electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  mosc Live music with Twyndyllyngs - Bill Fox and Howard Moscovitz
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Circuit Bending
Using Casio SK-1 mic input as live audio?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: dnny, v-un-v
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
jamal666



Joined: Jul 29, 2013
Posts: 1
Location: New york

PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:20 pm    Post subject: Using Casio SK-1 mic input as live audio? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi, not sure if any of you are familiar with the Casio RAPMAN but when you input audio to it, it plays live through the speaker.

I'd like to get my SK-1 to do the same thing. I don't care if I lose the sampling feature.

Any tips?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cynosure
Site Admin


Joined: Dec 11, 2010
Posts: 659
Location: Toronto, Ontario - Canada
Audio files: 34

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

According to the block diagram in the service manual, there is a mixer before the final output stage. You might be able to short the line in to that mixer, and still retain sampling function.

http://www.burnkit2600.com/manuals/CASIO_SK-1_SRVC.pdf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cynosure
Site Admin


Joined: Dec 11, 2010
Posts: 659
Location: Toronto, Ontario - Canada
Audio files: 34

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2013 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Here is a better copy:

http://www.mediafire.com/view/2udhnym34ny/SK1_ServiceManual.pdf

I'm not sure where the mixer is though. I only see one amp symbol in the schematic, and that is the power amp for the output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
new voodoo



Joined: May 06, 2013
Posts: 90
Location: RVA USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have one and a sk-5 as well, or whjatever the one with the 4 octagnal pads is called.
i think its just a simple electret mic running into a 386 (lm386)-type opamp. You could just replicate the mic-to-amp circuit by itself..or, alternately, just stick a distortion pedal on a decent mic & get the same sound generally. I mean, its not really hi fidelity--and it might be easier to replicate the sound than waste a cool synth with LOTS of potential just to get the sound after a good bit of effort.

I dunno, but I got the schematics somewhere, Ill attach em to this pst tomrrow am.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
new voodoo



Joined: May 06, 2013
Posts: 90
Location: RVA USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

sorry all i could find was the 5 schematics but here:


CASIO_SK-5.pdf
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  CASIO_SK-5.pdf
 Filesize:  14.87 MB
 Downloaded:  26 Time(s)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MusicMan11712



Joined: Aug 08, 2009
Posts: 718
Location: Upstate New York USA
Audio files: 148

PostPosted: Sat Nov 02, 2013 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Evidently, in 2006 someone had both service manuals. See the comments at: http://www.matrixsynth.com/2006/01/brothers-separated-at-birth.html . Perhaps you can track down that person for a copy of the Rap-Man Service Manual to do a comparison.
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timd3



Joined: Nov 09, 2013
Posts: 4
Location: wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

What I usually do to find an input for this type of thing is hook up a cable - one end to something that makes noise and the other to a female jack. ground the sleeve of the jack to the circuit ground of what you're working on (speaker "-" is usually a good spot) and poke around with the circuit with a wire connected to the tip of the jack. When you are poking around and hear your noise source, you've found your input. If the input is distorted, you can run a pot in series with that wire to tame it a bit.

**Use batteries to power the keyboard when poking around. You can avoid a shock this way.

_________________
http://www.youtube.com/user/tdiederich3
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Diederich-Electronics/173752829393262
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: dnny, v-un-v
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » DIY Hardware and Software » Circuit Bending
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use