electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Problems with Nomad Editor
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
sleepypete



Joined: Feb 11, 2014
Posts: 4
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 10:22 pm    Post subject: Problems with Nomad Editor Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello all, my name Pete, I am Nord Modular 1 user and somewhat new to this board. Thank you in advance for your patience and any help you may be able to lend.

So, I had been successfully using the Classic Editor within Oracle Virtual Box (Win XP) on Mavericks 10.9.2 with a Mio iConnectivity. Moving the Modular to my studio, I expected to use the same setup with Virtual Box, but was pleasantly surprised to find that Nomad works with my Modular on 10.9.5 by itself. I really like the layout, functionality, and graphical touches within Nomad. I am having some problems though and am hoping for some insight. When attempting to open various patches I have, some will open and some will not. I've made sure that they're all Nord Modular 3.0 patches. I thought I had the problem solved as I realized that any patches named with 16 or more characters could be opened within Nomad, but not from Nomad to the Modular. So, it seemed like a simple fix and in fact worked on several patches that I gave 15 or less characters to. However, I began to find more patches listed as Modular 3.0 patches that wouldn't open in the Modular at all, regardless of whether I had to re-name them or not. I'll post a couple examples here, both broken and working. Hopefully someone here can spot what the issue is.


Broken

Patch name: D&Bbass01.pch


[Header]
Version=Nord Modular patch 3.0
0 127 0 127 1 0 0 1 4000 2 1 0 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
[/Header]
[ModuleDump]
1 1 58 0 2
2 62 0 11
8 103 0 14
10 4 1 30
13 81 0 25
15 21 0 18
17 81 0 27
11 118 0 31
31 1 0 0
3 94 1 27
4 81 0 29
6 51 2 21
5 4 2 30
7 81 2 19
9 81 2 17
12 81 2 15
14 94 2 27
[/ModuleDump]
[CurrentNoteDump]
64 64 64 64 0 0
[/CurrentNoteDump]
[CableDump]
1 0 8 0 0 2 0 1
0 13 0 0 15 0 1
0 17 0 0 13 0 1
1 1 2 0 31 0 1
0 15 0 0 8 0 1
0 10 0 0 3 0 1
0 10 1 0 3 1 1
0 11 0 0 4 0 1
0 4 0 0 17 0 1
0 3 0 0 11 0 1
0 12 0 0 11 0 1
0 2 0 0 1 0 1
2 1 0 0 31 1 1
0 6 2 0 7 0 1
0 7 0 0 9 0 1
0 9 0 0 12 0 1
0 14 0 0 6 0 1
0 5 1 0 14 1 1
0 5 0 0 14 0 1
[/CableDump]
[ParameterDump]
1
1 58 16 32 61 64 18 127 127 90 101 40 12 1 65 64 0 0 0
2 62 2 0 65
3 94 3 64 0 0
4 81 1 127
5 4 3 127 0 0
6 51 10 0 1 0 53 119 0 93 1 0 0
7 81 1 127
8 103 5 127 11 31 0 127
9 81 1 127
10 4 3 100 0 0
11 118 5 1 104 0 0 0
12 81 1 127
13 81 1 127
14 94 3 64 0 0
15 21 9 0 3 10 0 28 4 0 0 0
17 81 1 127
[/ParameterDump]
[MorphMapDump]
54 56 0 127
1 1 2 0 12 1 2 1 0 127 1 3 1 0 127 1 6 3 1 52 1 11 0 2 3 1 14 1 1 127
[/MorphMapDump]
[KnobMapDump]
2 1 0 0
2 1 1 1
2 1 2 2
[/KnobMapDump]
[CtrlMapDump]
[/CtrlMapDump]
[CustomDump]
1
6 1 0
[/CustomDump]
[NameDump]
1
1 Kick
2 Overdrive1
3 StChorus1
4 Amplifier1
5 2 outputs1
6 FilterE1
7 Amplifier2
8 EqMid1
9 Amplifier3
10 DrillNBass
11 dirty it up
12 Amplifier4
13 poweramp
14 StChorus2
15 Compressor
17 poweramp
31 Keyboard1
[/NameDump]


Working

LFO Rhythm Pad with Panning.pch (Rename as test or whatever you'd like under 16 characters)

[Header]
Version=Nord Modular patch 3.0
0 127 0 127 2 0 0 3 663 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
[/Header]
[ModuleDump]
1
1 24 1 22
3 20 2 3
4 31 0 18
5 1 0 0
6 20 1 9
7 8 0 9
8 4 2 15
9 19 0 15
10 7 0 3
12 24 1 17
13 51 1 3
2 47 2 11
[/ModuleDump]
[ModuleDump]
0
[/ModuleDump]
[CurrentNoteDump]
65 40 15 65 32 15 62 40 27 58 58 14
[/CurrentNoteDump]
[CableDump]
1
0 9 2 0 4 0 1
0 9 0 0 10 0 1
0 13 2 0 9 0 1
0 3 0 0 13 0 1
2 3 1 0 5 1 1
2 6 1 0 5 1 1
0 9 1 0 7 0 1
1 3 3 0 5 2 1
1 13 1 0 12 1 1
0 2 0 0 3 1 1
0 8 0 0 2 0 1
0 8 1 0 2 1 1
1 2 1 0 1 1 1
[/CableDump]
[CableDump]
0
[/CableDump]
[ParameterDump]
1
1 24 8 31 2 0 0 0 0 64 0
2 47 2 43 64
3 20 6 0 0 100 109 77 0
4 31 1 127
6 20 6 2 49 76 95 87 0
7 8 9 64 62 64 2 0 0 0 0 0
8 4 3 127 0 0
9 19 3 127 127 0
10 7 10 64 66 64 64 2 0 0 0 0 0
12 24 8 42 2 4 0 0 0 64 0
13 51 10 0 1 33 96 64 73 30 1 0 0
[/ParameterDump]
[ParameterDump]
0
[/ParameterDump]
[KnobMapDump]
1 8 0 15
1 13 5 17
[/KnobMapDump]
[CustomDump]
1
7 1 0
10 1 0
13 1 0
[/CustomDump]
[CustomDump]
0
[/CustomDump]
[NameDump]
1
1 LFOA1
2 Pan1
3 Amp Env
4 Noise1
5 Keyboard1
6 Filt Env
7 Osc 2
8 2 outputs1
9 Osc Mix
10 Osc 1
12 LFOA1
13 Filter
[/NameDump]
[NameDump]
0
[/NameDump]



I have more examples if anybody needs them. Thanks in advance for any help you all can offer, you are appreciated!


Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22785
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 231
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hmm the broken one has an & in the name ...

Having an issue with 16 characters or more .. there could be a reason for that .. on the Nord itself names can not be longer than 16 characters. Anything named shorter has a trailing zero character to indicate the end, everything 16 characters or longer does not have that. Or at last that is how I recall it. Anyway, there could easily be a code mistake with that ...

_________________
Jan
also .. please don't march .. we are on a bridge right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22785
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 231
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

O .. and welcome
_________________
Jan
also .. please don't march .. we are on a bridge right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sleepypete



Joined: Feb 11, 2014
Posts: 4
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 2:15 pm    Post subject: Thanks for chiming it Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for posting and for the welcome, Jan :] And apologies for the tardy response, but life has been incredibly busy over the last couple of days.

So, I thought about the "&" in the patch name as well. When testing the longer or oddly named patches, I rename them as "test", and they still don't function. And in regards to the Nord itself, my Modular does have patch names within it that are 16 characters or longer. So, there's something else in these patches that the Nomad editor can't communicate to the Modular.

I may have to get back with Virtual box. Everyone and anyone: Is this the newest rev of the Nomad software for OS X?

http://nmedit.sourceforge.net/

Is there anything else I'm missing? Perhaps a re-installation would help, too.



Thanks again all!

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sleepypete



Joined: Feb 11, 2014
Posts: 4
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 2:20 pm    Post subject: Solved, with New Issue Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:
Hmm the broken one has an & in the name ...

Having an issue with 16 characters or more .. there could be a reason for that .. on the Nord itself names can not be longer than 16 characters. Anything named shorter has a trailing zero character to indicate the end, everything 16 characters or longer does not have that. Or at last that is how I recall it. Anyway, there could easily be a code mistake with that ...



Jan, I have isolated the problem. Any patch that has Morph Knobs with values greater than 0 can't be opened on the G1. While the Nomad can open them without issue, if you attempt to drag them from the editing pane to one of the G1's four available slots, it returns an error. The fix is seemingly simple: if you drag the Morph knobs to zero, the patch will load as long as its name is 15 characters or less.

This, however, has led to a flaw in the Nomad I'm hoping someone has a workaround or answer to. Morphs don't work within patches opened from your computer. I've tried opening many patches with Morphs, making sure to zero them out initially so they would load via dragging and dropping, and the Morph Knobs won't move the parameters assigned to them. The Nomad reads the knob movement on the G1 itself, but it doesn't move any of the parameters assigned to it in the Morph. All other assignments work as they should. I tried saving the patch in the synth as a workaround as the Morphs worked with the factory and previously stored patches from the previous owner of my G1. However, when saved in the synth with Nomad, the patches don't save their Morph data ranges, rending any design with Morphing useless. I've tried this with both an iConnectivity Mio and a 4x4 MidiSport.

Anybody out there have any ideas or input? I spent an entire day isolating the problem, analyzing .pch files until I found out the Morph issues. I like Nomad very much, but Morphs are such a powerful feature with the G1, I'd probably have to go back to the Virtualbox world, a quirky and disconnected feeling. Thanks for reading and for any suggestions,

Pete
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22785
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 231
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Oh! great find! .. I mean Confused .. it is too bad indeed that morphs will not properly work .. but at least someone could go into the source code now to fix it.
_________________
Jan
also .. please don't march .. we are on a bridge right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sleepypete



Joined: Feb 11, 2014
Posts: 4
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Maaaaaan, Nomad is such a tease. I mean, it gets you right to the edge but doesn't give you full satisfaction.... I seem to have a case of Modular blue-balls Shocked

What kind of commission would it take to fix the Morph issue? Any programmers out there interested?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 22785
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 231
G2 patch files: 319

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

PITA eh ... Shocked

Sorry ... my java is underdeveloped .. it's not going to be me ... besides I have a hobby already Laughing

_________________
Jan
also .. please don't march .. we are on a bridge right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » NM Classic (NM1 or G1)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use