electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Using the G2 inside my sequencer
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Sonnentiger



Joined: Jan 08, 2013
Posts: 2
Location: Vienna

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 4:03 am    Post subject:  Using the G2 inside my sequencer Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi there!

I'm a fresh G2-User and did some tutorials and the manual already. Now I'm wondering if it is possible to use more parallel instances of the G2 than the four ones given by the slots inside my sequencer program (Ableton Live 8 ).

My idea was to use the G2 instead of my various software synthesizers in my music projects, but as much as I know, only 4 MIDI-Channels can be routed to the G2 because of it's only 4 slots.

I'm looking forward to your helpful advices on that topic

kind regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20263
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes there are only four channels .. and just limited ways to get around that ... you could use CCs to control stuff (CtrlRcv) .. the NoteRcv unfortunately will do just one note ... but at least they can do so on different MIDI channels ... then there is NoteZone mudule which can receive on freely selectable channels too but then it has to be routed to something and that is where it will stop it seems Confused

There are other ways too to make keyboard splits by using one of the keyboard modules and then splitting things out based on the note number it outputs.

The best way would be to have more G2s Wink

Edit: oh .. I forgot Embarassed

welcome Sonnentiger

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tim Kleinert



Joined: Mar 12, 2004
Posts: 1017
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Audio files: 6
G2 patch files: 211

PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Jan is right, splitting the keyboard within a slot is the only way to use it multitimbrally. The MIDI note spec covers 127 notes however, which is over 10 octaves. So, splitting the keyboard eg. in 3 will still give you over 3 octaves per zone.

I made a quick'n'dirty building block that demonstrates the most economic way to do this.
www.electro-music.com/forum/post-381360.html

_________________
beer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sonnentiger



Joined: Jan 08, 2013
Posts: 2
Location: Vienna

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ah, sounds nice! Actually, I was not not thinkin' of using more splits in the key range but instead of feeding more than 4 MIDI channels out of my sequencer parallel into the G2. E.g., I have a project with about 16 channels, and want any of those channels sending MIDI information to a different sound engine inside the G2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fac



Joined: Dec 08, 2007
Posts: 162
Location: Mexico
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

edit: bad idea, nevermind.
_________________
My music: http://cdbaby.com/all/fac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
mps board

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use