electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Windows as a music workstation
mp3 encoding
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Blue Hell
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4760
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:36 am    Post subject: mp3 encoding
Subject description: left/right contamination?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I've just found out that when I save as an .mp3 out of Soundforge, the left and right channels contaminate each other quite severely. Shocked
Has anyone else found this?
Does anyone know why it is happening?
Is it just user error? Laughing
I'm really disturbed to find this out! Crying or Very sad

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20735
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 158
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

There is some channel join setting when I save to mp3 from cooledit - that is for the Fraunhofer encoder.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4760
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Can you force the encoder?
For that matter, can you get an encoder which doesn't channel join?

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4760
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

This one comes up with a setting for the bitdepth, which I leave on 320.
It's also got a VBR setting, from 0% to 100%. It is off by default I think.
There's one other setting as well, but I can't remember it just now. I'll try again soon and check it out.

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4760
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2012 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wow,
I was kinda right.
Bitrate,
VBR on/off 1->100
Convert to mono on/off (which I always leave off)
And property markings

But,....
Nothing made any difference at all, except when I dropped the bitrate back to 256! Suddenly perfect! Very strange.
(would that mean that the mp3s ripped by MediaPlayer @ 320Kb/s are contaminated as well? Shocked Thankfully I ripped them on the other computer! Rolling Eyes Laughing )

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Blue Hell
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Windows as a music workstation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use