electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » MusicFromOuterSpace.com designs by Ray Wilson
Single bus keyboard stripboard layout
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: dnny, Uncle Krunkus, v-un-v
Page 1 of 3 [51 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
SuperKoopa



Joined: Aug 26, 2005
Posts: 70
Location: Italy
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:12 pm    Post subject:  Single bus keyboard stripboard layout
Subject description: Uncle Krunkus' stripboard layout
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hi!
have anyone the strip board layout of the single bus keyboard?

maybe mr. uncle-krunkus can do it! Very Happy

pleeeeeeeeeaaaaaase!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 5:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you check the post about the Baleani organ I found you'll know that I have two of these single bus circuits which need to be built. And I will be doing a stripboard layout soon, but....
I'm on holidays from TAFE, I've just moved my entire workshop to a different room of the house, we've got friends from Sydney coming up on Tuesday (BBQ/Partying/etc), and I've re-loaded Quake3 so I can practice for an upcoming LAN party I've been invited to.
So,............... I'll get onto that layout ASAP. Laughing
See ya,
Andrew
P.S. You're lucky I checked the forum tonight. I might not have seen you're post for another week! Send me a PM if you want to be sure I'll see it soon.

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SuperKoopa



Joined: Aug 26, 2005
Posts: 70
Location: Italy
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 4:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

my project is this:
i will use this bontempi air pump keybord as a case , a keyboard and as a new voice going thru the sound lab. i mean: i will add a mic in inside the keyboard for capture his very noisy sound, i will amplify this signal and add a pot in the mixer section.so i can put the vintage sound of this bontempi thru vca and vcf.in the same time the keyboard will give a CV and A gate control and drive my SL.
I want just two octaves (=2volts) so i must use a +/-12V or i can use a +/-9V instead?
can i use this ?
http://www.geofex.com/circuits/+9_to_-9.htm


9.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  24.91 KB
 Viewed:  21708 Time(s)

9.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The +/-9V supply is fine. But I'm not sure whether the charge dumper will cut it. The SL needs two fairly full (preferably alkaline for their reduced internal resistance) 9Vs to run well. If you compromise that at all the supply rails can easily get contaminated by the digital chips.
Also, once you put the single bus keyboard to CV converter in there, your batteries are going to work harder anyway. I'd recommend shifting to a +/-12V transformer power option. This makes it difficult for portability. You could try 2*12V SLA batteries, but that's probably too heavy.

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have started the layout for the single bus CV stripboard.
It's quite big, and I'll need to double check it, so I estimate Thurs or Friday.
See ya,
Andrew

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Here it is.
I've double checked it but I haven't built it yet, (I will soon)
Same designators as Ray's schematic. Watch IC3: -It's the only one upside down. There are 52 links, check them. Any questions, you know where to find me Wink
Have fun.
Andrew


sb_cv_g-1-w.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  60.72 KB
 Viewed:  21564 Time(s)

sb_cv_g-1-w.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Here's the copper side cutting guide.


sb_cv_g_cs-w.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  50.98 KB
 Viewed:  21566 Time(s)

sb_cv_g_cs-w.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pehr



Joined: Aug 14, 2005
Posts: 1307
Location: Björkvik, Sweden
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wow, thats nice Smile What software do you use?
_________________
YouTube channel
flickr photostream
http://loxodrom.blogspot.com
http://www.garageband.com/artist/loxodrom
http://soundcloud.com/loxodrom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 6:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks,
It's called Lochmaster. It's by a German company, Abacom: -
http://www.abacom-online.de/default.html
I've got version 2.0
There's a version 3 now which uses much more realistic pics of components.
I'm going to start building that board in the next few days. I'll let you know how it goes.

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
v-un-v
Janitor
Janitor


Joined: May 16, 2005
Posts: 8932
Location: Birmingham, England, UK
Audio files: 11
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 1:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

- classic example why we need to clear up the SL forum. I went looking for the previous link for this the other day- but eventually gave up after wading through page upon page :evil:

Thanks Uncle-K 4 posting the link again :) I know there is a specific place for links but how many times do people here use it? I'll set up a link 2 links announcement page soon :)

I really hope that these products will work in iEmulator (PC emulator for Mac)- as I mailed abacom asking if they would do an OSX port and I got no answer. I really do find that anti-Macuser attitude a bit backward :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Just a quick post to let everyone know that this stripboard layout for the single bus to CV+Gate board works perfectly. I hooked mine up tonight for the first time and now the old Baleani organ is starting to sound like a (slightly out of tune) SH101. I haven't adjusted my 1V/Oct pots yet so it's pretty damn good just straight off the bench. Very Happy
_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Wild Zebra



Joined: Apr 28, 2005
Posts: 806
Location: Ohio
Audio files: 5

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for update Unkle, funny how you forget about these posts til someone brings em back to life.
_________________
"your stripes are killer bro"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Basthian



Joined: Jun 03, 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi!

I can't find any LT1112. Is there some else ic I can use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Check Ray's site, he talks about using cheaper ones. I put a TL072 in mine, and it works just fine.
_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Basthian



Joined: Jun 03, 2006
Posts: 11
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Uncle Krunkus wrote:
Check Ray's site, he talks about using cheaper ones. I put a TL072 in mine, and it works just fine.


Ok, Thanks for the fast answer. If you used 072 then I'll do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dnny



Joined: Mar 12, 2005
Posts: 519
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Audio files: 8

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Wild Zebra wrote:
Thanks for update Unkle, funny how you forget about these posts til someone brings em back to life.


that's true - so i made this post as announcement. i think all of Andrews layouts should be on the top.

daniel

_________________
Association of experimental electronics
www.koelse.org
flickr: cable porn group
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hey, thanks Daniel! Smile
It's nice to feel appreciated. Cool

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
henq



Joined: Nov 29, 2006
Posts: 23
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

i cant find the LM3900...
could i use something else?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Sorry it took a while to get back to you Henq.
I looked around, but I can't find any mention on Ray's site about substitutes for the LM3900. I found one relativly easily, so I never thought much more of it. I got it from Jaycar, which is not where I go for "rare" chips, so I assume they are common. To be honest, I haven't looked into the circuit theory enough to know why he used an LM3900 anyway.

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20536
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 5:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

From http://www.synthdiy.com/show/showproduct.asp?show=93

Quote:
it is important to stress that the LM3900 is not a regular quad opamp: instead of Vout = A*(Vin+ - Vin-) (which is what a regular opamp does; the output voltage equals A times the voltage difference between the +/- input terminals) the LM3900 basically delivers Vout = A*(Iin+ - Iin-), i.e. the output voltage equals A times the input current difference between the +/- inputs. As a consequence the LM3900 as low-impedance inputs, in contrast to regular opamps which should have high-impedance inputs.


Texas Interuments refers to these as Norton Operational Amplifiers, they also list the National Semiconductors LM2900 as a substitute (or actualy their's as a sub for the NS devices).

Googling on "quad norton amp" I found Motorola's MC3301 and MC3401 - but I did not check the data sheets on those.

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
henq



Joined: Nov 29, 2006
Posts: 23
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

thanx for the replies!
i'm building the stripboard right now, and its comming along nicely.
there are a couple of things not realy clear in the picture mostly becouse its not realy high resolution, i mistook R15 for R16 and for the diodes that are standing up i had to look up in the schematic witch way they went...
for the rest, superb work, thanx a lot for the design!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 2:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

If you'd like a higher res pic, just PM me. Any other questions, don't hesitate to ask. Smile
_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
henq



Joined: Nov 29, 2006
Posts: 23
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

thanks a lot for the high res pic!
its very helpful.
maybe you could host it somewhere and post a link here, it might help other people too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
henq



Joined: Nov 29, 2006
Posts: 23
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

today i started working on the keyboard, bus soon found out that the switches that are in the keyboard (an old jvc) have a resistance of there own (and of course not 100 ohm, but apox 170 ohm)

pretty clever to make those switches but now my 100 ohm resistor chain thing is not going to work...

is there a way to mod the circuit to work with a 170 to 190 ohm chain?
(not all the switches have the same resistance..)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uncle Krunkus
Moderator


Joined: Jul 11, 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Sydney, Australia
Audio files: 52
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You want a 1 Volt drop per octave, which is .08333 Volt per semitone. Now, if each semitone has a 100R resistor then you'd need .8333 mA running through the resistor chain. Which you can dial up with the trimpot in the constant current source R8(500R). To get the same result for a 170R chain, you divide .08333 by 170, which gives you .4901 mA running through the resistor chain. If you can't dial that up (and I think you could) then we get on the blower to Ray and ask him.
I should point out though that if they are somewhere between 170 and 190 ohms each, then you're not going to get an even tempered scale. They really need to be within 1% deviation across all the resistors.
Can you take a photo and post it here?

_________________
What makes a space ours, is what we put there, and what we do there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: dnny, Uncle Krunkus, v-un-v
Page 1 of 3 [51 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » MusicFromOuterSpace.com designs by Ray Wilson
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use