electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
A6 Display Question
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
jknievel



Joined: Sep 02, 2008
Posts: 2
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:14 am    Post subject: A6 Display Question Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I powered my Andromeda up last night after not using it for awhile and noticed the display looked dim. Not sure if it's always been that way or perhaps I'm unfairly comparing it to the very bright green display on my MPC2500.

So... just wondering how bright the display is on your Andromeda.

Thanks!
JK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HrastProgrammer



Joined: Oct 16, 2008
Posts: 208
Location: CPU
Audio files: 49

PostPosted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:39 pm    Post subject: Re: A6 Display Question Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

By "dim" do you mean contrast or the backlight intensity? If it is cold then LCDs tend to have a lower contrast ...

I have 2x A6 and the display on the older one (around 2003. or so) has a little (and I really mean little) brighter backlight than a new one. Compared to the other synthesizers I have, I don't know, I don't see a significant difference between them, either in contrast or backlight. Some of them, like Waldorf Q or Yamaha FS1R have somewhat stronger backlights but the others are, more or less, all in the same league. The only real exceptions are TG77s, but I upgraded them to white-on-blue LCDs with LED backlight, so you can use them as a night lamp when needed Wink

_________________
http://www.hrastprogrammer.com/hrastwerk/
http://hrastprogrammer.bandcamp.com/

Last edited by HrastProgrammer on Fri Feb 18, 2011 5:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 687
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Thu Feb 17, 2011 1:21 pm    Post subject: Re: A6 Display Question Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

HrastProgrammer wrote:

I have 2x A6 and the display on the older one (around 2004. or so) has a little (and I really mean little) brighter backlight than a new one.


i have the same experience. the older one has the brighter backlight ( which i prefer ). i wonder if it's a big deal to make the newer one a bit brighter ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HrastProgrammer



Joined: Oct 16, 2008
Posts: 208
Location: CPU
Audio files: 49

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:40 am    Post subject: Re: A6 Display Question Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Maybe raising up backlight voltage a bit. I know that in my case it wouldn't be worth a trouble because the difference is barely visible and the contrast is the same.

BTW, here is the picture of my studio in the dark, so various backlights can be compared:

http://www.hrastprogrammer.com/qozmyx/equipment.htm

Andromeda (the newer one) is right in front, below korg Z1. Unfortunately, the LCD on the older A6 on the right isn't visible ...

_________________
http://www.hrastprogrammer.com/hrastwerk/
http://hrastprogrammer.bandcamp.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jknievel



Joined: Sep 02, 2008
Posts: 2
Location: Boston, MA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:59 am    Post subject: re: A6 Display question Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks so much for the replies, I'm not going to worry about it since I can still read the display anyway. Maybe if I ever need any work done on the A6 I'll address it then. And Hrast, your setup looks incredible. Nice.

JK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HrastProgrammer



Joined: Oct 16, 2008
Posts: 208
Location: CPU
Audio files: 49

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:24 am    Post subject: Re: A6 Display question Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Very Happy
_________________
http://www.hrastprogrammer.com/hrastwerk/
http://hrastprogrammer.bandcamp.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
emSynth

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use