electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Request Snapshot from Nord Modular
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
tomtakestooth



Joined: Jan 07, 2009
Posts: 20
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 9:18 am    Post subject: Request Snapshot from Nord Modular Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi guys,

I seem to remember seeing something somewhere (possibly on this forum) about requesting a snapshot of all MIDI CC values from a NM patch.

I know this is possible by going through the menu on the NM, but is there a MIDI command that can be sent from an external controller to get this, as it takes a while to go through the menu and can get pretty annoying when performing live.

We've got a Behringer BCR2000 hooked up to it, and would be sweet if we could assign a button on there to send the controller snapshot over to the BCR2000 after selecting a new patch on the NM. Don't really know anything about sysEx, but am I right in thinking i could use that?

Any ideas?

Thanks

Tom
www.myspace.com/gumtakestooth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomtakestooth



Joined: Jan 07, 2009
Posts: 20
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Nov 25, 2010 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

after many hours looking around on here and other places, it seems this is not possible.... such a shame.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
adnauseam



Joined: Mar 27, 2013
Posts: 142
Location: Manitoba, Canada

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

This would be very handy. The results would be something like the G2's Patch variations.

I'm going to investigate this as well. I know you could at least get a constant snapshot from the knobs as long as they're assigned to MIDI CC values. Then you could keep track of the values as they're spit out.

There may not be a way to get module parameter values..

But now that I think of it.. Does changing a module parameter on the hardware unit with the rotary knob result in value changes in the software? That may be an alley to go down, but may require a kludge. Hmmmm. It may be that these module values are only transferred out the PC midi ports.

I'll think about it some more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
egw



Joined: Feb 01, 2003
Posts: 1511
Location: Asheville NC
G2 patch files: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2013 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Unless you're going to run out of patch locations, you can just save each variation as a different patch, then send program change messages to switch between them. Of course the sound will not be continuous.
_________________
www.gregwaltzer.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gomidas



Joined: Jul 09, 2004
Posts: 359
Location: La Ciotat, France
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 12:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Try this for slot A, I've made it by recording the editor demo midi out but I can't remember if it's for the G2 or G1..


Patch Request Slot A.syx
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Patch Request Slot A.syx
 Filesize:  8 Bytes
 Downloaded:  33 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dean



Joined: Jun 06, 2013
Posts: 1
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I've followed this forum for some time but thought this thread is a good time to chime in.

I have discussed this with the team at clavia who gave me their usual replies of 'not supported any longer'.

I have done a LOT of looking into requesting snapshots and how it works using a little 'observer' I created in max msp.

It seems that the sysex message that 'ctrl snapshot' sends is patch specific rather than channel specific.

My findings are this -

It is possible but it is patch specific, you'd have to use some sort of listener to figure out the snapshot request from each patch and send the messages from something like pure data or max msp.

I wanted this to restore a patch to its default state after changing many parameters (picture bringing the filter cut off and env paramater down and restoring them both with a quick hit of a button) but it was too much hassle creating different messages for each patch.

hope this gives some clarity to a long asked question.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cappy2112



Joined: Dec 24, 2004
Posts: 2216
Location: San Jose, California
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

dean wrote:
I've followed this forum for some time but thought this thread is a good time to chime in.

I have discussed this with the team at clavia who gave me their usual replies of 'not supported any longer'.

I have done a LOT of looking into requesting snapshots and how it works using a little 'observer' I created in max msp.

It seems that the sysex message that 'ctrl snapshot' sends is patch specific rather than channel specific.

My findings are this -

It is possible but it is patch specific, you'd have to use some sort of listener to figure out the snapshot request from each patch and send the messages from something like pure data or max msp.

I wanted this to restore a patch to its default state after changing many parameters (picture bringing the filter cut off and env paramater down and restoring them both with a quick hit of a button) but it was too much hassle creating different messages for each patch.

hope this gives some clarity to a long asked question.



You could try using MidiOX (free) on Windows, it can be scripted.
You can also try Bomes for OSX, but it isn't free.

Both of these program can analyze incoming midi data and modify it to some degree. MidiOx lets you save sysex transfers to disk.

_________________
Free Tibet. Release the Panchen Lama from prison. Let the Dalai Lama return to his home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use