electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » YuSynth
A NEW (IMPROVED) VERSION OF THE YUSYNTH ADSR
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites
Page 2 of 2 [44 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
questionable



Joined: Aug 27, 2006
Posts: 42
Location: southern california

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks, Yves, for the nice redesign. I've just etched 3 boards this morning and will be building them shortly.
_________________
Sounds Questionable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
furio



Joined: Dec 25, 2009
Posts: 105
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks Yves!


YusynthADSR-V2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  699.45 KB
 Viewed:  128 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

YusynthADSR-V2.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Excellent Cool
_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
iopop3



Joined: May 28, 2010
Posts: 95
Location: Malmö, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 1:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Started on my ADSR boards last weekend, noticed a tiny error in the bom.

The number of 1N4148s should be 5 not 4. D5 is missing.

Also the D5 configuration is quite interesting, whats the purpose? I can think of a few reasons, but none of them feels right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HexInverter



Joined: Aug 21, 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2012 10:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Just built a dual one of these in my 5U Serge-style format. Besides the usual blemishing on the panel from acid eating away irregularly, I think they turned out great. They work very well! Thanks for the excellent design, Yves Smile

When I first built them, my LEDs were not working. I did observe correct envelope generation on my oscilloscope, though, so was confused. I did some searching and found the thread where you described that the LED and D5 were reverse biased. I swapped them around and now they work great Smile

Here are a couple of photos!


3.2.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  94.7 KB
 Viewed:  86 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

3.2.jpg



3.1.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  106.37 KB
 Viewed:  97 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

3.1.jpg



3.3.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  83.22 KB
 Viewed:  81 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

3.3.jpg



_________________
hexinverter.net -- Shop DIY projects and modules for modular synthesis

sympleSEQ -- the simple to build analog step-sequencer

seqSQUARED -- the Analogue Pattern Generator
--> Put yourself on the hexinverter.net mailing list to be notified when in stock!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El Mop



Joined: Aug 20, 2012
Posts: 54
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Same Problem here.
Working envelope but not the LED.
Could not find that thread with the search function.
Do I just have to change the direction of both, the LED and the diode?
Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HexInverter



Joined: Aug 21, 2010
Posts: 338
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

El Mop wrote:
Same Problem here.
Working envelope but not the LED.
Could not find that thread with the search function.
Do I just have to change the direction of both, the LED and the diode?
Thank you.


I am pretty sure I changed both...it's been awhile though!!! I kinda forgot Wink

_________________
hexinverter.net -- Shop DIY projects and modules for modular synthesis

sympleSEQ -- the simple to build analog step-sequencer

seqSQUARED -- the Analogue Pattern Generator
--> Put yourself on the hexinverter.net mailing list to be notified when in stock!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
himijendrix



Joined: Apr 16, 2012
Posts: 15
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 7:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello, I built two of Yusynth's ADSR modules.

But since a while I use a Korg Electribe to play Midi notes, the problem i have now, is that the ADSR only has a GATE Input.
So when the Electribe sends a Midi On + a short Gate the ADSR's envelope only lasts for this short Gate time. So I can't produce long period envelopes. A Solution would be a Trigger Input for the ADSR, right? Any Ideas how to do this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gdavis



Joined: Feb 27, 2013
Posts: 161
Location: San Diego

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

JE wrote:
Hello, I built two of Yusynth's ADSR modules.

But since a while I use a Korg Electribe to play Midi notes, the problem i have now, is that the ADSR only has a GATE Input.
So when the Electribe sends a Midi On + a short Gate the ADSR's envelope only lasts for this short Gate time. So I can't produce long period envelopes. A Solution would be a Trigger Input for the ADSR, right? Any Ideas how to do this?


No, a trigger would just restart the envelope. The gate is what defines the duration of the note, so if you want a longer note, you need to make your gate longer.

How are you generating the gate signal from the electribe? As far as I can tell it doesn't have this feature built in.

_________________
My synth build blog: http://gndsynth.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
himijendrix



Joined: Apr 16, 2012
Posts: 15
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

With the Electrictribe TR-1 you can select a MIDI Note for each pattern, which is sent to the MIDI Out whenever the pattern is played. But Gate time and Velocity is fixed and can't be changed.

The Music From Outer Space Mini Synth has a trigger Input, which means that when a short Gate Signal/Trigger is sent to the ADSR it will run thorugh the whole Attack Decay Sustain Release Cycle...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1516
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2013 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

The minisynth has no sustain phase when it's in triggered mode. it's just attack-release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gdavis



Joined: Feb 27, 2013
Posts: 161
Location: San Diego

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

JE wrote:
With the Electrictribe TR-1 you can select a MIDI Note for each pattern, which is sent to the MIDI Out whenever the pattern is played. But Gate time and Velocity is fixed and can't be changed.

The Music From Outer Space Mini Synth has a trigger Input, which means that when a short Gate Signal/Trigger is sent to the ADSR it will run thorugh the whole Attack Decay Sustain Release Cycle...


I see what you're saying about the MFOS ADSR. I hadn't seen that before, that's actually a pretty neat feature.

I'm sure the YuSynth ADSR could be modified with the same feature but I'm not familiar enough with the circuit to come up with an efficient way so hopefully Yves or someone else can help.

I still don't understand how you're getting from the midi output to a gate/trigger. Depending on that, you might have some other options for creating a longer gate signal that lets the ADSR go through it's cycle.

_________________
My synth build blog: http://gndsynth.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

You can use a yusynth PULSE delay for this : http://yusynth.net/Modular/index_en.html

This module will let you set the duration of a GATE cycle when triggered with a brief trigger. Set the delay knob to its minimum and adjust the duration of the GATE OUT with the WIDTH knob (from 1ms to 1s).

_________________
Yves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Starspawn



Joined: Jun 14, 2013
Posts: 42
Location: Oslo

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I cant find where to order PCBs?
Bridechamber has no ADSR and there is no shop on yusynth site.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yusynth



Joined: Nov 24, 2005
Posts: 1233
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

This is normal Bridechamber did not add it to its shop and personally I don't sell PCBs. You have to do it yourself or find somebody to do it for you.

Regards

_________________
Yves

Last edited by yusynth on Sat Aug 03, 2013 1:56 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Starspawn



Joined: Jun 14, 2013
Posts: 42
Location: Oslo

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2013 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Ah, ok, thanks for the great design in any case Smile
Any stripboard versions around?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
col2



Joined: Feb 15, 2014
Posts: 5
Location: Melbourne Australia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 4:25 am    Post subject: swapping out the tantulum caps
Subject description: swapping out the tantulum caps
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

I would like to build 1 maybe 2 of the Yusynth ADSR modules. I was wondering if it is possible to avoid using tantalum caps? Possible swapping them out with electrolytics?

cheers,
col2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gdavis



Joined: Feb 27, 2013
Posts: 161
Location: San Diego

PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 8:06 pm    Post subject: Re: swapping out the tantulum caps
Subject description: swapping out the tantulum caps
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

col2 wrote:
Hi,

I would like to build 1 maybe 2 of the Yusynth ADSR modules. I was wondering if it is possible to avoid using tantalum caps? Possible swapping them out with electrolytics?

cheers,
col2


Tantalum is used because of it's high capacitance and low leakage which are both important factors in long duration timing circuits like an ADSR. The higher leakage of aluminum electrolytics will negatively affect the performance of the ADSR. By how much I couldn't say, and I don't think there would be any other issues with using aluminum electrolytic so shouldn't hurt to try it and see how it works.

_________________
My synth build blog: http://gndsynth.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
col2



Joined: Feb 15, 2014
Posts: 5
Location: Melbourne Australia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 2:04 am    Post subject: Re: swapping out the tantulum caps
Subject description: swapping out the tantulum caps
Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

gdavis wrote:


Tantalum is used because of it's high capacitance and low leakage which are both important factors in long duration timing circuits like an ADSR. The higher leakage of aluminum electrolytics will negatively affect the performance of the ADSR. By how much I couldn't say, and I don't think there would be any other issues with using aluminum electrolytic so shouldn't hurt to try it and see how it works.


Thanks for that, will give it a go and see what happens, I have some nice Starget and Nichicon ELNAs to try. I went to print out the PCB pcf file today to have a go at transferring it to copper clad but it's the full size of a page! I guess I will have to brush up on my graphic design skills.

cheers,
col2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Scott Stites
Page 2 of 2 [44 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » YuSynth
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use