electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » YuSynth
Random/Noise silkscreen inconsistency?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
reve



Joined: Feb 23, 2008
Posts: 147
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:19 pm    Post subject: Random/Noise silkscreen inconsistency? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi everyone!

So thanks to our hardworking pals over at the bridechamber, I started populating a YuSynth Random module this evening. At some point I noticed that the silkscreen specifies an 8.6k resistor instead of an 8.2k resistor for R26. And then I noticed that TL074 is screened where the 324 op amp is on Yves' page.

That made me start to wonder if the 8.6k resistor was an intentional change to compensate for the IC substitution? At the end of the day, I guess an 8.2k resistor is sort of like a very deviant 8.6k carbon film resistor, but if someone who knows could chime in I'd be superthrilled. Smile

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slacker



Joined: Nov 18, 2007
Posts: 301
Location: England
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Using an 8.6k instead of 8,2k won't make any noticeable difference. It just means U3a will have slightly less gain, the gain is R27 divided by R26, which is 57 with the standard values and 54 if you use 8.6k.
On the YuSynth schematic it says you might want to alter the value of R27 to get the best noise level so if you're doing that having a slightly different value for R26 won't matter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1219
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Either a TL074 or a LM324 may be used for that part of the circuit since OPAmp noise is not a problem in a NOISE generator circuit Wink

Concerning the discrepancy for R26 this won't make any difference and is just a silk-screen typo, the correct value is 8.2K .
slacker is correct with his interpretation. Cool

_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
reve



Joined: Feb 23, 2008
Posts: 147
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2009 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Awesome -- thanks guys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » YuSynth
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use