electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
have a noodle change variations
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [20 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Morgan



Joined: Aug 03, 2008
Posts: 23
Location: TX
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 2

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:17 am    Post subject: have a noodle change variations Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'd like to have a patch automatically switch variations. I use the midi modules for this, right?

I've previously not used midi in any significant way. Perhaps one of the masters can suggest a course of study?


thanks all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20274
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 11:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Yup use a midi CC send and set it to CC70 and to one of the internal midi channels (slota ... slotd). when done within the same patch it might get a bit confusing at first Wink
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Does this modify the whole patch? Like randomization? Is there any way to confide the changes to specific modules? When adjusting a knob on a midi controller does it slightly change the whole patch randomly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok. I only want to do one thing. I read about the midi variations Smile

I just want to have a morph knob be controlled by a midi controller and that morph knob send random midi cc values.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20274
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ah ok ... well in that case give the morph a CC number (right click on its knob), and send random signals to that CC...
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

can you use a morph knob to send random cc's to any part of the patch? i know you can send random cc's from a midi controller. i'm interested in sending random cc's from the morph itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ian-s



Joined: Apr 01, 2004
Posts: 2564
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Audio files: 42
G2 patch files: 600

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

buzzr wrote:
can you use a morph knob to send random cc's to any part of the patch? i know you can send random cc's from a midi controller. i'm interested in sending random cc's from the morph itself.


The position of a morph knob can be controlled with a CC, random or not. The morph can then affect any knob or group of knobs in the patch by an arbitrary amount. You can use up to 8 morph groups at one time in a patch, each with it's own CC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The question is can you run randomized CC's from a Morph knob?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20274
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I'm not understanding properly I'm afraid ... what exactly should it do?
_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
egw



Joined: Feb 01, 2003
Posts: 1507
Location: Asheville NC
G2 patch files: 8

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You can easily send randomized CCs from a knob (using midi send), but you don't need a morph to do that.
_________________
www.gregwaltzer.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sat Feb 28, 2009 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok. Say I have a morph knob. One of 8. Say I want to use it to adjust 2 oscillator pitches. But instead of it sending 0-127 in a straight line it sends it randomly. In other words, the morph knob sends random cc values instead of linear values. So the pitch jumps randomly instead of normally.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3618
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 254
G2 patch files: 95

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hmm, something to the effect of this?

Slot B uses the control sequencer to scramble values from a knob - assign this knob to a morph if you want to.

Slot A uses what seems an overly complicated set of modules to scramble every position a knob can have. I haven't been able to find a nice and easy way to detect change in this way, maybe someone else has a better trick.

Anyway, I don't think it's possible to intercept the value a morph knob sends and randomize it - anything more complicated than just setting a value has to be done in the modules.

/Stefan


random_change.prf2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  random_change.prf2
 Filesize:  3.86 KB
 Downloaded:  597 Time(s)


_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Something like that yes. Kind of odd that there is no function that I can find so far to assign random to a morph. Kind of overlooking the obvious I think clavia Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I do see in many patches, especially noodles where a random is assigned to a morph knob. How is this done?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 3618
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 254
G2 patch files: 95

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

buzzr wrote:
I do see in many patches, especially noodles where a random is assigned to a morph knob. How is this done?


I have to say that I haven't seen this myself. Can you point out an example?

/Stefan

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Many of Blue Hells patches have it. You look at a morph knob and it's randomly changing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20274
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Erm well, I do this :

Blue Hell wrote:
Ah ok ... well in that case give the morph a CC number (right click on its knob), and send random signals to that CC...


Shocked

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Very Happy Ok. So, how is this done? Say I assign Morph one to controller 15. Now what do I do? Sorry this is a beginners question. I'm using a homemade hardwired midi controller and I can easily program random CC values using the software Midipipe, but I would rather the G2 do all this stuff without a computer. Ughh..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blue Hell
Site Admin


Joined: Apr 03, 2004
Posts: 20274
Location: The Netherlands, Enschede
Audio files: 143
G2 patch files: 318

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Use a MIDI CC send module, connect an unipolar random signal to it's value input, set the CC value in the CC send module to the one you associated with the morph knob and set the Chan(nel) to SlotA (or when the patch is in another slot use that slot instead).

But be sure to click on the MIDI CC module and then press F1, otherwise it might not work Wink

_________________
Jan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
buzzr



Joined: Dec 13, 2007
Posts: 360
Location: portland
Audio files: 1
G2 patch files: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2009 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ok. Works perfectly. Now here is my combination of Blue Hell and Antimons ideas...

Thanks for the help guys Very Happy


Random.prf2
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Random.prf2
 Filesize:  3 KB
 Downloaded:  607 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [20 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Nord Modular G2 Discussion
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
mps board

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use