electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Antimon Antimon Waves

poster

Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » The layout factory
4017 Baby Sequencer Stripboard
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 5 of 5 [117 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
Citezyne



Joined: Jan 09, 2015
Posts: 24
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

im using an RCA lead in fact give me a min and i will take some pics for you.... now that i think of it i didn't know where to connect the input negative lead on Nicolas' design so i left it alone, i'm guessing i need to connect that to the neg on bleepy machine.

but that leaves me with my other issue of random beeps out of the sequencer i will get a recording now for you both with pics and with the bleeper and without give me 2 mins.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Citezyne



Joined: Jan 09, 2015
Posts: 24
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

OK so i have included a vid of the sequencer stepping and some pics, and some sounds. let me explain.

So i use an RCA cable to go from the sequencer into the bleepy machine, then i use rca from the bleepy machine into the mixer. in the case of the picture bellow i plugged the RCA directly into the mixer to test with.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.
Posted Image, might have been reduced in size. Click Image to view fullscreen.

Video is now approved and added bellow:


hope the following helps.

this first sound is just the sequncer hooked up to the mixer.


This is the sequencer hooked up to the bleepymachine


this is the static sound when nothing is turned on, and goes away when power is unplugged form the sequencer.


Any help would be grand, i seem to be at my wits end to the issue, or perhaps i am too close to see the issue and some outside eyes might help, sadly non of my friends are any good with electronics let alone be able to tell the difference between a cap and LED.

I'm going to be posting on Nics' board as well to confirm that i have my wiring on that side done correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1991
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 16

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Citezyne wrote:
I have tried both, minus feeding the sequencer into a mixer directly to see if its giving output for each step and I have also tried to feed this into a VCO/LFO the one that Nicolas designed. in both cases I get allot of static, and a random beep at any given step.



The sequencer itself does not generate sound. Plugging it into the mixer should do nothing, or very little.

The sequencer sends control voltages that should go to the CV in (v/oct, or linear or exponential FM) of a VCO for testing, and then that VCO's output to the mixer; or else you can hook it up to a meter and run the sequencer at a slow rate and measure the voltage output.


Edit: I'm not familiar with the bleepy machine, but the same commentary about using control voltage inputs applies.

Which output of the sequencer are you hooking up? Just to verify the CV out, not the gate out, correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Citezyne



Joined: Jan 09, 2015
Posts: 24
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

understand that there is no output sound when no sound is genarated this is why im confused with my resaults.

the reazon i plugged in the sequencer direct to the mixer was to isolate the static and the phantom beeps. both coming from the sequencer. and i know it shouldent.

will a picture of he strip board front and back help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1991
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 16

PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Couldn't hurt....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bamboombaps



Joined: Oct 23, 2015
Posts: 58
Location: Glasgow

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I've built the sequencer as per the first post with all the minus mods.

The lights go on in the correct sequence but are suuuuupppppeeerrr slow and the rotary switch doesn't have any effect.

The reset button works but the step button does not.

The main 1m pot doesn't appear to do anything, whereas some of the step pots dim and brighten the LEDs, some not.

I have went over my soldering and fixed an error or two and replaced the IC s but obviously something is still wrong.

Can anyone diagnose?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1991
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 16

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

if you can't change the clock speed, I'd start with the area around the 555 timer. It works by charging and discharging the 1uF cap, and using a comparator to decide whether it should be charging or discharging. If you disconnect the link from pin 3 of the 555 to "e", what do you see on pin 3? This will decouple the 555 circuit from the 4017 so you can focus on which part is at fault.


As for the step switch, did you omit the dark green link? You don't mention if the start/stop switch works? My bet is you have the link there and so the switches don't do anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bamboombaps



Joined: Oct 23, 2015
Posts: 58
Location: Glasgow

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

God you're good !! I cut the wrong wire :/

Ok so I disconnected the 555 and it appears to function correctly, cycling through each step when the button is pressed if a little flaky at times.

When I connect a crocodile clip to one of the legs of the momentary stepper button and hold the other in my hand it goes super fast through all the steps . The rotary switch appears to do as it is supposed to.

When i reconnect the pin 3 to e connection I can replicate the quick sequence bend but the momentary stepper no longer works. ive replaced the 555 twice in case so unless it's a bad batch I'm not sure what could be wrong. The speed knob still doent work and it's stuck on one step without bending. My reset button works fine and also if relevant when I switch the power off then off again the step moves one step on.

Does this make any sense?

edit- i just realised that the stepper button does work when the 55 connection is back but only for one press then I have to turn it on and off again for the button to work again ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1991
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 16

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm not really following your description, but I think it may be time to show pictures of both sides of the PCB, fairly high resolution, please Smile


I assume you 1) replaced the incorrectly cut connection and 2) cut the green wire? You didn't explicitly say so....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1991
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 16

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2015 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

bamboombaps wrote:
God you're good !! I cut the wrong wire :/

Ok so I disconnected the 555 and it appears to function correctly, cycling through each step when the button is pressed if a little flaky at times.



This is an odd statement.

If you disconnected the 555, I'm interested in whether the 555 is behaving correctly. Edit: by correctly I mean that the 555 should be cycling continuously, at a rate determined by the pot. It shouldn't just cycle when the button is pressed -- if that's the case the button is not where you think it is.

Further, pressing the button to step the 4017 *might* work occasionally because you could be generating some noise at the clock input of the 4017 by doing so, but if there's no 555 hooked up to go through the button, that's pure chance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bamboombaps



Joined: Oct 23, 2015
Posts: 58
Location: Glasgow

PostPosted: Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Embarassed i need to look a bit deeper. considering a rebuild... scratch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bamboombaps



Joined: Oct 23, 2015
Posts: 58
Location: Glasgow

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i have rebuilt and the board was fine after all, was still getting the same results.

what i realised is that i must have a bunch of faulty pots. replaced the main speed pot and i have the correct function. however only a couple of the other pots affect the steps . so im assuming faulty pots here as well unless theres anything else that would stop the pots from affecting the steps? only 3 of the 8 do anything currently.

DAMN YOU ALIEXPRESS.COM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1991
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 16

PostPosted: Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That's certainly a possibility.

I would pause the clock, manually step to one of the ones giving trouble, and measure the voltage at the wiper as you change the pot. If that's not changing, or there's no voltage at all, then definitely a bad pot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cfish



Joined: Feb 24, 2016
Posts: 450
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2016 10:57 am    Post subject: 4017 Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have experimented a little with the 4017 as a sequencer. I had tried building a stomp box drum machine but the leading and trailing edge of the signal pulse both cause a triggering affect. Using a leading edge detector on each output made the circuit to large to fit in the Hammond bb size box. Is there any available similar IC that will act as a decade counter with a controllable pulse width.

I'm not in to micro programming at all. It's way beyond me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tabbycat



Joined: May 15, 2016
Posts: 4
Location: seaside

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i built minus' vero layout at the top of this thread last summer and tried to implement/integrate what i think are all the necessary basic mods and tweaks (from the ensuing discussion) required in order to get it to work as intended (cap from pin 5 of the 555 to GROUND) but still no joy.
revisited it this afternoon but still can't get it to work.

thanks anyway to elmegil for his troubleshooting mission with this one.

while i could never say i haven't made some idiotic mistake, i have been pretty careful and followed standard vero debugging practice. cutting between tracks, checking grounds, cap orientation, etc. have completed much bigger vero layouts than this without issues.

so has anyone built this according to minus' vero and got it to work, and what did you have to tweak to get it from that layout to functional.

or does anyone have a verified vero layout for the baby 8?

many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
-minus-



Joined: Oct 26, 2008
Posts: 787

Audio files: 13

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm sorry you are having issues with this. It's a fairly simple circuit and looking again at the diagrams I can see no reason why it wouldn't work. Have you soldered all the pots on and LEDs? What are the LEDs doing?

I suggest we start at the clock output, PIN 3 of the 555. Can you hook up a wire from there to a resistor to a LED to GROUND? Is there any oscillation going on? If the clock is confirmed working then the connection between the clock and the 4017 is the next thing to check.

In the meantime, are you sure the components are all soldered in the correct place. If something is wrong, I'd imagine it could be in the connection of the other hardware, the pots, LEDs etc going to the board. The style of artwork doesn't help much either! Rolling Eyes

Check the clock... Just see if a LED is bilking on PIN 3 of the 555...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kurtflex1



Joined: Jun 24, 2012
Posts: 1
Location: kansas city

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 7:15 am    Post subject: 4017 Baby Sequencer Stripboard
Subject description: Off-board wiring is tedious
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Off board wiring on a separate strip board is essential; its the only way to build a step sequencer sans designing a PCB.

Thanks for this awesome and useful design.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 5 of 5 [117 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » The layout factory
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use