electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
NL memory cards - an adapter to use compact flash?
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
EK1



Joined: Mar 01, 2015
Posts: 2
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Sun Mar 01, 2015 2:09 pm    Post subject: NL memory cards - an adapter to use compact flash? Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi all,

I had a NL2x for a few years in the past, but am now looking at getting a NL1/NL2/NL2x rack for live use.

Anyway, I'm wondering if one of these: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Transcend-PCMCIA-ATA-Adapter-Card/dp/B0009M069Y/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1425243719&sr=8-1&keywords=pcmcia+compact+flash

...will allow me to use a compact flash card in a Nord.

Will this work? I'm unsure whether the Nord card interface is standard 68-pin PCMCIA. If it is then I see no reason why this wouldn't work.

Anyone have experience of this?

Many thanks,

Ed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EK1



Joined: Mar 01, 2015
Posts: 2
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Unfortunately, I don't think this is going to work.

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/electronic-music-instruments-electronic-music-production/413109-nord-lead-2-pcmcia-card.html?highlight=nord+lead+2

Hmm......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sytse



Joined: May 19, 2016
Posts: 1
Location: Barcelona

PostPosted: Thu May 19, 2016 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Hi,

Ok call me stubborn or stupid, but after reading someone succeeding at another forum, and having a dead PCMCIA card myself, I decided to try anyways. Hell to get a small CF card these days (the adapter is relatively easy), I tried with a 32Mb.

And failed, so far.. My NL2 does see the card, asks to format ("FOR" flashing) and seems to do so when you push 'store' (flashing stops, after a couple of seconds the display switches to the slot number you had active before) and it seems to be saving a new patch in 1.1 and up, BUT ... no recall. Moreover, as soon as I re-enter the card, the NL asks to format, again.

I can't yet read & format the card at the moment via a computer to check if there's a problem there (no CF reader), but could there be another issue? Firmware, machine factory reset? Card still too large to be read/formatted (NL2 PCMCIA's are 64k originally - try find that in CF!) Anyone another idea?

(I see there are at least about 30 people on this world ánd on this forum that own a NL2 Razz, somehow I can't imagine all of them still using working PCMCIA's..!)

Maybe related, maybe not: if I try to do a sysex dump the program I use (SysEx Librarian, on Mac) seems to wait forever for any signal, no matter me sending messages like hell (pressing / turning knobs like a kid and seeing my midi interface flash in response, and DAW (Live) equally reacts). Do I need a firmware reset of some kind?

Thanks a lot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robsol
Stream Operator


Joined: Apr 24, 2009
Posts: 2147
Location: Bristol UK
Audio files: 360

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2016 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Can't help you with the card, I sold my NL2 and replaced it with a NL2X eventually.

As for the sysex, make sure your MIDI interface is not filtering data. The program itself may also filter out sysex...? Should be fairly straight forward, I doubt there is a problem with the nord firmware.

_________________
Muied Lumens Base Star
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic Moderators: Wout Blommers
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Nord Lead and Nord Wave synths
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use