electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
Voltage Controlled OpAmp RingMod (Modulator)
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 6 of 9 [209 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hi folks,

i just wanted to let you all know that i did not ship any PCBs yet. it is just because i have been occupied by my daily job last week. nevertheless all your payments have been received thankfully. you e-m forum members show a valuable discipline and responsibility.
i will ship the PCBs this week and will inform you on that via paypal.
thank you.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
mono-poly



Joined: Jul 07, 2004
Posts: 935
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:
mono-poly wrote:
Is this also coming as an euro module?


look this:
VC Modulator


Love a few of those Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lbarros



Joined: Oct 27, 2010
Posts: 4
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

well,one for me too please.

Thanks Matthias.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
valis



Joined: Sep 16, 2008
Posts: 121
Location: Oregon, USA
Audio files: 6

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

This sounds like a fun and easy project. If you have any pcbs left please let me know as I'd like one. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Documentation
VCRingMod building docs

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
rosch



Joined: Oct 03, 2009
Posts: 162
Location: germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

mine arrived today! thank you very much!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
numbertalk



Joined: May 05, 2008
Posts: 980
Location: Austin, TX
Audio files: 5

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:
Documentation
VCRingMod building docs


Hi Matthias,

How do you properly adjust the 2 trimmers? It looks like they're for minimizing the offset of the OTAs, right? What is the proper procedure though - feeding an LFO into the mod input, looking at the test point with a scope and adjusting the trimmer until the bleedthrough of the LFO signal is minimized there?

Very much looking forward to getting my board, thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
e-grad



Joined: Sep 12, 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Just have received mine. It's tiny! Shocked

Thanks! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

numbertalk wrote:
How do you properly adjust the 2 trimmers? It looks like they're for minimizing the offset of the OTAs, right? What is the proper procedure though - feeding an LFO into the mod input, looking at the test point with a scope and adjusting the trimmer until the bleedthrough of the LFO signal is minimized there?

almost.
feed the input with an audio sine, and look at the testpoint to get the shape of the sine corrected.
i will look deeper into this on the weekend to come up with a good procedure, that could be implemented to the documentation then...

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
emdot_ambient



Joined: Nov 22, 2009
Posts: 669
Location: Frederick, MD

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:
...feed the input with an audio sine...

I just read a post from someone in an old thread complaining about how most VCOs these days don't include sine waves.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
valis



Joined: Sep 16, 2008
Posts: 121
Location: Oregon, USA
Audio files: 6

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sorry if I'm a little dense but are these pcbs through-hole or SMT?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
e-grad



Joined: Sep 12, 2008
Posts: 142
Location: Berlin

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Through hole no SMT parts involved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
valis



Joined: Sep 16, 2008
Posts: 121
Location: Oregon, USA
Audio files: 6

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a100user



Joined: Oct 28, 2003
Posts: 147
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi Matthias

Are you likely to be producing Euro front panels for this module?

Thanks

David

Last edited by a100user on Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:49 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm now wondering how to do a 5U for this, If I do standard MOTM 1U, I'll have nowhere to put the extra socket, and it seems a little wasteful to use a 2U panel just to accommodate 1 extra socket. I may have to use smaller rotary knobs and place the sockets next to each of those

Any other 5U guys out there building this?

_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

a100user wrote:
Hi Matthias

Are you likely to be producing Euro front panels for this module?

Thanks

David

actually not.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
a100user



Joined: Oct 28, 2003
Posts: 147
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

OK thanks Matthias

David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
magman



Joined: Feb 04, 2009
Posts: 361
Location: Liverpool, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

LektroiD wrote:
I'm now wondering how to do a 5U for this, If I do standard MOTM 1U, I'll have nowhere to put the extra socket, and it seems a little wasteful to use a 2U panel just to accommodate 1 extra socket. I may have to use smaller rotary knobs and place the sockets next to each of those

Any other 5U guys out there building this?


I've got 2 on the way, so I'm planning to squeeze 2 rows of 5 sockets on a 2U panel (You can just get away with this using Switchcraft jacks) for the both of them on one panel.

Regards

Magman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TekniK



Joined: Aug 10, 2008
Posts: 1062

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

recieved mine,realy cute pcb's

10x Matt!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
numbertalk



Joined: May 05, 2008
Posts: 980
Location: Austin, TX
Audio files: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 8:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks!

fonik wrote:
numbertalk wrote:
How do you properly adjust the 2 trimmers? It looks like they're for minimizing the offset of the OTAs, right? What is the proper procedure though - feeding an LFO into the mod input, looking at the test point with a scope and adjusting the trimmer until the bleedthrough of the LFO signal is minimized there?

almost.
feed the input with an audio sine, and look at the testpoint to get the shape of the sine corrected.
i will look deeper into this on the weekend to come up with a good procedure, that could be implemented to the documentation then...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

magman wrote:
LektroiD wrote:
I'm now wondering how to do a 5U for this, If I do standard MOTM 1U, I'll have nowhere to put the extra socket, and it seems a little wasteful to use a 2U panel just to accommodate 1 extra socket. I may have to use smaller rotary knobs and place the sockets next to each of those

Any other 5U guys out there building this?


I've got 2 on the way, so I'm planning to squeeze 2 rows of 5 sockets on a 2U panel (You can just get away with this using Switchcraft jacks) for the both of them on one panel.

Regards

Magman


Pretty much what I started planning (interestingly before even reading this), although I chose smaller knobs for this, as you will see in my example (even though I have not yet received the boards yet).


panel.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  154.18 KB
 Viewed:  77 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

panel.jpg



_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
magman



Joined: Feb 04, 2009
Posts: 361
Location: Liverpool, UK

PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2010 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Here's a first pass MOTM 2U Panel.

Regards

Magman


Ringmod 2U MOTM Panel.PDF
 Description:
2U MOTM Panel in PDF Format

Download
 Filename:  Ringmod 2U MOTM Panel.PDF
 Filesize:  176.67 KB
 Downloaded:  101 Time(s)


Fonik 2U Ringmod.fpd
 Description:
2U MOTM Panel in FPD Format

Download
 Filename:  Fonik 2U Ringmod.fpd
 Filesize:  2.79 KB
 Downloaded:  66 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 7:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Boards arrived! Thanks Fonik.

Just wondering if there would be much degradation in sound if I used ceramic caps for C3, C4, C5, C6, C7, C8? Just that I've run out of 100n poly caps..

_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fonik



Joined: Jun 07, 2006
Posts: 3759
Location: Germany
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

LektroiD wrote:
Just wondering if there would be much degradation in sound if I used ceramic caps for C3, C4, C5, C6, C7, C8? Just that I've run out of 100n poly caps..

no. these are not part of the actual signal path, but just used to decouple the ICs from the power rails.

_________________
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
cheers,
matthias
____________
fonitronik at
FlickR (pix) / SoundCloud (sounds) / YouTube (vids) / Vimeo (vids) / facebook (news)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
LektroiD



Joined: Aug 23, 2008
Posts: 977
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sat Oct 30, 2010 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

fonik wrote:
LektroiD wrote:
Just wondering if there would be much degradation in sound if I used ceramic caps for C3, C4, C5, C6, C7, C8? Just that I've run out of 100n poly caps..

no. these are not part of the actual signal path, but just used to decouple the ICs from the power rails.


It's ok, I used ceramics at the PSU stage, and I found a couple of polyester film capacitors for the rest of the circuit. I didn't realise they were decoupling caps at the time, as I only just got your reply, and was impatient to build this, or I'd have just used ceramics throughout. Oh well, they're built now (not tested yet though).

_________________
My tunes available here
(check out the new Electro-Funk LP)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: fonik
Page 6 of 9 [209 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » fonik's place
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use