electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  EdisonRex Edison's Electronic Review
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » The layout factory
ARP Odyssey MKII/III VCO - Eurorack Format
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 5 of 5 [117 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
furio



Joined: Dec 25, 2009
Posts: 105
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 10:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

My new HiFi version sounds amazing.


HiFiOddy.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  119.18 KB
 Viewed:  92 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

HiFiOddy.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
elmegil



Joined: Mar 20, 2012
Posts: 1519
Location: Chicago
Audio files: 14

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is the switching lug used for something else? If not, you could add a ground connection to it, was my point. Then you don't have to worry about the position of the attenuator, input will be always grounded unless there's a jack inserted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
furio



Joined: Dec 25, 2009
Posts: 105
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sun Aug 25, 2013 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

elmegil wrote:
Is the switching lug used for something else? If not, you could add a ground connection to it, was my point. Then you don't have to worry about the position of the attenuator, input will be always grounded unless there's a jack inserted.


OK, thanks for the advice! I was inspired by the Andy's PCB and he had not used the switch.

P.S. Gnd is on the vertical and the switch is not used.


MiniJack.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  102.42 KB
 Viewed:  3472 Time(s)

MiniJack.png



JackLabel.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  35.19 KB
 Viewed:  69 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

JackLabel.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isak



Joined: Dec 13, 2009
Posts: 726
Location: Israel
Audio files: 18

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 4:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

furio wrote:
My new HiFi version sounds amazing.

ive never saw pink resistors before, cool.
are they 5%?

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/mgmtrance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
furio



Joined: Dec 25, 2009
Posts: 105
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

isak wrote:
furio wrote:
My new HiFi version sounds amazing.

ive never saw pink resistors before, cool.
are they 5%?

no, the pink are 2% carbon film by Takman... many of the values are more accurate than most 1% metal film.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isak



Joined: Dec 13, 2009
Posts: 726
Location: Israel
Audio files: 18

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks for the info.

I got one question about this vco..
I have a small issue with the scale.
When turning the vco on and play C2 it plays C2 but with +20 cents, after 5 min or so it stable on center of C2, any ideas why its like that?
The Tempco is between the 3906 and 3904 with thermal Gris, really don't know why it's acting like that.
Do I really need to wait for the vco to worm up?
Strange, don't you think?

Cheers.

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/mgmtrance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
furio



Joined: Dec 25, 2009
Posts: 105
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

isak wrote:
Thanks for the info.

I got one question about this vco..
I have a small issue with the scale.
When turning the vco on and play C2 it plays C2 but with +20 cents, after 5 min or so it stable on center of C2, any ideas why its like that?
The Tempco is between the 3906 and 3904 with thermal Gris, really don't know why it's acting like that.
Do I really need to wait for the vco to worm up?
Strange, don't you think?

Cheers.

You're welcome!

I noticed that with certain metal film resistors least 10-50ppm and 0,1-1% improves stability and decreases the tracking error... at the moment I have a stability of +/-1% and a scale error of +/-3%... this vco module out of the rack, needs 45 minutes of heating and the window must be closed. I have not yet tried to put on Tempco thermally conductive materials. To reach these performance due I install a silver mica 680pf and it still sounds even better than styroflex.


ReplacedResistors.jpg
 Description:
for better stability: R53 (Roederstein Resista 50ppm / 150K) & R60 (Beyschlag 50ppm / 100K)... for better sound: carbon film R61(12K) & R62(1K2)
 Filesize:  69.83 KB
 Viewed:  64 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

ReplacedResistors.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isak



Joined: Dec 13, 2009
Posts: 726
Location: Israel
Audio files: 18

PostPosted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Thanks.
I used 1% resistors in the vco, the caps are all wima polypropylene.
It's sound amazing but I have this irritating drift when turning it on.
I guess I have to live with that..haa
45 min? Its damn long to wait for play, LOL.
wander what kind of resistors ARP used in the ody synth.

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/mgmtrance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulstone



Joined: Apr 14, 2013
Posts: 22
Location: ITA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello guys Smile

for this VCO it is possible to use the array CA3046 instead of the CA3086 ?

the CA3046 i have to much in home , for the CA3086 is difficult to find

thx !
Paolo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isak



Joined: Dec 13, 2009
Posts: 726
Location: Israel
Audio files: 18

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hello Smile

Yes, you can use them, they work great.

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/mgmtrance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulstone



Joined: Apr 14, 2013
Posts: 22
Location: ITA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

isak wrote:
Hello Smile

Yes, you can use them, they work great.


thanks Isak for your fast info Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
noiselector



Joined: Mar 30, 2013
Posts: 21
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have built a two of them but one gets a lower pitch than the other one even adjusting the freq trimmer to maximum.
Any help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robboten



Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Posts: 35
Location: stockholm, sweden

PostPosted: Sat Feb 15, 2014 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi. Just built this lovely thing. Love the PCB-layout btw! It's beautiful! I use 12V euro and just read about the PW resistor mod and will use that. Otherwise everything as in first post, except 5906 instead of 5910 and 5457 instead of 5459.

Another thing thats bothering me a bit is the range of the Coarse Freq pot. Without V/O CV (keyboard) I get about 15Hz-70Hz by turning the pot. With Keyboard plugged - C2 as lowest and upwards so far as my keyboard goes. If I tune it up to have higher Hz without keyboard, the lowest note is too high with the keyboard. Is there a way to increase the Coarse freq pot range or is there anything fishy about this? Also - the coarse freq pot is in reverse. If I turn it up the freq goes down... Otherwise everything else is great. Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
furio



Joined: Dec 25, 2009
Posts: 105
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2014 2:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Odyssey's Ring Modulator: 22K, 22K, 100n, 150K, 150K, 5K6, 2N3904, 1N4148, 330K, 1N4148, 150K (back), 150K.


Odyssey-Ring-Modulator-Eurorack-Format.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  507.36 KB
 Viewed:  25 Time(s)
This image has been reduced to fit the page. Click on it to enlarge.

Odyssey-Ring-Modulator-Eurorack-Format.jpg


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mono-poly



Joined: Jul 07, 2004
Posts: 935
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Isn't the 270K resistor which is connected to VCO1 Freq trimmer suposed to connect to something?

Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mono-poly



Joined: Jul 07, 2004
Posts: 935
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Audio files: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2014 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

anyone???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robboten



Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Posts: 35
Location: stockholm, sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2014 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Found my error. It was a small gap in my home made PCB, as usual. The negative Voltage didn't reach the pots. So simple, but yet so common. Now I'll just tune it again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 5 of 5 [117 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » The layout factory
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use