electro-music.com   Dedicated to experimental electro-acoustic
and electronic music
 
    Front Page  |  Articles  |  Radio
 |  Media  |  Forum  |  Wiki  |  Links  |  Store
Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
 FAQFAQ   CalendarCalendar   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   LinksLinks
 RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Chat RoomChat Room 
Live streaming at radio.electro-music.com

  host / artist show at your time
  Muied Lumens Frequencies
Please visit the chat
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
My Alesis Andromeda A6 Editor & VST
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 4 of 4 [79 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
kcoul



Joined: Jun 10, 2017
Posts: 9
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Pollux - I am curious if you have heard of JUCE before:
https://juce.com/doc/tutorial_create_projucer_basic_plugin

It makes adding a fantastic looking front end to a VST incredibly easy with plenty of prefab'ed UI components to choose from. Wiring them up to what you already have should be pretty easy, and for a niche target audience it's totally free.

I've also built a ton of hackintoshes so happy to recommend on options there to build for Mac.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pollux



Joined: Apr 10, 2013
Posts: 57
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

I have heard of & looked into JUCE. While it can make fantastic GUI's easily, it lacks in the ability to handle MIDI & Sysex & Standalone App's IIRC (although I could add that myself...). It also costs a whopping $1000 for a license to sell one's application... Rolling Eyes

Also thanks for the offer! I have a Hackintosh running in a VirtualBox VM, with xcode installed...I'm just so clueless when it comes to mac ANYTHING. Developing, debugging, troubleshooting, configuring...it's all just so maddening to me lol

_________________
Know when I do things! - Website | Facebook | | Pic's & Vid's (Instagram)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kcoul



Joined: Jun 10, 2017
Posts: 9
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

Actually JUCE is totally free when revenue is under 50k!
https://juce.com/get-juce

It can definitely handle MIDI & Sysex & build standalone apps without any problem at all! It's possible that much, much earlier versions lacked some of those features, but these days it is a real powerhouse in the VST and audio app building world, second to none I'd say!

I'd be happy to help with info on building for Mac. I only know the bare minimum needed to build for Mac and iOS as I am also generally maddened by the overpriced Apple walled garden. I have built cross-platform VSTs and audio apps so I could point to some key info on how to minimize the hassle.

I say this as I am looking into joining the handful of people building tools for combining the A6 with modern DAWs and computers... I had my hopes so high when Ableton said they would be adding sysex to Live 10. Then devastated to find out they were still neglecting NRPNs. I don't get it as all the best hardware has no choice but to use them since the MIDI spec has so few high resolution CC lanes, and even the 7bit lanes run out pretty darn fast (my Supernova 1 and 2 eat up all the CC lanes and then use up NRPN for the rest... the best compromise I suppose...)

So I want to release a tool that will at least allow Live users to pick out the NRPN parameters they want to automate, translate them over to CCs, record them, automate them, and then play them back translating back to the right NRPNs. It's a bit maddening this is needed but for some styles of music Ableton is really far and away the DAW to use...

I want to get the most out of my Supernovas and Andromeda and keep Live as my DAW so there is really no other way to do this... Anyhow I will go the Max4Live route so it will be a bit less hassle than coding a full VST at least..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ProFete



Joined: Aug 29, 2012
Posts: 29
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote  Mark this post and the followings unread

hello Pollux

your vst work great in reaper
but impossible to make it work in sonar platinum,
he is reconized as an audio effect

do you know about it?

thank

and thank for your job Smile !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic
Page 4 of 4 [79 Posts]
View unread posts
View new posts in the last week
Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Mark the topic unread :: View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Instruments and Equipment » Alesis Andromeda
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
e-m mkii

Please support our site. If you click through and buy from
our affiliate partners, we earn a small commission.


Forum with support of Syndicator RSS
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Copyright © 2003 through 2009 by electro-music.com - Conditions Of Use