electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Building The Appendage. Share your Experiences
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 5 [116 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Sound



Joined: Jun 06, 2006
Posts: 842

Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:15 am    Post subject:  Building The Appendage. Share your Experiences
Subject description: A place to ask questions or just show off
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello I open this thread for share the building process of our appendages.

So ill start with a question... Laughing

I would like to add a switch in the front panel for length ribbon selection. I mean instead the internal jumper JMP1.
In order to use different ribbons.
Looking at the schematics -page D-2- I wonder if VR12 trimmer resistor should be adjusted depending on the ribbon length. I mean if a ribbon of for example 50cm will need same VR12 adjustment than other ribbon, say 100cm.

Anyone?

Last edited by Sound on Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:20 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4748
Location: Nambucca Heads, Australia
Audio files: 51
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The whole setup and calibration would need to be re-done for a different ribbon. AFAIK.
_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Funky40



Joined: Sep 24, 2005
Posts: 875
Location: Swiss
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 5

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Uncle Krunkus wrote:
The whole setup and calibration would need to be re-done for a different ribbon. AFAIK.

how much trimmers to set up ?
if not too much one could bring them to the frontpanel.

i also like to connect the appendige to ribbons from differenth lenght
( have not studied any docs yet )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
State Machine
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 2728
Location: New York
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Funky

Andy is correct. There would be several trimmers that would need to be adjusted to account for the different ribbon lengths and thus resistance. It would not be a matter of just bringing out the trimmers to a front panel but also several "test points" to measure voltages. Although the Appendage has a vast amount of strong attributes, this is one of it's weaknesses, the lack of having a ribbon "length" selection that would NOT require any recalibration. So, it's the 500 mm ribbon, or a smaller one, exclusively.

Hmmm, maybe version 2.0 will have an autocalibrate function. Wink

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
State Machine
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 2728
Location: New York
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey Funky, I would like to make this topic Sticky and rename it:

SUBJECT: "APPENDAGE BUILDS, Share your Experiences" ....
SUBJECT DESCRIPTION: "A place to ask questions or just show off"

OK to do that?

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sound



Joined: Jun 06, 2006
Posts: 842

Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

State Machine wrote:
Hey Funky, I would like to make this topic Sticky and rename it:

SUBJECT: "APPENDAGE BUILDS, Share your Experiences" ....
SUBJECT DESCRIPTION: "A place to ask questions or just show off"

OK to do that?

Bill

Done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sound



Joined: Jun 06, 2006
Posts: 842

Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Uncle Krunkus wrote:
The whole setup and calibration would need to be re-done for a different ribbon. AFAIK.

Thanks Uncle.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
State Machine
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 2728
Location: New York
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
Done.


Awesome !

Thanks
Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Danno Gee Ray



Joined: Sep 25, 2005
Posts: 1341
Location: Telford, PA USA

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Nothing beats having a Sticky Appendage......thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_olson



Joined: Oct 26, 2006
Posts: 177
Location: Lawrence, Kansas

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Danno Gee Ray wrote:
a Sticky Appendage......


Agreed. But I think it isn't actually yet. We need to flag down one of the mods.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
State Machine
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 2728
Location: New York
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
Agreed. But I think it isn't actually yet. We need to flag down one of the mods.


OK, I just made it stick ..... lol ... now we can truly say the Appendage is sticky !!
Laughing

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sound



Joined: Jun 06, 2006
Posts: 842

Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello , working around the idea attached, 1U rack.

How do you see it? Any opinion will be welcome.

About the INPUT MODE switch, I would like to know if it affects to both, the ribbon input and sample input, or only to the sample input?


101.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  86.17 KB
 Viewed:  358 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

101.JPG


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
State Machine
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 2728
Location: New York
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
About the INPUT MODE switch, I would like to know if it affects to both, the ribbon input and sample input, or only to the sample input?


The "INPUT MODE" only applies to an INPUT "SAMPLE". The "UNIVERSAL" processes external inputs that change smoothly. The "STEPPED" input processing is good for, well, stepped inputs like those from external CV keyboards like my IKC or ones from Doepfer, MOOG, etc ...

This is reason why I designed the graphics on my panel to indicate the "INPUT MODE" function is exclusive to the "SAMPLE" inputs by drawing a line between them.

Hope this helps Sound Very Happy

The panel looks nice and compact, nice job so far man !

Bill


sample_mode.JPG
 Description:
 Filesize:  38.61 KB
 Viewed:  15205 Time(s)

sample_mode.JPG


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sound



Joined: Jun 06, 2006
Posts: 842

Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Bill this helps a lot, Ill modify a little the design accordingly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oldmanfury



Joined: Oct 20, 2006
Posts: 53
Location: CA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2010 5:36 pm    Post subject: my panel design Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Here's what I ended up doing. Pretty happy with the results, nothing was too cramped. I did end up grouping knobs / switches / I/O separately, which has its pros and cons.

-gerald


appendage front panel.jpg
 Description:
I used FPD for layout - and hand drilled the panel myself, so the text and etchings are not in perfect locations.
 Filesize:  58.02 KB
 Viewed:  314 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

appendage front panel.jpg



Appendage.fpd
 Description:
Front Panel Express panel

Download
 Filename:  Appendage.fpd
 Filesize:  1.88 KB
 Downloaded:  185 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Photon



Joined: Mar 22, 2005
Posts: 363
Location: Boston
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2010 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Perhaps this is common knowledge, but I noticed this morning that Jameco sells Softpots. The 500mm (item 2082708) is $21.95 and the 200mm (item 2082679) is $14.95.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
slo



Joined: Feb 18, 2007
Posts: 201
Location: Victoria, BC
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Appendage preliminary design, 17" panel to go in custom controller
Think I've got everything there, as you can see I did attempt to split it into the 3 sections. Made in Front Designer 3.0.

George


appendage19.JPG
 Description:
Appendage front panel
 Filesize:  36.14 KB
 Viewed:  280 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

appendage19.JPG


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
State Machine
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 2728
Location: New York
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
Appendage preliminary design, 17" panel to go in custom controller
Think I've got everything there, as you can see I did attempt to split it into the 3 sections. Made in Front Designer 3.0.

George


Nice so far George Very Happy The layout is very logical. I would like to make a suggestion. Since you had added multis to the TRIG and GATE signals, you might want to add some for all the CV outputs. You will definitely find that you will want to control more then one thing off a single output.

Nice work !
Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
slo



Joined: Feb 18, 2007
Posts: 201
Location: Victoria, BC
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
Since you had added multis to the TRIG and GATE signals, you might want to add some for all the CV outputs.


Thanks for the input Bill, I'm a bit contricted in the design as I want to have all jacks at the top so as not to interfere with the ribbon below the panel, (cords sticking out) but I will think about it...........multis are good!

George
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
State Machine
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 2728
Location: New York
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
Thanks for the input Bill, I'm a bit contricted in the design as I want to have all jacks at the top so as not to interfere with the ribbon below the panel, (cords sticking out) but I will think about it...........multis are good!


Sure George, your welcome. Another approach is to just make a few "Y" cables and use those as your multis thus no panel space required.

Have fun with it ... it's looking great. I am loving the keyboard/ribbon controller rig your building.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
State Machine
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 2728
Location: New York
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
Perhaps this is common knowledge, but I noticed this morning that Jameco sells Softpots. The 500mm (item 2082708) is $21.95 and the 200mm (item 2082679) is $14.95.


Dam Pete, your right. Just now looked at the Jameco catalog and there they are Wink Thanks for giving everyone a heads up Very Happy

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
slo



Joined: Feb 18, 2007
Posts: 201
Location: Victoria, BC
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Any of you fine folks know where I can get a 3.5mm isolated TRS jack from, I've searched Mouser hi and low and come up with nothing. I would like to stay with that size for the Appendage ribbon connection.

George
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Danno Gee Ray



Joined: Sep 25, 2005
Posts: 1341
Location: Telford, PA USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Try Mouser PN. 161-3402-E

Kobicon 3.5mm Stereo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
State Machine
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 2728
Location: New York
Audio files: 23

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Quote:
161-3402-E



Hmm, be careful Dan. There is no indication on the data sheet that it is isolated. The ribbon TRS jack must be isolated. Just double check me on this guys Wink


I did find this which may fit the bill quite nicely:

https://www.3dhdsupply.com/ProductDetails.Asp?ProductCode=30-711


Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Danno Gee Ray



Joined: Sep 25, 2005
Posts: 1341
Location: Telford, PA USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Roger that. The Kobicons do have a ground lug that is connected to the panel / frame. My bad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 5 [116 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
mps board

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use