electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
  Twyndyllyngs Special Monday edition of Chez Mosc
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
voltage regulator precision
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
aletropot



Joined: Jun 10, 2012
Posts: 33
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:32 am    Post subject: voltage regulator precision Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi all?

How precise needs to be a synth psu?
A 15V bipolar with 14.75V and -15.05V its acceptable?
If not, what kind of problems this can make?

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20536
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes, those voltages will be fine.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aletropot



Joined: Jun 10, 2012
Posts: 33
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks.

Even if the diference its bigger, like 13v and -15v?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20536
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

13 Volt would be a bit low, and could be due too overloading the supply a bit or indicate a wiring problem ... I'd look into that ...

When a 15 Volt regulator really outputs 13 Volt (measured on the device itself) I would replace it.

When however the voltage at the regulator is about 15 Volt but the voltage on the synth parts is only 13 Volt I'd have a look at thee wiring and the current consumption.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xpmtl



Joined: Aug 10, 2007
Posts: 158
Location: Brussels, Belgium

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Also, and Blue Hell correct me if i'm wrong, you need to measure your voltages under load cause it can make quite a difference in the readings.
_________________
http://sdiy.xpmtl.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20536
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yes, measure under load.
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PHOBoS



Joined: Jan 14, 2010
Posts: 1707
Location: Moon Base
Audio files: 346

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The voltage levels themselves aren't that important as long as they are stable and of course within a certain range (feeding something with +/- 9V
which requires +/- 15V is not really a recipe for success). Sometimes there are reference voltages derived from the powerrails (not really a good method
btw) but a good circuit should have an option to adjust it if it's a level that needs to be very accurate (V/Oct VCO's come to mind). So as long as your
supply gives out a stable voltage you should be good to go.

_________________
"My perf, it's full of holes!"
http://phobos.000space.com/ http://www.acidtrash.com/ Stickney Synthyards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
aletropot



Joined: Jun 10, 2012
Posts: 33
Location: Amsterdam

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I was getting the first values, I was just wondering what kind of fails a lower voltage gives.
For sure the p-p waveform voltage its lower, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PHOBoS



Joined: Jan 14, 2010
Posts: 1707
Location: Moon Base
Audio files: 346

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

That depends very much on the circuit itself. For a circuit with digital chips for example the output is very close to the supply voltage so if that's lower the
output will be too. However circuits that process a signal often have an output voltage independent of the supply voltage but related to the input
voltage. Of course the supply voltage has to be high enough else the signal would clip and then it does effect the output level.

_________________
"My perf, it's full of holes!"
http://phobos.000space.com/ http://www.acidtrash.com/ Stickney Synthyards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
new voodoo



Joined: May 06, 2013
Posts: 90
Location: RVA USA

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

aletropot wrote:
I was getting the first values, I was just wondering what kind of fails a lower voltage gives.

this should be in the data sheet. Ive forgotten the terminology, but generally i think its less than certain voltage of the regulator's last two digits.
You'll be able to tell..it'll put out a straight line on the scope and you can lower the voltage a bit, etc then suddenly it'll go all wonky. Thats where it fails. (this all refers to a fixed reg of course)

_________________
www.newvoodoodesign.com
-my creations, bends & bendable pieces
-vintage parts & tubes, IC's & audio chips
-oddities & weird
newvoodoo.blogspot.com
-bending DIY/projects
-crap
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: jksuperstar, Scott Stites, Uncle Krunkus
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use