electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
<on air> PHANToS presents: Ghouls & Ghosts (various EM Halloween performances from previous years)
  PHANToS presents: The Monstrous Modulator (Modulator ESP's 2010/2011 halloween performances mix)
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
G2 price
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
norm



Joined: Mar 11, 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:42 pm    Post subject: G2 price Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi, I am living in Vancouver and I am very interested in Nord G2 Very Happy so I wondering where is the best place that I can get G2 for the good price here. I just check the price with Tom Lee, it s 2,975 CAN(+tax)!! Mad is this price is normal? please suggest me which way is the best way to get this synth.

thanks Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Qualium



Joined: Oct 19, 2004
Posts: 33
Location: Australia
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Well, that's only if you go for the keyboard version. I (and many others) have gone for the G2 Engine - just the guts without knobs, keys, or the other bells and whistles. It's less than half the price, and does everything the keyboard version does as long as you have something to control it (I've got Logic and a Behringer BCR2000). Perfect for a studio guy like myself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AngusHastie



Joined: Aug 04, 2004
Posts: 136
Location: London, England
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Personally, I recommend going for the keyboard version if you can spare the cash. I have found its editing capabilities invaluable for making quick adjustments to sounds or quickly constructing performances in band rehearsals when you don't have time to be faffing around with a computer.
Have you tried filling your bathtub up with crude oil and waiting for the price to continue rising?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
norm



Joined: Mar 11, 2004
Posts: 18
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes, I like the Keyboard version. I don t have any controller as well. I have only vintage synths without MIDI that why I wanna get this synth for my studio and my live setup. By the way I found some place the price s just 1,579 $us but they re not shiping here. I wondering why the price is so different in here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Afro88



Joined: Jun 20, 2004
Posts: 701
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Audio files: 12
G2 patch files: 79

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Have a look on ebay, there are a few for around US$1600. Although most only ship to the US, If you email the seller they might send it to Canada (worked for me once before). You might have to pay alot of import tax though...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lamarcph



Joined: Oct 21, 2004
Posts: 40
Location: Montreal, Canada
G2 patch files: 4

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 8:41 am    Post subject: No trade agreement between Canada and Sweden. Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There is apparently a duty fee for importing Clavia instrument in Canada. I will receive mine today (used) and I will have to pay taxes and duty. That's probably why it's so expensive in Canada. There is (apparently) no free exchange agreement between Canada and Sweden, so even if I buy it used from US, I have to pay a duty fee.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Afro88



Joined: Jun 20, 2004
Posts: 701
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Audio files: 12
G2 patch files: 79

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ahhh, true. Some of those ebay prices are pretty damn cheap for the key version, like only AU$300-$400 more than I paid for my engine! I take it there is no such agreement with Australia and Sweden either... it's a pity, I wouldn't mind upgrading to the keyboard version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
lamarcph



Joined: Oct 21, 2004
Posts: 40
Location: Montreal, Canada
G2 patch files: 4

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 6:13 am    Post subject: Duty fee Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The duty fee was 6%, so it's not that bad.

However, I still had to pay for shipping, custom agents, taxes and everything so it adds up, but over and all it was worth it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lordcasio



Joined: Sep 09, 2004
Posts: 12
Location: new york city

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 8:01 am    Post subject: G2 Rack for $798 US to tax+free shipping Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I got my G2 rack from a place in Florida (link at the bottom) for $798. They quit advertising it at that price, but maybe you could say "a friend" got one for that price and see if they'd be willing to hook you up. I think Clavia has a distributor inn Florida or something. As far as getting it to Canada....ship it to a pal (that you REALLY trust) in the states and ask him to ship it to you...as a "gift" (wink, wink).

You won't miss the keyboard. You just have to spend a little time setting up a MIDI controller. Trust me...if you're shaving nearly a grand off the over head, you can spend a little time doing boring set up stuff. Besides, the rack is TINY!!!. Its like 4" deep. I'm finding that having my G2 rack hooked to a laptop is more important than having all the keyboard knobs. But I suppose that could just be me. I don't know what it is you're trying to do.

http://www.floridamusicco.com
sales@floridamusicco.com

:::lordCHEAPSKATE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use