electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Rob Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
Random bum note!
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 2 [29 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 10:03 am    Post subject: Random bum note! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I've just bought an Andy. Seems to be in great nick but for one small problem( I hope).
Every now and then it will hit an out of tune note as if oscillators are heavily detuned. It can be anywhere on the keyboard at anytime. It's not any particular voice and it passes all tuning tests. I've done a soft reset to clear the tuning tables and as soon as I get a card I'll do a hard reset. Seems to be worse in user bank.
Corrupt patches or dusty contacts on keyboard? Haven't got around to playing Andy over midi yet to rule the keyboard out.
Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mefistophelees



Joined: Mar 06, 2011
Posts: 77
Location: l'Angleterre
Audio files: 4

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 11:33 am    Post subject: Re: Random bum note! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Make sure the temperature and other auto-tuning is off.
Leave it to warm 15 minutes.
Tune it.
Leave the auto tuning systems off.

Try that to see if it helps.

_________________
http://soundcloud.com/Mefistophelees
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks. Will try that tonight and let you know. There's a lot of debate about whether to leave tempeture tuning on. We'll see. Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Tried your suggestion. Helped a bit. The more I played it the less trouble I had. Wondering if my room is too cold. Doesn't seem to be any trouble in preset banks. User bank especially brass is giving the trouble. Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 4:11 pm    Post subject: Spoke too soon! Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thought everything was ok about voice out of tune. I spoke too soon.
Some presets just use one voice all the time. Others cycle through all 16. Monitoring this I found voice 12 to be the culprit. If I tune oscillator 2 to bring it back into tune all the others are out! Cant think what else to do except turn it off. Seems like I've bought a 15 voice Andy. Paid big money for it too. Bummer. Still love my Andy though. If I'm missing something I'd appreciate any advice.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 688
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

sometimes he does that, might well be it'll function again in some time...
otherwise, just turn it of.
find yourself one of those voicechips and when in service one day, have it replaced ( if he's still misbehaving then )
other thing you can do with it is give it a "voice out" and dedicate a mono patch for it with seperate output.
that way you can tune it seperately and still make use of it....
it's a pity, but luckily not voice 15/16 ....as you need them for the external in
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 6:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The weird thing is that now its staying in tune except the middle octave in the keyboard! Which is an improvement I suppose :. Don't want to chance reinstalling operating system as I may have a no voice Andy!
Thanks anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 688
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

nothing to do with the os i think,
maybe a bit with condense, electrolytic condensators and /or ( mostly likely ) a somewhat less good soundchip of that perticulair voice.

therefore i always say: when buying check every voice by pressing it , in solo, once for every of the 5 octaves of the keyboard..

oh , if they just had implemented a manual callibration function for the voices of the tuning tables.....
asked for it so often on the 404 forum in those years
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Aug 31, 2013 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Recognise your name as I read another post of yours AFTER I bought synth. The seller showed me it passing all tests. Too much emphasis on that test. Your test would have really shown up the voice. I don't know how anyone could sell a defective synth without pointing out the fault. I wouldn't have it on my conscience.
Anywhere I can get voice chip? Instrumental Parts seem to be out of it.I know some say you have to buy whole board. Others just the chip. Will talk to a great synth tech and see if he's worked on one. Otherwise I'll chalk it down to experience.
A friend laughed when he heard me complaining about only having 15! voices. Mind you he can afford to with a jp8, jp4, roland 101 etc etc.
Thanks for all your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 688
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2013 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i don't know on the moment where to buy spare chips, sorry.
if anybody has an idea please let it be known
a whole board is a bit expensive i think
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Located Alesis dealer who has voice chips in stock. It's the vco chip I'm looking for I presume? About $25. Will buy a few if I can. Beats buying a whole board. My keyboard tech has the specialist equipment needed to do the job.
Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Alesis engineers in Germany want a photograph of my voice board as there were different versions of the chip made down through the years! Are they hoping I'll give up and buy main board? Or maybe they're redecorating and want photos to cover the wall with Confused . Like pulling teeth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Got three voice chips from In Music in UK. They got them from Alesis in Germany. £80 including delivery. Fair price. Taking to my tech tomorrow. Fingers crossed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 688
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Silagemaker wrote:
Alesis engineers in Germany want a photograph of my voice board as there were different versions of the chip made down through the years! Are they hoping I'll give up and buy main board? Or maybe they're redecorating and want photos to cover the wall with Confused .

synthporn in its purest form i guess
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Embarassed Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Update. Received 3 voice chips from Germany through inMusic UK.
My tech discovered voice 13 needed replacing so started with that. First chip faulty second ok. Then voice 12 replaced. Can be forced into tune by leaving on bankground and temp tuning but fails autotune! Oscillator 1 band 17. Also vca band 14. Know some vca on voice chip but thought it was 11 to 13.
InMusic have offered to replace 2 faulty new voice chips but who's to know replacements will be any better.
Wait for the sequel of the sequel. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 688
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

is it the chips or the board?
bad luck indeed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The first chip we put into voice 13 didn't work. The second did so that probably rules out the board there. Voice 12 I don't know. We'll see. Wouldn't mind except all other voices are rock solid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 688
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Fri Nov 08, 2013 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

oke, understood
i also had 4 chips replaces, but all 4 were well, so indeed bad luck probably
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Boy. I'm really up the swany now.
Someone posted here on forum not to mess with Andy as you could end up with no voice Andy! How right he was!
Found tech with smd machine to put on replacement chips for faulty ones I'd bought.
They insisted as board was on machine to reseat all chips on voice board. Now all voices are out of tune. Filters are bad. Everything.
They're puzzled. I'm sick.
What could have gone wrong? The machine just reflows solder. Doesn't even move chips. Could it be different solder?
May have to buy new board. What if that's faulty? Instrumental Parts in states can supply but no returns.
Any technical help on why resoldering chips would cause them to go so wrong would be appreciated.
Ps Needless to say two replaced chips are just whistling. Faulty in the different way to the others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Tech guy insists that reflowing solder couldn't cause all the problems I'm having so replacing ribbon cables which he says are poor quality anyway.
Fingers crossed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 688
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

they became too warm , distroyed ?
why resolder the chips. just had to replace one or so ??
if the ribboncable won't fix it, maybe a voiceboard will.
i don't know any good technicians in your neigbourhoud for the a6 i'm sad to say
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2014 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Heat could have affected them. No one asked him to resolder. I may need a new board.
I'll know tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silagemaker



Joined: Aug 01, 2013
Posts: 36
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Decided to buy a new voice board.
Fitted and passes all tuning tests EXCEPT voice 16 is out of tune in the middle octave which was the original problem last august but with voice 12!
I presume we could return it but think I'll leave it.
I'm a broken man😂.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sunny pedaal



Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 688
Location: netherlands
Audio files: 12

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

when back in business
find yourself a real technician and let him change ONLY chip 15/16

that'll fix it
they can do it while you wait.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 2 [29 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use