electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Cubase
Mono to Stereo samples
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
AWM



Joined: Feb 13, 2005
Posts: 21
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Audio files: 4

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 4:55 pm    Post subject: Mono to Stereo samples Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

This is probably an easily answered question.
Im using Cubase SX, i have a couple of tracks made up of mono samples and the rest of the tracks have stereo samples. I was wondering if there is some way to convert the mono samples to stereo.

_________________
"Paranioa is energy" My friend's Uncle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

What kinda samples..?

Making them stereo pretty much means some sort of processing..

Let us hear the song?

_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You have a track now that is in mono? And you want this to kinda have some spatial movement? Is this piano? Drums? Bass?
_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AWM



Joined: Feb 13, 2005
Posts: 21
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Audio files: 4

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2005 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yeah, i have tracks that are now in mono and i want to spatialise them. I find EQing and panning with mono samples doesn't give the right effect .

The samples were originally piano and a bass note, although i have heavily processed each of them (pitch shift, time strech, ringmod, distortion, delay ect), so they become almost noise. In Cubase can you bounce a mono track to a stereo file?

The song is kind of industrial trip hop, sorry its in its early stages and not ready to be herd by others yet.

_________________
"Paranioa is energy" My friend's Uncle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17620
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 125
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I don't know what you can do in Cubase, maybe if you have a phase shifter module or VST you can run the mono through to phase shifters set to different values. Send on to the right and one to the left and you'll get amazing stereo.
_________________
--Howard
my music and other stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
elektro80
Site Admin


Joined: Mar 25, 2003
Posts: 21977
Location: Norway
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sure, you can print a stereo file from a mono file. You already have a lot of excellent plugins you can use for creating that spatiality. try sending the signal into a good stereo reverb.. then into a stepfilter. A great way to add some stereo feel to it is using stereo reverb before the real processing.
_________________
A Charity Pantomime in aid of Paranoid Schizophrenics descended into chaos yesterday when someone shouted, "He's behind you!"

MySpace
SoundCloud
Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zynthetix



Joined: Jun 12, 2003
Posts: 838
Location: nyc
Audio files: 10
G2 patch files: 13

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

if you want a single, finite stereo file of mono samples, you could mix down the two mono tracks (pan left and right accordingly) as a seperate stereo file. Then import the stereo files to your audio pool, add them into the project, etc. I don't know how many samples you are using, so this could be a tedious process if the number is high. If this is the case and you are going to be using a plug-in/effect with one or few settings on a lot of these mono samples, you could mix down all the samples that apply as one stereo track (that is the duration of the song).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
paul e.



Joined: Sep 22, 2003
Posts: 1567
Location: toronto, canada
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

maybe what you want to do is make a 'ghost' copy of the mono track..put the copy on another track..and delay one of them by a few millisecs or shift the waveform by a few ticks by turing off the snap and shifting it around with your mouse...psuedo stereo..this is tricker with bass as this might cause phasing issues, but try it on piano, it's pretty effective

it's a manual. non-dsp version of what mosc suggested

_________________
Spiral Recordings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
AWM



Joined: Feb 13, 2005
Posts: 21
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Audio files: 4

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for the suggestions. Ill try them and see which is most suitibale (posibly a combination).
_________________
"Paranioa is energy" My friend's Uncle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
s. t. Demas



Joined: Jun 21, 2005
Posts: 17
Location: Holland

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

paul e. wrote:
maybe what you want to do is make a 'ghost' copy of the mono track..put the copy on another track..and delay one of them by a few millisecs or shift the waveform by a few ticks by turing off the snap and shifting it around with your mouse...psuedo stereo..this is tricker with bass as this might cause phasing issues, but try it on piano, it's pretty effective

it's a manual. non-dsp version of what mosc suggested


thats a good way to record , mono . then make the stereo with more tracks Shocked

its easy in cubase
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17620
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 125
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2005 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

paul e. wrote:
it's a manual. non-dsp version of what mosc suggested


Yes, that's right, and it's probably a better way because there is less distortion introduced in the process. I use the dual phase shifters in real-time with synthesizer patches. Paul's suggestion is more appropriate for recordings.

_________________
--Howard
my music and other stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
s. t. Demas



Joined: Jun 21, 2005
Posts: 17
Location: Holland

PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2005 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

mosc wrote:
paul e. wrote:
it's a manual. non-dsp version of what mosc suggested


Yes, that's right, and it's probably a better way because there is less distortion introduced in the process. I use the dual phase shifters in real-time with synthesizer patches. Paul's suggestion is more appropriate for recordings.




Everybody has his way of doing things , i use no effects of the cubase
record mono and make stereo by adding and panning more tracks

The effects need cpu power , audiotracks doesnt need much.
so there can be much more audiotracks ,and the pc keeps going fast

Its very high tech the pc and software of today , im using cubase for 8 years and the level its on today is realy great

Cubase is oke Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Cubase
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use