electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Jez Adventures in Sound
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
change in a patch's volume/timbre when changing voice count
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
cebec



Joined: Apr 19, 2004
Posts: 1064
Location: Virginia
Audio files: 3
G2 patch files: 31

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 9:37 pm    Post subject: change in a patch's volume/timbre when changing voice count Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

does anyone know what this is about? say i have a patch with just an osc., filter, and output. the patch sounds different in mono mode all the way up to 32 voices... each voice count sounds different! i'm not talking about recalculation, either... it literally seems to grow louder as i step up the number of voices.

i just noticed this...i rtfm but couldn't find anything to describe this behavior.
seems like it has some relation to poly/mono modes on LFOs, for example. thing is, the patch i'm using as an example doesn't have any LFOs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Afro88



Joined: Jun 20, 2004
Posts: 701
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Audio files: 12
G2 patch files: 79

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Could you post the patch you're refering to?

Do you have any midi modules in the patch? Sounds intruiging...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Roland Kuit



Joined: Sep 29, 2003
Posts: 1091
Location: The Netherlands/Sweden
Audio files: 8
G2 patch files: 127

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 6:29 am    Post subject: volume Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I think, if you have a mono patch with more voices, the G2 generates it just more times and and thus it multiples the volume and it will be monophonic still.
_________________
Roland Kuit
----------------------------
composer|research|synthesis|sound design|lecturer
http://rolandkuit.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cebec



Joined: Apr 19, 2004
Posts: 1064
Location: Virginia
Audio files: 3
G2 patch files: 31

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

ould be right, roland... kind of along the lines i was thinking. here's the patch, though... no MIDI modules...

just step the voice count up...


saw.pch2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  saw.pch2
 Filesize:  968 Bytes
 Downloaded:  851 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mosc
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 31, 2003
Posts: 17618
Location: Allentown, PA
Audio files: 125
G2 patch files: 60

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You have a polyphonic patch. When you increase the number of voices you are essentially making more synths play in unison. One would expect the volume to increase. I'm not sure the timbre should change though, but I don't think there is anything in your patch to force sync of the oscillators. I suspect this is the cause of the timbre changes. If you put in an ADSR or some other envelope then the individual notes sound the same.
_________________
--Howard
my music and other stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20559
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 147
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I had not noticed this yet for the G2, for the NM Classic it was normal behaviour as the phase relations between signals change on recompilation (by inserting or moving a module or a cable) or a patch reload or a change in voice count.

When it's a problem there are two things that can help:

1- Fixing the phase relations by syncing oscillators (by connecting their sync inputs to a common sync source (like the patch active output of the status module, to be found on the in/out tab)).

2 - Unfixing the phase relation by making the phase relation more dynamic, for instance by detuning oscillators slightly or by introducing a very small amount of FM modulation.

The first method will kill all the changes possibly resulting into a more static sound, the 2nd approach might give more natural sounding results.

Jan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
AngusHastie



Joined: Aug 04, 2004
Posts: 136
Location: London, England
Audio files: 2
G2 patch files: 15

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I find I get changes in sound quite a lot depending on the number of voices, especially if you switch between mono and poly.
But all the stuff I do on the G2 is for live performance with a band so I just find the combination of patches with the right polyphony (depending often on DSP load) and save it as a Performance for ever more. I can't really envisage a situation where I need to change polyphony (or even where DSP limitations force a change) on the fly....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Afro88



Joined: Jun 20, 2004
Posts: 701
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Audio files: 12
G2 patch files: 79

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Blue Hell wrote:
1- Fixing the phase relations by syncing oscillators (by connecting their sync inputs to a common sync source (like the patch active output of the status module, to be found on the in/out tab)).


Once again a very elegant solution I had not yet thought of. Thanks Blue Hell! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use