electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Nord Rack 2X: a few questions...
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Yog-Sothoth



Joined: Feb 21, 2012
Posts: 4
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:58 pm    Post subject: Nord Rack 2X: a few questions... Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi everyone,

I recently bought a Clavia Nord Rack 2X and got a few questions concering it. Maybe one of you can help me with it. I read the manual (in german pdf version) but still got a few points open that I did not understand yet.

First of all I´d like to ask, if there is a patchscript file available for Cubase. I would like to teach Cubase to know the Rack 2X incl. all of its patches, so I can choose the patches from a list within Cubase. Is there something available?

Now the questions for the device itself:
I use a MIDI masterkeyboard on MIDI channel 1 and it works fine. But what I do not understand is the mode for slot A/B/C/D. I thought I could load a different patch in every slot, for example patch 1.11 in A, patch 1.12 in B, patch 1.13 in C and 1.14 in D. But when I play on the keyboard, I only hear slot A. When I check the MIDI channels, I see that the slots are on MIDI channel A = 1, B = 2, C = 3 and D = 4. So when I use channel 1 on the keyboard I can play slot A, channel 2 for slot B etc. Ok, that works, but only separated. When I change the MIDI channels, for example slot A = 1, B = 1, C = 1 and D = 1, then I can play all 4 slots on they keyboard using just MIDI channel 1. So what is the difference between this method of playing all slots on just one MIDI channel, compared to layering the sounds?

Cause when I layer the sounds by pressing all slot buttons immediately, I hear no difference. The same with using performances, when I load a performance, I can play only slot A, cause all slots got an individual channel, 1, 2, 3 and 4. The Global MIDI channel is set to 16.

Can anyone of you explain me, how to use and play the slots correctly, how to layer the sounds and play them correctly, for I guess, when you layer 4 sounds, you like to hear 4 sounds at the same time!! And how to use and play performances correctly. And what is the Global MIDI channel for?

EDIT: And another question: due to the fact that the Rack 2X only got MIDI in/out and no USB, is it fact, that there never will be firmware updates for the machine?

I would be very pleased, if you could help me out!

Best wishes and many thanks in advance,

Michael

_________________
yogsothoth@yogsothoth.de
www.yogsothoth.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wout Blommers



Joined: Sep 07, 2003
Posts: 4511
Location: The Hague - The Netherlands
Audio files: 123
G2 patch files: 12

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:56 am    Post subject: Re: Nord Rack 2X: a few questions... Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yog-Sothoth wrote:
... First of all I´d like to ask, if there is a patchscript file available for Cubase. I would like to teach Cubase to know the Rack 2X incl. all of its patches, so I can choose the patches from a list within Cubase. Is there something available?
I never saw one, but that's doesn't say it doesn't exist. If not, what would you need to construct it yourself?
Quote:
Now the questions for the device itself:
I use a MIDI masterkeyboard on MIDI channel 1 and it works fine. But what I do not understand is the mode for slot A/B/C/D. I thought I could load a different patch in every slot, for example patch 1.11 in A, patch 1.12 in B, patch 1.13 in C and 1.14 in D. But when I play on the keyboard, I only hear slot A. When I check the MIDI channels, I see that the slots are on MIDI channel A = 1, B = 2, C = 3 and D = 4. So when I use channel 1 on the keyboard I can play slot A, channel 2 for slot B etc. Ok, that works, but only separated. When I change the MIDI channels, for example slot A = 1, B = 1, C = 1 and D = 1, then I can play all 4 slots on they keyboard using just MIDI channel 1. So what is the difference between this method of playing all slots on just one MIDI channel, compared to layering the sounds?
At http://nm-archives.electro-music.com/020_NordLead2/Red_Lady/Index_bestanden/Red_Lady/Prgm_Lay_Perf_01.htm I wrote a long article about how the NordLead/Rack are organized and some tricks.
As a rule you can say every Slot which is activate by incomming Midi will sound. The troubles are in the fact the Rack has no Keyboard, but you noticed that already, didn't you? Pressing a Slot button makes a Slot active to the internal controllers, like Keyboard, PitchStick and ModWheel. So in the set up SingleProgram - Layer - Performance, the Rack isn't able to create a Layer. Even in the Lead the Layer isn't controlled by Midi. The lead is designed to be used on stage and hands on, where the Rack is designed to be used in the studio or on stage, but no hands on. I hope you understand this concept.
Quote:
Cause when I layer the sounds by pressing all slot buttons immediately, I hear no difference. The same with using performances, when I load a performance, I can play only slot A, cause all slots got an individual channel, 1, 2, 3 and 4. The Global MIDI channel is set to 16.
A Performance can be a Layer, but only if the Midi In is in each of the sounds (Slots) the same. When saving a Performance the Midi settings are saved too! [I can't direct you to the Manual, because the nummering of the pages is different between the English and German version. Do you have an internet address where I can download the German version. Und ja, Ich kann auch Deutsch lesen und schreiben. Wenn Sie noch immer Problemen hätte, denn schreiben Sie biete eine E-mail zu mir.] At the other hand on a Rack a Performance has no need to use different Midi channels, because Slot Program change is never performed. It is a good machine to use together with a computer and Cu-base. ...
Quote:
And what is the Global MIDI channel for?
Never forget the NordLead/Rack is the oldiest synth still in production, 17 years already!!! Global Midi was then still in use. Sysex files use it to perform ProgramChance. It is very good to create internal conflicts in the synth Very Happy Better set it to channel 16!
Quote:
EDIT: And another question: due to the fact that the Rack 2X only got MIDI in/out and no USB, is it fact, that there never will be firmware updates for the machine?
I would surprize me very, very much! There will come a day Clavia wants their daughter to leave the house...

Wout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Yog-Sothoth



Joined: Feb 21, 2012
Posts: 4
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2012 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello Wout,

thank you so much!! Think your article will help me very much!!

I used MIDI-OX today and did a SysEx dump and transfered back to the Rack 2X, it worked very fine, now I can archive my self created patches on harddisk Smile

Best wishes,

Michael

_________________
yogsothoth@yogsothoth.de
www.yogsothoth.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use