electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
clock x 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Skrog Productions



Joined: Jan 07, 2009
Posts: 781
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 87

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:18 am    Post subject: clock x 2
Subject description: is there a simple circuit ?
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi .
I'm using a newly built diy sequencer, who's vari-step length feature halfs the incoming external clock speed .

Is there a simple way to double the incoming clock frequency so that the new sequencer is in time with my other sequencers ?.

I had a breif discussion, a while ago with Woody in chatroom, but i've forgotten what he said Embarassed


Thanks for any help.

Dave.

_________________
www.myspace.com/skrogproductions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
analog_backlash



Joined: Sep 04, 2012
Posts: 391
Location: Aldershot, UK
Audio files: 21

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

I've tried this simple 4011 circuit which can double clock speeds:

http://www.hqew.net/circuit-diagram/Frequency-Doubler-with-4011_4669.html

You will need to experiment with the R and C values to get the circuit to work over the range of frequencies that you require.

There are also quite a lot of 4089 circuits that I've seen (some on this web site) which are frequency multipliers, but I haven't tried those out yet (I keep meaning to buy some).

Gary
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JovianPyx



Joined: Nov 20, 2007
Posts: 1249
Location: West Red Spot, Jupiter
Audio files: 161

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

A 4046 with a toggle flipflop in the feedback loop will double the frequency.
_________________
FPGA, dsPIC and Fatman Synth Stuff

Time flies like a banana.
Fruit flies when you're having fun.
BTW, Do these genes make my ass look fat?
corruptio optimi pessima
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
analog_backlash



Joined: Sep 04, 2012
Posts: 391
Location: Aldershot, UK
Audio files: 21

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 1:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi JovianPyx.

I've just found your previous discussion on using a 4046 for this:

http://electro-music.com/forum/post-360695.html

I'll have to give this a go myself, as I also wanted a frequency doubler (and I do have some 4046s).

Thanks,

Gary
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JovianPyx



Joined: Nov 20, 2007
Posts: 1249
Location: West Red Spot, Jupiter
Audio files: 161

PostPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

oh have fun with a 4046.

It's cool to use it as an oscillator, cuz there's one in there, but it's even cooler (IMO) to use it as a phase locked loop.

_________________
FPGA, dsPIC and Fatman Synth Stuff

Time flies like a banana.
Fruit flies when you're having fun.
BTW, Do these genes make my ass look fat?
corruptio optimi pessima
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Skrog Productions



Joined: Jan 07, 2009
Posts: 781
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 87

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Gary & Scott , i will have a go this weekend at bread boarding these .

My Yamaha RM1X usually runs the sequencers ( via midi to Gate/trig) , the tempo per song usually varies from 90 BPM to around 170 BPM and i have 16 pulses per pattern measure clocking the diy sequencers.

Would that equate to around 0.5Hz to 4Hz clock frequency ?

Using the above speeds , how would i choose a low frequency operating setting on the freq doubler circuits that were kindly posted above .

thanks

Dave.

_________________
www.myspace.com/skrogproductions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
varice



Joined: Dec 29, 2004
Posts: 729
Location: Northeastern shore of Toledo Bend
Audio files: 22
G2 patch files: 49

PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Skrog Productions wrote:
...My Yamaha RM1X usually runs the sequencers ( via midi to Gate/trig) , the tempo per song usually varies from 90 BPM to around 170 BPM and i have 16 pulses per pattern measure clocking the diy sequencers...

Wouldn’t it be much simpler and more accurate to just double the clock pulse in the RM1X to drive the vari-step sequencer and then use a simple clock divide by 2 logic to drive the others?

Or maybe use an additional MIDI to gate/trig with the RM1X driving it at 32 pulses per measure?

_________________
varice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bubzy



Joined: Oct 27, 2010
Posts: 558
Location: United Kingdom
Audio files: 63

PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

varice wrote:
Skrog Productions wrote:
...My Yamaha RM1X usually runs the sequencers ( via midi to Gate/trig) , the tempo per song usually varies from 90 BPM to around 170 BPM and i have 16 pulses per pattern measure clocking the diy sequencers...

Wouldn’t it be much simpler and more accurate to just double the clock pulse in the RM1X to drive the vari-step sequencer and then use a simple clock divide by 2 logic to drive the others?

Or maybe use an additional MIDI to gate/trig with the RM1X driving it at 32 pulses per measure?


if his clock goes up to 2x the speed he wants.

and it would be simpler if he could, but not as much fun. Smile

_________________
_Richard_ Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skrog Productions



Joined: Jan 07, 2009
Posts: 781
Location: Scottish Borders
Audio files: 87

PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2013 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Embarassed yes i can programme 32 pulses per pattern measure Embarassed

In step record mode i can get 32 , i'm so used to working with the normal 16 note "Grid" layout i forgot i can double the RM1X clock pattern in step mode.

Thanks for the help anyway.

Dave.

_________________
www.myspace.com/skrogproductions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use