electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
8-Step Sequencer with voltage controllable pattern (VCPS)
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 10 of 14 [328 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
brother303



Joined: Nov 02, 2010
Posts: 139
Location: ruhr-area/germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi Fonik,

hey,first post... Very Happy

I´m a few wires away from finishing my sequencer,but there is one question.

In your building instructions there are 2 cv-outs. One on W1 (processed cv-out) and one on the gate/trigger/cv-jumper.

What`s the difference between those two outs? Is the processed-cv out on W1 only an optional thing?

Thanks for this cool project and best regards
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3950
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 2:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

brother303 wrote:
Hi Fonik,

hey,first post... Very Happy

I´m a few wires away from finishing my sequencer,but there is one question.

In your building instructions there are 2 cv-outs. One on W1 (processed cv-out) and one on the gate/trigger/cv-jumper.

What`s the difference between those two outs? Is the processed-cv out on W1 only an optional thing?

Thanks for this cool project and best regards
Greg

hi greg,

the CV on th the W1 pad is optional. it is just the output of the CV processor in front of the ADC.
it might be that you don't use the sequencer, or you use it without the ADC, but with the switches only. then you could still use the CV conditioner/processor for other tasks independently (attenuation, adding offset) from W1.

hope that helps.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
Big Boss at fonitronik
Tech Budday at Random*Source
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
brother303



Joined: Nov 02, 2010
Posts: 139
Location: ruhr-area/germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

fonik wrote:
hope that helps.


Yes,it did! Wink

Thanks for support.

Regards
Greg

beer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 1015
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi, what type of caps are recommended for the 100nF? Obviously I'd rather go through my ceramics before eating into my collection of audio grade caps Wink
_________________
LektroiD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3950
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i always use just ceramic for these decoupling caps.
_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
Big Boss at fonitronik
Tech Budday at Random*Source
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 1015
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:
i always use just ceramic for these decoupling caps.


are all 21 decoupling caps, or should certain ones be higher grade?

_________________
LektroiD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Skrog Productions



Joined: Jan 07, 2009
Posts: 1101
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 138

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

To the left hand side of the 2 circuit diagrams on the documentation of the vcps-8 , there are some layouts of caps only with i/c numbers & relevant power rail , these caps denote decoupling & power clean up duties, all the caps you see there are fine with ceramic multi-layer or yv5 rough tollerance caps & where showen electrolytics , caps of the same value that are showen in the actual device circuit diagram should been better tollerance like polyester / mylar / etc.

What i do is , mark off with a flourescent marker pen those clean up caps as i put them in first , once the decouple's are all done the remainder of that value (if any) would be polyester box caps.

_________________
epicyclus@skrogmusic.plus.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oldmanfury



Joined: Oct 20, 2006
Posts: 57
Location: CA

PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

New video of the VCPS in action.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DKQk68Ipz3I

-gerald
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3950
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

dancing
amazing build and application, man!

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
Big Boss at fonitronik
Tech Budday at Random*Source
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Adam-V



Joined: Jan 29, 2007
Posts: 300
Location: Australia
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Are boards for this still available Matthias?

Cheers,
Adam-V

_________________
Digitalis Effect | Fractured Symmetry (www.spiralsect.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3950
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

there are still a very few PCBs left...
_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
Big Boss at fonitronik
Tech Budday at Random*Source
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Adam-V



Joined: Jan 29, 2007
Posts: 300
Location: Australia
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Brilliant, I'll take 2 please.

I'll continue this via PM.

Cheers,
Adam-V.

_________________
Digitalis Effect | Fractured Symmetry (www.spiralsect.com)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rvlt



Joined: Mar 05, 2008
Posts: 32
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:57 pm    Post subject:
Subject description: another batch? spare pcb?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hi everyone,

it seems that all pcbs are sold by now Sad , so if there will be another batch in the near future i would take one (or two)

OR

(just in case): if anyone has a spare pcb to sell, please pm me. i would definitely buy it.


ok, best regards,
lars
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1059

PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have several pcb's for sale:

http://electro-music.com/forum/post-318951.html#318951
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djg



Joined: Nov 10, 2010
Posts: 12
Location: New York

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

To clear up some confusion, when using an LM324 for the buffers, if the RA resistors are changed to 10K, would any change be needed for the RB values?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3950
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

djg wrote:
To clear up some confusion, when using an LM324 for the buffers, if the RA resistors are changed to 10K, would any change be needed for the RB values?

no. the changed ratio of RA/RB sets the gain.

according BOM the RA resistors are 20k, the RB resistors are 10k. this would give you a gain of 1+(20/10)=3. since the ADC delivers 5V you will have a range of 15max. however, a TL074 wii not go that high. it will stop at 12.5V when powered by 15V. using a LM324 would help then, due to the fact that this opamp swings almost to the rails.
so if you use 10k for the RA resistors a TL074 is sufficient.
for a range of 5V you would simply leave off the RB resistors and use a bridge for the RA resistors...
in other words: decide wich output range you prefer (i set mine as high as possible and use an attenuator at the output instead), and then choose the opamp.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
Big Boss at fonitronik
Tech Budday at Random*Source
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
arnoid



Joined: Aug 23, 2009
Posts: 57
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Does somebody still have a blank pcb left that he wants to sell ?

If so plz contact me thru PM.

_________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/arnoid
http://www.facebook.com/arnoid
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3950
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

two fellows have had some issues when using certain PSUs. the ADC won't start conversion sometimes, when powering up the module.

here is a little "ignition system"-circuit, that should help. it is a automatic start switch for the ADC, and seems to work fine (however, i had no opportunity to test it with my units, since they start and run quite fine).

Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.

explanation: the rising edge from the 5V rail when powering up the module is converted to a short pulse. the pulse controls a transistor to momentarily short pins 3 & 5 of the ADC to GND.

i will incorporate this info in the documentation soon.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
Big Boss at fonitronik
Tech Budday at Random*Source
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
patchdub



Joined: Jan 21, 2009
Posts: 56
Location: Taos, NM

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 2:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hi folks! i'm about to make a mouse order but i can't find the 7805 or 100uf. anybody know the numbers for these? that would be much appreciated!

thanks!

_________________
www.patchdub.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3950
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

patchdub wrote:
hi folks! i'm about to make a mouse order but i can't find the 7805 or 100uf. anybody know the numbers for these? that would be much appreciated!

thanks!

512-LM7805CT
647-UVR1J101MPD1TD

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
Big Boss at fonitronik
Tech Budday at Random*Source
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
patchdub



Joined: Jan 21, 2009
Posts: 56
Location: Taos, NM

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

thanks matthias!

the 512-LM7805CT is on backorder will the LM78L05ACZXA work?

_________________
www.patchdub.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3950
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

patchdub wrote:
thanks matthias!

the 512-LM7805CT is on backorder will the LM78L05ACZXA work?


yes. it draws much less than 100mA. i used a 78L05 on my 1U/19'' unit...
http://www.flickr.com/photos/fonik/4462779509/in/set-72157623480703851/

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
Big Boss at fonitronik
Tech Budday at Random*Source
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
patchdub



Joined: Jan 21, 2009
Posts: 56
Location: Taos, NM

PostPosted: Sat Jan 29, 2011 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

thanks! excellent build!
_________________
www.patchdub.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
emdot_ambient



Joined: Nov 22, 2009
Posts: 667
Location: Frederick, MD

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Nowhere close to actually completing the build on this, but I think I've finalized my design.

2U high 19" wide panel, includes the Barton Music Circuits Simple Quantizer.

All the knobs are going to be 0.5" dia. aluminum (Mouser Part), which will match the knobs being used throughout my first 2 cases.

The drill holes for the Clock and Reset switches aren't the actual size on that rendering, as I haven't yet decided which switches to use.


2U_Dual_Fonik_VCPS8.png
 Description:
Dual VCPS8 w/simple quantizer
 Filesize:  81.73 KB
 Viewed:  233 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

2U_Dual_Fonik_VCPS8.png



_________________
Looking for a certain ratio since 1978
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
patchdub



Joined: Jan 21, 2009
Posts: 56
Location: Taos, NM

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

emdot_ambient wrote:
Nowhere close to actually completing the build on this, but I think I've finalized my design.

2U high 19" wide panel, includes the Barton Music Circuits Simple Quantizer.



that will look sweet next to your m-185 panel!

_________________
www.patchdub.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 10 of 14 [328 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use