electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
Syncing Arp & Step Sequencer to Extrenal Sequencer Clock
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
dominicw78



Joined: Aug 14, 2012
Posts: 5
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 1:01 pm    Post subject: Syncing Arp & Step Sequencer to Extrenal Sequencer Clock Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I am the proud owner of an Andromeda for just under a week now.

I have been coming to grips with it fairly well but I have had trouble when it comes to the midi clock and sync sections.

I have done what is explained in the manual but I can't get the arp or step sequencer to play/sync with an external clock source.

I'm using ableton live and and when I set the andro to external clock for midi it plays a single note of my chord ans then goes silent.

This happens whether I have ableton playing or not.

Can anyway please explain to me how to get this working?

Also if any can advise to any relevant issues regarding this situation I would be very grateful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MusicMan11712



Joined: Aug 08, 2009
Posts: 742
Location: Upstate New York USA
Audio files: 148

PostPosted: Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I am not familiar with the Andromeda, but I am wondering if you can:
(1) test to make sure your software (ableton live) is actually sending midi clock (as opposed to just midi start, thereby triggering only the first note), or
(2) test with a different clock source.

Apologies if the advice is on the general side; maybe someone else with that software and gear can make more specific suggestions.

Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 689
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

if it's not on the " bugs and/or wishes, what not to expect from your a6 " list on this forum, it should work.
nothing written about it in the tips and tricks document ( in the first topic of this forumsite) ?
i never use it, so i can't say anything more about it.
i think it does sync when the settings are oke, but stopping and restart from that point ( for the sequencer) had some difficulties. but better look it up first in the mentioned documents yourself and come back on it please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominicw78



Joined: Aug 14, 2012
Posts: 5
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

MusicMan11712 wrote:
I am not familiar with the Andromeda, but I am wondering if you can:
(1) test to make sure your software (ableton live) is actually sending midi clock (as opposed to just midi start, thereby triggering only the first note), or
(2) test with a different clock source.

Apologies if the advice is on the general side; maybe someone else with that software and gear can make more specific suggestions.

Steve


Thanks for the info, I just needed to turn then sync button on in Ableton preferences for the midi and then it started to work,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MusicMan11712



Joined: Aug 08, 2009
Posts: 742
Location: Upstate New York USA
Audio files: 148

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

dominicw78 wrote:
Thanks for the info, I just needed to turn then sync button on in Ableton preferences for the midi and then it started to work
Glad to hear it was an easy fix. Looking forward to hearing your music.
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use