electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Rob Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Windows as a music workstation
making loops
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Blue Hell
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
egw



Joined: Feb 01, 2003
Posts: 1511
Location: Asheville NC
G2 patch files: 8

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 3:25 pm    Post subject: making loops Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is there any good free software for making loops?
_________________
www.gregwaltzer.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sam_Zen



Joined: Mar 08, 2008
Posts: 251
Location: NL

PostPosted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 11:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

For making or for playing ?
I noticed Audacity on your links page, so I suppose you know how to edit a soundtrack.

_________________
0.618033988
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
egw



Joined: Feb 01, 2003
Posts: 1511
Location: Asheville NC
G2 patch files: 8

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

For making loops. I will use the SP-404sx to play them.
I'm using Audacity now, but it doesn't do things like allow you to continuosly preview the loop while adjusting start/endpoints, easily insert a crossfade at the loop point, timestretch, etc. Haven't tried Reaper for this yet, maybe it will be better?

_________________
www.gregwaltzer.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Sam_Zen



Joined: Mar 08, 2008
Posts: 251
Location: NL

PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I don't know Reaper. Looks sophisticated, but not quite intuitive imo.

I know that Audition (Cool Edit Pro) has an option to detect 'beats' to create loop points, but that's still rough.
It also has a detection for points of zero crossing, an aspect which is very important for start/endpoints of loops.

To play loops you can find a nice utility by Caramel Thyme : Tapeloops

_________________
0.618033988
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3688
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 267
G2 patch files: 96

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The budget version of Ableton Live used to be included in a fair amount of hardware packages - I got mine together with an M-Audio USB audio interface. Maybe it could be worth checking if you're entitled to it via some piece you already own? Live is great for loops, IMO.

/Stefan

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
shanemorris
Stream Operator


Joined: Sep 07, 2008
Posts: 1933
Location: dreamtime
Audio files: 83

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Antimon wrote:
The budget version of Ableton Live used to be included in a fair amount of hardware packages - I got mine together with an M-Audio USB audio interface. Maybe it could be worth checking if you're entitled to it via some piece you already own? Live is great for loops, IMO.

/Stefan


I almost suggested this yesterday as well ... but I got the free Ableton Live lite 6 with a m-audio controller i bought. I started using it to begin the learning curve with the software (of which Im still intermittently working out).

I was also going to suggest Reaper too... of which I just recently started using as well. Its free to download and use but eventually it is a $60 purchase fee. I love Reaper so far and have found it very intuitive and easy to use with lots of support.

_________________
ElectroCasa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Roland Kuit



Joined: Sep 29, 2003
Posts: 1091
Location: The Netherlands/Sweden
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 127

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

(sony)sound forge,
besides a recording program, it can audio edit/restore as well. and there is the option to make perfect loops(acid). you can send them by midi to your sampler.
for just making loops, live is perfect. under preferences(file folder) you can send your samples to your selected audio edit program.
also, you can put vst fx in your vst folder of live for nice after fx.
oops, you said free, audiacity is ok.
mobius too.

_________________
Roland Kuit
----------------------------
composer|research|synthesis|sound design|lecturer
http://rolandkuit.com/

Last edited by Roland Kuit on Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:52 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
kkissinger



Joined: Mar 28, 2006
Posts: 1214
Location: Kansas City, Mo USA
Audio files: 29

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:49 am    Post subject: Mobius Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Without a doubt one of the most powerful loopers is Mobius. It runs on Windows and is free. It imitates much of the functionality of the legendary Echoplex Digital Pro (EDP). Unlike the EDP, Mobius supports stereo loops.

http://www.circularlabs.com/

_________________
-- Kevin
http://kevinkissinger.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Roland Kuit



Joined: Sep 29, 2003
Posts: 1091
Location: The Netherlands/Sweden
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 127

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2009 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

wow kevin. nice gear Very Happy

an other way to make loops is having one or two studer tape machines Wink

_________________
Roland Kuit
----------------------------
composer|research|synthesis|sound design|lecturer
http://rolandkuit.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2216
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:16 pm    Post subject: Re: making loops Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

egw wrote:
Is there any good free software for making loops?


http://www.electro-music.com/forum/topic-23054.html

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Blue Hell
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Windows as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use