not finding a device with the master boot record. When I've seen this in the past, and it was also intermittent, the battery was going on the motherboard. Try resetting your BIOS, and check the battery (if possible). I've seen as the battery goes low, the BIOS settings stored become corrupt. (I never actually had a way to prove that, but new battery + clearing/resetting the bios solved my problem both times).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2191
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

jksuperstar wrote:
Bootable device not found is usually a problem with the chipset not finding a device with the master boot record. When I've seen this in the past, and it was also intermittent, the battery was going on the motherboard. Try resetting your BIOS, and check the battery (if possible). I've seen as the battery goes low, the BIOS settings stored become corrupt. (I never actually had a way to prove that, but new battery + clearing/resetting the bios solved my problem both times).


Could one assume "a problem with the chipset not finding a device with the master boot record" would be the cause for "Operating System Not Found" as well?

I suppose if the host can't communicate with the boot drive, all sorts of messages would result, but I'm curious to know how the host differentiates between these situations. I know the boot record is valid, because I can always boot from it if I pwoer cycle the system.

I will see if I can get to the battery. Given that it's a laptop that may not be easy to get to.

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EdisonRex
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 07, 2007
Posts: 4501
Location: London, UK
Audio files: 169

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If this is indeed a laptop, then I'd wager that it is the CMOS battery dying that is the real problem. What kind of laptop is it? Most fairly modern laptops (last 5-6 years anyway) have accessable batteries, either behind a small panel or under the keyboard or something like that.
_________________
Garret: It's so retro.
EGM: What does retro mean to you?
Parker: Like, old and outdated.


Home,My Studio,and another view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2191
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

EdisonRex wrote:
If this is indeed a laptop, then I'd wager that it is the CMOS battery dying that is the real problem. What kind of laptop is it? Most fairly modern laptops (last 5-6 years anyway) have accessable batteries, either behind a small panel or under the keyboard or something like that.


a Sony Vaiao- it's oinly 2-3 years old, but I'll check the battery anyway

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2191
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

EdisonRex wrote:
If this is indeed a laptop, then I'd wager that it is the CMOS battery dying that is the real problem. What kind of laptop is it? Most fairly modern laptops (last 5-6 years anyway) have accessable batteries, either behind a small panel or under the keyboard or something like that.


If the laptop is plugged into the power supply, wouldn't the that essentially disconnect (or override) the CMOS battery, until the system was unplugged?

I was under the impression the CMOS setup info only used the CMOS battery when a system was unplugged or in a no power state.

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ark



Joined: Mar 06, 2008
Posts: 676
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 31

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I've also seen it when I inadvertently left an audio CD in the drive of a machine that included that drive in its boot sequence Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
EdisonRex
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 07, 2007
Posts: 4501
Location: London, UK
Audio files: 169

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

cappy2112 wrote:
EdisonRex wrote:
If this is indeed a laptop, then I'd wager that it is the CMOS battery dying that is the real problem. What kind of laptop is it? Most fairly modern laptops (last 5-6 years anyway) have accessable batteries, either behind a small panel or under the keyboard or something like that.


If the laptop is plugged into the power supply, wouldn't the that essentially disconnect (or override) the CMOS battery, until the system was unplugged?

I was under the impression the CMOS setup info only used the CMOS battery when a system was unplugged or in a no power state.


My understanding is the battery drains in any case. I've had laptops which died this way (Sony ones, for sure), even with a charged NiMH the CMOS battery went. It should be easy enough to check with a voltmeter, in any case.

Regardless, going into CMOS setup and checking the system clock time, boot order and known devices will tell you if the CMOS is corrupted.

_________________
Garret: It's so retro.
EGM: What does retro mean to you?
Parker: Like, old and outdated.


Home,My Studio,and another view
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4748
Location: Nambucca Heads, Australia
Audio files: 51
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

A CMOS battery will go dead in a desktop, with the same results. So, AFAIK, the CMOS backup has nothing to do with whether power is disconnected or not.
Actually, I've never seen anything but Lithium used for CMOS backup, which are not rechargeable either.

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Blue Hell
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Windows as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
AmbiphonicDSP

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use