electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Bugs
Bug in Nord Modular - Editor?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Cyborg



Joined: Sep 13, 2012
Posts: 1
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:00 am    Post subject: Bug in Nord Modular - Editor? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello, I'm quite new in this forum but I owned my modular since a loooooong time. Please be patient with my poor english.

PC: Windows XP, Interface DDD Midilink

Yesterday I want to setup a new patch with filter-FM and so I choose the modules:
Keyboard Voice, OSC (B) as modulator, VCF Classic, ADSR and Output 2Ch

I made the raw connections and set the resonance high at the VCF so that the resonance-frequency sounds loud an clear.

When I pull any other module to the Desktop now, the sound stopps and will not start again. The VCF-resonance stopps! If i route the VCO to output, all works fine, even the resonance while a signal is at VCF IN.
But no self-resonance anymore. So I cannot choose more modules while patching or I must stop the self-oscillation of the VCF before or i must restart with NEW

Anyone, who knows this effect? Any hints?

my website: www.cyborgs.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Tim Kleinert



Joined: Mar 12, 2004
Posts: 1027
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Audio files: 6
G2 patch files: 212

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Analog filters can kick into self-oscillation by themselves because there is always a small amount of residual noise in the analog circuit.

Digital filters won't do that. Even with resonance at max, they at least need to be spiked (one short impulse) in order to oscillate.

If I need a self-oscillating filter on the G2, I spike it at patch load (with the "patch active" pulse from the status module) or feed a little bit of white noise into it (analog to the analog Mr. Green scenario).

_________________
beer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Nord Modular Editors
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Clavia Nord Modular » Bugs
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use