electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music

Front Page  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Lunettas - circuits inspired by Stanley Lunetta
Simple Volume Control Question
Page 1 of 1 [20 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Captain_Clams

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:21 am    Post subject: Simple Volume Control Question Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm new to this fascinating subject of electronic noisemakers. I spent the past week developing a firm grasp on a 555 timer in "astable mode". Now I am looking into attenuating the volume of the result with a potentiometer. Before I will purchase a potentiometer, I have a few questions that never seem to be directly answered in the articles I've read on the topic. I would be very obliged if someone could shed some light on it for me here:

1.) When attenuating a signal with a potentiometer, does the change in load resistance pose any threat (of distortion or some kind of thermal failure maybe) to the signal source?

2.) From an article found online:
"The source impedance should normally be no greater than 1/10th (0.1) of the pot's stated resistance."

If I should base my potentiometer value off of the signal source impedance, what is a typical signal source impedance for a silicon chip? How do I measure that with a multimeter?