electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Waldorf
Need help with Microwave
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [19 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
RoyleSonanders



Joined: Aug 30, 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 3:30 am    Post subject: Need help with Microwave
Subject description: Can´t turn my Microwave on.
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Greetings

I bought my Microwave around 1990, used it sporadically since then. Lately it has been turned off for, well, a couple of years.

The other day I wanted to use it, turned it on. The light in the small screen went on, I looked away for a second, and then the light was out.

Now I cannot turn it on at all.

What can be the problem here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RoyleSonanders



Joined: Aug 30, 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I should add that it´s not just the display but the entire synth that is "dead".

Rev. A as far as I can tell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RoyleSonanders



Joined: Aug 30, 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Seems nobody can help me with this one.

A friend told me that problems with the display are not uncommon, but this is not just the display.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20626
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Was wondering if maybe it has a battery inside that is dead?

I don't know the synth though ...

maybe look at http://www.gearslutz.com/board/electronic-music-instruments-electronic-music-production/545936-microwave-problem.html there are some indications in that link that a dead battery may cause to crash the synth when it tries to read the corrupted patches.

And welcome to the forum.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RoyleSonanders



Joined: Aug 30, 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:
Was wondering if maybe it has a battery inside that is dead?


Yes, that was my first thought.

So I will try to take it apart, if I dare...


Blue Hell wrote:
And welcome to the forum.


Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20626
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sun Sep 02, 2012 10:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

RoyleSonanders wrote:
So I will try to take it apart, if I dare...


Sounds like a good plan to me!

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RoyleSonanders



Joined: Aug 30, 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 6:26 am    Post subject: No luck as yet Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I opened it, replaced the battery (CR2032), it still doesn´t go on. Sad

Are there more batteries in this darling...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v-un-v
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: May 16, 2005
Posts: 8932
Location: Birmingham, England, UK
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Try replacing the internal PSU. Capacitors are always the first port of call.

Also, is there an internal fuse? Or even an external one? Idea

_________________
ACHTUNG!
ALLES TURISTEN UND NONTEKNISCHEN LOOKENPEEPERS!
DAS KOMPUTERMASCHINE IST NICHT FÜR DER GEFINGERPOKEN UND MITTENGRABEN! ODERWISE IST EASY TO SCHNAPPEN DER SPRINGENWERK, BLOWENFUSEN UND POPPENCORKEN MIT SPITZENSPARKSEN.
IST NICHT FÜR GEWERKEN BEI DUMMKOPFEN. DER RUBBERNECKEN SIGHTSEEREN KEEPEN DAS COTTONPICKEN HÄNDER IN DAS POCKETS MUSS.
ZO RELAXEN UND WATSCHEN DER BLINKENLICHTEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
RoyleSonanders



Joined: Aug 30, 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

v-un-v wrote:
Try replacing the internal PSU. Capacitors are always the first port of call.

Also, is there an internal fuse? Or even an external one? Idea


PSU? Capacitors? Fuses...? And I was SO proud to have changed the battery.

As you say, IST EASY TO SCHNAPPEN DER SPRINGENWERK. But I will do my best not to.

It would be good to see a picture of... what is it called? The electronic blueprint of the components. (Sorry, English is not my language.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v-un-v
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: May 16, 2005
Posts: 8932
Location: Birmingham, England, UK
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Laughing Laughing Laughing

"BLOWENFUSEN UND POPPENCORKEN MIT SPITZENSPARKSEN!!!"

Your English is fine btw. Made me laugh!! Very Happy

_________________
ACHTUNG!
ALLES TURISTEN UND NONTEKNISCHEN LOOKENPEEPERS!
DAS KOMPUTERMASCHINE IST NICHT FÜR DER GEFINGERPOKEN UND MITTENGRABEN! ODERWISE IST EASY TO SCHNAPPEN DER SPRINGENWERK, BLOWENFUSEN UND POPPENCORKEN MIT SPITZENSPARKSEN.
IST NICHT FÜR GEWERKEN BEI DUMMKOPFEN. DER RUBBERNECKEN SIGHTSEEREN KEEPEN DAS COTTONPICKEN HÄNDER IN DAS POCKETS MUSS.
ZO RELAXEN UND WATSCHEN DER BLINKENLICHTEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
v-un-v
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: May 16, 2005
Posts: 8932
Location: Birmingham, England, UK
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

BTW, have tried just contacting Waldorf themselves?
_________________
ACHTUNG!
ALLES TURISTEN UND NONTEKNISCHEN LOOKENPEEPERS!
DAS KOMPUTERMASCHINE IST NICHT FÜR DER GEFINGERPOKEN UND MITTENGRABEN! ODERWISE IST EASY TO SCHNAPPEN DER SPRINGENWERK, BLOWENFUSEN UND POPPENCORKEN MIT SPITZENSPARKSEN.
IST NICHT FÜR GEWERKEN BEI DUMMKOPFEN. DER RUBBERNECKEN SIGHTSEEREN KEEPEN DAS COTTONPICKEN HÄNDER IN DAS POCKETS MUSS.
ZO RELAXEN UND WATSCHEN DER BLINKENLICHTEN.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
drapdap



Joined: Oct 11, 2004
Posts: 194
Location: bp
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 2:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

v-un-v wrote:
BTW, have tried just contacting Waldorf themselves?


why? there's really no need to do that i believe.

if your fuse is gone, it's gone for a reason, probably your dried out power supply capacitors are giving you a short circuit, so changing the fuse will just blow another...
this is the most common problem with synths that haven't been switched on for years...
you could change the caps yourself, you could get it going in an hour with the right spare parts ((new caps, and probably decoupling tantalums aswell), and a bit of soldiering, but you could also make a braindead blown up synth easily if you are not careful, and you don't know exactly what you are doing. so what i'd do if i were you, find a simple electronic guy around there, and ask him to take a look at it, it's common electronics inside, easy to fix.

imho, changing the battery was also a stupid idea (sorry Jan! Very Happy), you just got rid of all your patches in the memory, and the synth is still not going, is it?

find a local service guy! tell him to take a look at the psu!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drapdap



Joined: Oct 11, 2004
Posts: 194
Location: bp
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

RoyleSonanders wrote:

It would be good to see a picture of... what is it called? The electronic blueprint of the components. (Sorry, English is not my language.)


schematics?
you mean the waldorf microwave service manual?

here ya go: Very Happy

other than this, i wouldn't really poke inside if i were you, you can kill really expensive parts...

good luck with this! such a wonderful beast, the first microwave, i sold mine and will always painfully regret it...


waldorf_microwave.pdf
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  waldorf_microwave.pdf
 Filesize:  4.76 MB
 Downloaded:  374 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20626
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

drapdap wrote:
imho, changing the battery was also a stupid idea (sorry Jan! Very Happy), you just got rid of all your patches in the memory, and the synth is still not going, is it?


If you put it like that, yeah it was stupid Embarassed Otoh, lost patches sounds like a good idea actually Shocked Laughing

Anyway, someone had to say something to get the thread going I guess Rolling Eyes

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RoyleSonanders



Joined: Aug 30, 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok, so I probably lost my patches but I doubt I had anything much more fancy than factory settings. And new sounds can be input throught MIDI, no?

Will stop tinkering then and consult an electrician. My biggest hurdle was actually to loosen a really tight screw...

Any digital editor(s) for the Microwave?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drapdap



Joined: Oct 11, 2004
Posts: 194
Location: bp
Audio files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Apologies Jan!

you know i cherish you, you are one of the smartest, delighted people on e-m, i just thought it was not such a good idea, i would hate to loose my wavetables...

i'm not aware of any good editor for this synth, but it's controls are mostly cc's, i'd take a look at the waldorf ftp archive here on em, i have a microwave II nowdays, and it's different, so i can't help, google is your friend here...

hope you can find somebody who can fix it for you...

r.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20626
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 150
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

drapdap wrote:
[...]i just thought it was not such a good idea[...]


And rightly so ... if it would have been my own synth I'd have gotten the DMM out to see what was going on ... find a service manual etc. Remote advice on hardware issues is a bit of a hairy thing ...

Anyway, me too I hope it'll be fixed soon!

And thank you for the kind words drapdap.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RoyleSonanders



Joined: Aug 30, 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Took it to the repair-man. He changed the broken fuse, it worked for an hour or so (display blank, though), then it gave up again.

So it is in the repairman´s hands now.

Wonder how I can get the patches (and the display) back. Midi?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RoyleSonanders



Joined: Aug 30, 2012
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Bad news from the repairman.

Forgive me for being un-specific, but I do not know the technical terms and when I hear them just once, forget them...

Anyway, he said he had changed two things in the synth (on the upper right if you have the display towards you), but then there was a short circuit (?) and now the transformer (the bulky thing at the back) was broken as well.

So a new transformer is needed, and where to get it? Might have to contact Germany.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: elektro80
Page 1 of 1 [19 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Waldorf
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use