electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Ableton
Starting position in Live when using external midi clock
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Antimon



Joined: Jan 18, 2005
Posts: 4146
Location: Sweden
Audio files: 371
G2 patch files: 100

PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:22 am    Post subject: Starting position in Live when using external midi clock Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Here's something I run into all the time, and not just with Live.

I have a song I'm working on. I have a sequence on my Octatrack that I want to record into the song. That sequence isn't supposed to start until maybe three minutes in though. I want to use the Octatrack's midi clock as master and transport control, so I get a nice take that fits to the beat with what I already have in Live.

What I want to do is set the song position in Live to a bar or two before my new take is supposed to start, arm Live to record and then hit play on the Octatrack to make my sequencer start in sync with Live, and recording starts from, say, the 2:50 mark, just before the sequencer should start playing in Live.

Am I right in my impression that this is impossible? It is the law of the universe that all recordings must start at position zero in Live, if driven by an external clock? If you have a 30 minute composition and you need to add something 2 minutes before the end - screw you! You must wait 28 minutes, because you are worthless and I am your ruler! Twisted Evil

Yes I am getting slightly annoyed at this. Am I missing something obvious?

_________________
Antimon's Window
@soundcloud @Flattr home - you can't explain music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DES



Joined: Feb 28, 2003
Posts: 783
Location: New Jersey
Audio files: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Is the Octatrack sending Song Position Pointer data? That could cause Live to jump to the beginning since the Octatrack believes it is starting at position zero. I don't recall if Live can follow SPP or not though. Check in the preferences and see if its possible and if so enable it. Alternatively just record the sequence into Live and drag it into position...
_________________
Dave
www.davesneed.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 1 of 1 [2 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Ableton
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use