electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Faux Pas Quartet and friends Music From Last Thursday
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » News... » Apple Computers
Apple Logic Studio
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 2 of 2 [33 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
phog masheeen



Joined: Mar 02, 2007
Posts: 13
Location: California

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 8:00 pm    Post subject: Getting started with logic.
Subject description: Getting started with logic.
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

bbinkovitz wrote:
so, any tips on getting started with logic?


I did brute force learning with the manual for the things that I absolutely needed to know right off the bat.

Then the Apple store offered a free class on thursday on Logic. That was very helpful. You might check and see if the apple store out your way offers such a thing. I brought a list of questions every time I went and they always got answered.

The new version is much less daunting than 7. I am enjoying it greatly!
It is very stable for me. Which is why I moved to Logic from Cubase. I do miss the Cubase audio engine though! The tape emulation setting was cool!

_________________
http://phogmasheeen.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bbinkovitz



Joined: Jun 12, 2006
Posts: 338
Location: central ohio
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm starting to figure it out enough to have fun with it, although I'm still a long ways off from knowing what the hell I'm doing. Of course, I tend to be more creative when I'm attempting to get around my ignorance instead of just cracking the manual all the time (sort of like when I'm avoiding laundry and dishes by dong my homework and vice versa) so maybe some good stuff will come out of this before I ruin it by learning how to use it!
_________________
solo: http://www.myspace.com/skippyvodka
member of: http://24hoursthegirl.com
(a subsidiary of: http://ruori.org/ )
distro: http://paperisbad.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Fugazi



Joined: Dec 07, 2005
Posts: 2
Location: Philadelphia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Maybe in tiger but not in Leopard... Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

phog masheeen wrote:


I upgraded to leopard and it killed my logic 7. I was told that there was no way to get Logic 7 to work properly under Leopard. So I upgraded to Logic 8.

I was using an academic copy of Logic 7. Which would not work with the upgrade package. My work-around was to borrow a dongle from a friend with commercial version. It installed fine.

I hope that helps...

PS the workflow with the new interface is great!


Bummer. That's one more reason for me to not upgrade to leopard. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
W.T.



Joined: Jul 11, 2004
Posts: 262
Location: The Netherlands
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 11

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hello,

does anyone know if the alu imac 20" 2.4 / 4gb ram is suitable to work with logic 8, sins my macbook gets broken from time to time i need a substitute.

I only use hardware and logic to record that, but i do use the fx pluggins. not intensively because i also use a liquid mix.

I could be wanted to use about 20 to 40 (mono or stereo) audio tracks per project. And i also want to is it for doing surround productions (4.0 /5.1)in the near future. sinds i am on a budget and own logic. the alu apple seems a ok option.

but.. is it powerful enough? does it make irritating noise like my macbook when it gets to busy with playing a movie (bad video card) or just gets to hot.
to irritating.

i hope someone good share a experience or some knowledge on this, but i need to be guided to another forum which specializes in these quistion.

i have been searching the net but with very less (reed non at al until now)

thanks in advance. thumb up

W.T.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Static Motion



Joined: Nov 03, 2007
Posts: 24
Location: Amsterdam
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi W.T.

I'm using a imac like you discribed, with 2gb ram with no problems at all...
I have a Focusrite Saffire pro 26.
It's certainly powerfull enough for my needs...
It can run 40 audiotracks with no problem, and makes practically no noise at all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
W.T.



Joined: Jul 11, 2004
Posts: 262
Location: The Netherlands
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 11

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 4:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

thanks, that sounds good.

still waiting for the new imacs to come out, one of these days . . .
(please let there still be fire wire on it.) Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
seraph
Editor
Editor


Joined: Jun 21, 2003
Posts: 12051
Location: Firenze, Italy
Audio files: 31
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

W.T. wrote:

(please let there still be fire wire on it.) Mad


FireWire 800 Question

_________________
homepage - blog - forum - youtube

Quote:
Politics is the entertainment division of the military industrial complex - Frank Zappa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
W.T.



Joined: Jul 11, 2004
Posts: 262
Location: The Netherlands
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 11

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

seraph wrote:
W.T. wrote:

(please let there still be fire wire on it.) Mad


FireWire 800 Question



I rather have 400 because my fire wire machineries Smile

but seriously, any kind of fw will do!


fingers crossed I guess . .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 2 of 2 [33 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » News... » Apple Computers
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
emSynth

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use